Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

Into the Wild!

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Can't believe they built such an amazing property out in the middle of nowhere! Wonderful service
Cons: Not much - lots of reviews we previously read complained about service (nothing but good things to say for us), bugs in room (you are in nature).
Location: Take advantage of activities onsite - horseback riding, hiking, zip lining
We had a great stay at Borinquen. The facility is fabulous - set on 6,000 acres adjacent to Rincon La Vieja National Park. It is "into the wild" with getting there requiring you to drive on a rocky, dirt road about 12 miles off the highway. The grounds of the hotel were pristine. We saw lots of monkeys, toucans and other wildlife right outside our room. They have a big pool, hot springs and mud baths we all enjoyed. We stayed in a standard room the 1st night and then the JR Suites the rest of our trip. The Jr Suites sit at the top of the hill (resort rooms start at the bottom of a hill and work their way up) and have an outstanding view which is worth the walk up the steep hill (or you can ask the front desk to get you a ride which our kids did). I would highly recommend the Jr Suites - they are newer, bigger and much more recently built than the other rooms. It is worth the small difference on cost - night and day in terms of quality of room. The service at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. Just realize that the pace of service is more leisurely than one gets in the U.S. - that is just the way things are in CR. Everyone from the guides on our horseback riding to the front desk to the wait staff at the restaurant worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. The food was good as well, especially the Saturday night buffet they had - steaks, Mahi Mahi, Chicken on the grill were awesome. Breakfast was good as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tamarindo, Guanacaste, CR

Glad to be back!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The rooms were comfortable with extra seating outside, the grounds are well-kept, the food is excellent, and the staff is courteous and helpful.
Cons: Fix the door on the refrigerator cabinet. That's all.
Location: Borinquen is conveniently located near the city of Liberia and is about an hour and a half away from some beautiful beaches on the Pacific Coast.
My family and I came to Borinquen in July 2013 for some recreation only. I have always wanted to return and had the opportunity to bring some friends for a visit. Hands down, Borinquen has the best zip line in Guanacaste and the canopy staff is always great. I've tried elsewhere at the insistence of a friend and was completely disappointed. The food is always good and the grounds are maintained perfectly. We didn't do everything because of time restrictions, but we managed to spend time in the sauna (wonderful), the volcanic mud bath and dipping pools, massages, and facials. I will continue to recommend this hotel to my friends and neighbors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christianfrom Rodez

Paradisiaque

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hôtel dans un site magnifique, composé de bungalows au toit de tuiles, avec terrasse protégée par la végétation, qui permet de surprendre les animaux : iguanes, tatou, oiseaux. La visite des cascades est à faire, ainsi que les traversées des canyons en tyrolienne.Nous avons pu approcher des atèles.La piscine est magnifique. A ne pas manquer non plus les bains de boue, les bains chauds, et le sauna consistant en une cabane en planche au-dessus d'une source chaude. Bonne cuisine au restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Cool place for a night

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Location: Rincon de la Vieja park
Visited Borinquen for 3 nights in late November. My favorite part of our was the view from our porch. Amazing sunsets! Food was pretty decent but expensive in the dining room. Included breakfast was a yummy buffet the first two mornings. The horseback riding was really cool and the canopy tour was pretty awesome. But I have to say that 3 nights was too long. We wish we only stayed 1 night because we could have done all of things we did in a day and a half. We could have even stayed by the beach and done a day trip to Borinquen as may of the hotel visitors did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Virginiafrom Vancouver

Cool mountain hideaway...

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is gorgeous - beautiful deluxe cabins with stunning views and style. Very private, very well done. We did not use the door-to-door service, but instead chose to walk the hills fro room to restaurant, et cetera. Bring good footwear! My only complaint was that the hot water did not work all evening. It seemed fine by morning, but it is very cold up there (for Costa Rica) and we definitely needed all the blankets and jackets that we had. NThe roads on the way are fine but not fast. Ignore google maps - it takes much longer to get there than they estimate. The spa aspect: natural sauna - shower - mud - thermal pools... all gorgeous. But the pool area was in need of some sprucing up. Hopefully the will be done by the high season. We were there during a wind storm, so leaf litter was everywhere. What else would you expect from a farm-turned-retreat, set amongst the cloud forests? We also had a lovely riding tour the morning we left. Our guide Oscar was terrific, he was attuned to our time constraints and ability levels. English and Spanish were both spoken, and the food at the restaurant was great. I would NOT recommend the canopy tour here. I have been on several in the country, but this is the only one I have ever booked where the employees didn't bother to show up for work. Apparently it is common with the company there. It did not appear to be a part of the hotel, so I didn't include this disappointment in my rating of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel Borinquen

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The road to the resort was long and rough but well worth it!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

hard to get to

Posted Nov 23, 2014
The road to this hotel was Terrible! Worse than a dirt road... Rocks and holes and dips and turns and hills. Took forever and I do not recommend it. It's not worth it enough to make the drive. The staff was great, when you could find them. The activities were fun and view was great but it just dos not override the difficulty in getting there and once you're there, getting a drink or anything. Hot springs are nice but there's no regular "hot tub". It's very hilly too so not recommended if you have problems walking uphill. The food was fine but not great. But you literally HAVE to eat it. It's 45+ mins to civilization. Overall, we didn't hate it but will not go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by New Yorkersfrom NY

Great staff, great activities, BUT...

Posted Jun 21, 2014
The mountain resort is perfect for people who love to hike and explore the nature. Borinquen has the best even according to tour guides of different companies. It has one of the tallest Ziplines in Liberia, trust me, I'm not afraid of height at all but this one scared me a little. We did white water rafting, horseback riding and 13-platform Ziplines. The resort offers tours which are within the property except the white water rafting which is on a different resort, but can be arranged by the staff of Borinquen for you. The BUT sides are: far from town, transport is $80 from airport (one way), no convenience stores around and so you have to buy foods and supplies from the property which, to me, are very expensive. A can of Coke is $3! Overall, I'm giving it a perfect score because despite the expensive supplies/foods, the property is worth your vacation, locals are very polite and always smiling, the staff are very, very hospitable and I can consider them as one of the nicest people on earth, from front desk to restaurant to gardens, all Costa Ricans within the property will make you feel you're part of the family. Diana, Fabian, Heiner, Randy, Luis, Harry, there are a lot of names to mention here and these people of the property deserve a great recognitions from the owner, a recognition that has already been given to the property. Pura Vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James & Billyfrom Boise

Relaxing get away in the mountains.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Peaceful and quiet. Very secluded and did not feel rushed with anything.
Location: The location is very secluded and out of the way at the end of a mountain road. Once there it is best to stay put. Activities available on site.
Wow! What an incredible resort. Very relaxing and secluded. Pool, hot tubs and volcanic mud baths were incredible. Great nature walks around the resort with lots of animals to see. The staff were all very attentive. Zip lining and horse back riding were great. Meals were very good.