Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel located on the beach.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights when we first got to Costa Rica. It's a very nice, laid back and quiet hotel that's perfect for relaxing and not doing anything. The staff is incredibly nice, very sincere and really create a wonderful atmosphere. We're in our early thirties and, generally, we were on the younger side when it came to the rest of the guests, it's not a party resort by any means, but for what we were looking for it was absolutely perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jane from St. Paul, MN

Paradise

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Clean, well-kept, friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms.
Cons: Covered (sealable) waste baskets in the bathrooms to encourage better compliance with the gray water system. Expanded wine list. Boogie board rentals.
Location: Lovely location on the beach. Not a lot nearby besides restaurants.
This is a really nice, small resort. It is well planned - for its size, there seems to be just the right amount of space devoted to pool, open green space for relaxing and viewing the ocean, restaurant, plus a lush, well-kept garden area. There are only about 25 units, two-thirds of which are suites. Our two-bedroom suite was wonderful - there were two twin beds for the kids and identical, well-ventilated bathrooms off each bedroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. There seemed to be quite a few persons devoted to keeping the grounds and garden looking nice. An evening security guard was so helpful in finding some swim goggles we'd lost the night before we left. We did not have a car and had to eat at the restaurant most of the time. For the most part, the food was good, especially the fish. We also walked to El Coconut (avoid), The Shack (definitely recommend) and the Beach House (meh). Due to the smallness of the resort, there was not a lot of entertainment amenities besides the pool and the beach and our older son (13 yrs) was bored. It would have been nice to have some boogie boards to rent. The free Wi-Fi helped. For entertainment, there were many excursions that could be booked through the front desk, although these involved a fair amount of travel and cost so they weren't something you would want to do every day. Bring ear plugs if you are sensitive to morning noise - there was a rooster nearby who crowed every morning as well as howler monkeys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nil from New York

Great Value for Money

Posted Mar 17, 2014
I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Expedia. The hotel has a great location that is close to the beach and other activities in the Guanacaste area. It is about an hour from the Liberia International airport. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous. They helped us book our excursions and offered helpful suggestions on what to do in the area. I do wish we could have tried other restaurants in the area but they couldn't offer many suggestions. I did enjoy the Latin night fiesta that was put together on Friday (note there are theme parties every Friday night). Overall I really enjoyed my experience an would come back to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia

Great Resort!

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Free wifi, room, location, cleanness
Cons: The restaurant menu.
Location: You can drive a little to find some souvenirs. Small restaurants are nearby. Many tours can be organized such as zip lining, boat trips, snorkeling...
My Room: My room was great. I didn't have any problems with it. There was a hammock outside our door and it was relaxing. The Pool: I liked swimming in the pool, but my only problem was that it was constantly full of leaves because it was only cleaned in the morning. The Restaurant: The restaurant was OK. Breakfast was great, but Dinner wasn't really yummy. They consider salad in this thin layer of clear dough "spring rolls". The good thing about it though, is that you could order anything you wanted even if it wasn't on the menu. The Beach: The beach was a nice swimming experience, but it had really big waves in the morning and night. The Service: The waiters were really nice and they told us a couple of stories about Costa Rica
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by love to travel

Beautiful Resort

Posted Feb 6, 2014
This was my first visit to Costa Rica. This place is beautiful, right on the beach. The staff were so nice and helpful. Clean, safe and gorgeous. Also, the food is outstanding. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone and I would love to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by heather from new york

Fabulous vacation place

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Staff & location
Location: Great location with lots to do in the area.
Fabulous!! Rec'd a wonderful upgrade, staff was extremely friendly, helpful & accommodating. Grounds are well maintained with a lush garden in the center of the rooms. Very quiet & relaxing with plenty of beach to comb! We traveled with our toddler & the resort was perfect for him! He loved the pool, as did I, very refreshing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a great place!

Posted Jan 29, 2014
I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. Especially the staff. Talk about accommodating. I was there for the wedding of my niece we had a blast. I want to say a big thank you to Pablo Juan Eduardo Keylor Hector and all the gracious staff. Your friend, super Pedro. Tuanis man!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Los Banos, CA

We absolutely LOVED our stay.

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff and room.
Cons: Noise of air conditioner. We have a hard time sleeping.
Location: Perfect location and central to nearby towns.
This was the best resort by far after looking at the others. Any problems were taken care of within minutes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by debbie from switzerland

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Location on beach.
Cons: Maybe the restaurant food.
We got an upgrade to a suite & it was great. Joined in on the free zumba class.location excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shay from NYC

2nd time around

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Location, size, and price. Small and comfortable, reasonably priced.
Cons: Front desk could be better informed of their rates advertised on Expedia and daytime bar service could be alittle speedier. 20 min to get a beer.
Location: Beautiful wide expansive crescent shaped beach and not crowded at least while we were there. Excursions available and close to other towns & beaches.
This was my second stay at Bahia del Sol. Very happy with our visit, especially with the upgrade to a suite we received. Not sure why...but awesome. Beautiful well kept grounds and beach. This is a small hotel, and great if you like to avoid the crowds at large resorts, but just right for relaxing, strolling the beach, and soaking up the sun. It is a beachfront hotel, but rooms don't have a beach view as far as I know, but the gardens and palm trees, etc that surround the rooms and suites make up for that. The common areas like the pool, restaurant, bar area have the ocean views. It is close to other towns and beaches making it easy to explore if you have a car. Take a drive past the hotel towards Sugar Beach and Danta....spectacular views from the hillside...there is a pull off area at one point. The restaurant on site served a great dinner and were pleased with our meal and service. Breakfast was pretty decent for Costa Rica / buffet style. Bar service during the day could use a little improvement as it was rather slow, but not uncommon in CR depending on where you go. Otherwise all in all a comfortable stay, and would book here again. Good for couples, friends traveling/girls weekend, or families with small children. Teenagers might be bored due to size of the pool and general grounds, but plenty of room on the beach to expend some energy. Good location for destination wedding. They were setting up for one the day we left.