Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nevada

Tranquil mountain side resort

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: An amazing location, with great food, staff, and amenities. The wildlife around the resort was also incredible. We saw iguanas, monkeys, and birds.
Borinquen Resort was a wonderful paradise filled with many things to do. We enjoyed a horseback ride through the country to visit secluded waterfalls followed by a decent down the mountains by zip line. Zip lining was an incredible and extremely fun experience! The food was beautiful and well prepared, we never had a bad meal and enjoyed everything we ate. The staff at Borinquen was outstanding! The most friendly, kind hearted, and genuine people! We enjoyed using the natural sauna, organic body mud, and hot soaking tubs everyday. The pool was amazing and had a swim up bar. Our room at the resort was fantastic! We got an upgrade to a bungalow with a patio and hammock. The room was huge and the bathroom was very clean. A calm and relaxing fun spot to stay or begin your vacation in Costa Rica! Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barbara from Trentino

Konnte nicht überzeugen...

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
Für unseren Besuch im Rincon de la Vieja Nationalpark haben wir spontan dieses Hotel gebucht uns allerdings zu wenig informiert wo es genau liegt. Vom effektiven Eingang zum Park liegt es beachtlich weit entfernt in einem anderen Tal und ist nur über eine mühsame Schotterstrasse zu erreichen. Die Anlage selbst macht einen schönen und gepflegten Eindruck, wenn man den Pool-, Spa- und Restaurantbereich genauer betrachtet wirds allerdings echt schmuddelig. Das Essen hat uns leider auch in keinster Weise in Qualität überzeugen können, Alternativen gibt es aufgrund der Abgelegenheit nicht wirklich. Für Gruppenreisen ist das Haus vielleicht ok, in unserer 14 tägigen Reise durch Costa Rica landet das Haus leider auf dem letzten Platz.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Northeastern CT

Great way to conclude our Costa Rican Adventure

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Quiet and Family friendly. Comfortable while surrounded with nature.
Cons: I would be nice to have light options for dinner. We didn't want to have to have a full sit down dinner every night but that is the only option.
Location: The location is very remote so not a good base for exploring other parts of Costa Rica. There is plenty of activities available for a 2-4 day stay.
We stayed at Borinquen for the last two nights of a week long trip around the northern end of Costa Rica. It was a perfect conclusion to an amazing week. While not a quick drive to the Liberia airport, it was close enough for us to easily return our rental car and get to the airport with plenty of time for our 11:45 flight back home. We highly recommend the Ecological Horseback guided tour. We saw two species of monkey and toucans and some splendid open vistas. Later that night we were able to see many more monkeys right outside our villa and spent an hour or so watching their antics. Hearing the Howler Monkeys, I was able to track them down before dinner in a tree near the restaurant. The trip up to the resort was rugged but nothing compared to the drive to and from Monteverde. There is very little traffic on the road so go slow and use your GPS and 4 wheel drive. There are tour groups that come in just for the day (a few hours really)...if you find them loud and obnoxious just remember that they will be leaving soon and be glad they are staying else where for the night. We found the guests who stayed the night to be quiet and friendly. The hike up to the rooms is steep so as long as you go into the experience expecting that you won't be taken off guard. The power did go out momentarily our last night but the generators kicked in within seconds and it did not interrupt our dinner. Our 12 year old enjoyed the horseback riding and swim up bar ;-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

mountain spa

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Zip linning, horse back riding
Cons: add some night entertainment
Location: nothing
place was in the middle of nowhere ,good for an overnight stay only, stayed 3 days paid for 5 would like to get refunded for the 2 days I didn't use .absolutely nothing to do at night except watch T.V. also Had a massage for two persons that were terrible a waste of $230.00
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Into the Wild!

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Can't believe they built such an amazing property out in the middle of nowhere! Wonderful service
Cons: Not much - lots of reviews we previously read complained about service (nothing but good things to say for us), bugs in room (you are in nature).
Location: Take advantage of activities onsite - horseback riding, hiking, zip lining
We had a great stay at Borinquen. The facility is fabulous - set on 6,000 acres adjacent to Rincon La Vieja National Park. It is "into the wild" with getting there requiring you to drive on a rocky, dirt road about 12 miles off the highway. The grounds of the hotel were pristine. We saw lots of monkeys, toucans and other wildlife right outside our room. They have a big pool, hot springs and mud baths we all enjoyed. We stayed in a standard room the 1st night and then the JR Suites the rest of our trip. The Jr Suites sit at the top of the hill (resort rooms start at the bottom of a hill and work their way up) and have an outstanding view which is worth the walk up the steep hill (or you can ask the front desk to get you a ride which our kids did). I would highly recommend the Jr Suites - they are newer, bigger and much more recently built than the other rooms. It is worth the small difference on cost - night and day in terms of quality of room. The service at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. Just realize that the pace of service is more leisurely than one gets in the U.S. - that is just the way things are in CR. Everyone from the guides on our horseback riding to the front desk to the wait staff at the restaurant worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. The food was good as well, especially the Saturday night buffet they had - steaks, Mahi Mahi, Chicken on the grill were awesome. Breakfast was good as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tamarindo, Guanacaste, CR

Glad to be back!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The rooms were comfortable with extra seating outside, the grounds are well-kept, the food is excellent, and the staff is courteous and helpful.
Cons: Fix the door on the refrigerator cabinet. That's all.
Location: Borinquen is conveniently located near the city of Liberia and is about an hour and a half away from some beautiful beaches on the Pacific Coast.
My family and I came to Borinquen in July 2013 for some recreation only. I have always wanted to return and had the opportunity to bring some friends for a visit. Hands down, Borinquen has the best zip line in Guanacaste and the canopy staff is always great. I've tried elsewhere at the insistence of a friend and was completely disappointed. The food is always good and the grounds are maintained perfectly. We didn't do everything because of time restrictions, but we managed to spend time in the sauna (wonderful), the volcanic mud bath and dipping pools, massages, and facials. I will continue to recommend this hotel to my friends and neighbors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevin from Nosara

Muy Tranquilo

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Although they still had Christmas decorations still up in the restaurant (almost two weeks into the new year) we had a great time at Borinquen. We were treated well, the grounds are beautiful, and it was the perfect spot for a quick getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Etwas vernachlässigt, aber einmalige Lage

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
Weitläufig, super Spa, herrliche Poolanlage. Zufahrt 20 km Staubpiste. Service und Unterhalt etwas nachlässig.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Benjamin from NYC

Beautiful hotel, horribly managed

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel in the mountains and was probably 5 stars in the 1970s. The problem is they haven't done much upgrading since then, the rooms are not cleaned well, and it's hard to get to on a long dirt road for 25 minutes of bad driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Volos Greece

Missed Opportunity

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately we only stayed for one night, which was a mistake. It was a lovely hotel with excellent facilities which I would have liked to have experienced. If we return to Costa Rica we would definitely use this hotel.