Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Cool place for a night

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Location: Rincon de la Vieja park
Visited Borinquen for 3 nights in late November. My favorite part of our was the view from our porch. Amazing sunsets! Food was pretty decent but expensive in the dining room. Included breakfast was a yummy buffet the first two mornings. The horseback riding was really cool and the canopy tour was pretty awesome. But I have to say that 3 nights was too long. We wish we only stayed 1 night because we could have done all of things we did in a day and a half. We could have even stayed by the beach and done a day trip to Borinquen as may of the hotel visitors did.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

hard to get to

Posted Nov 23, 2014
The road to this hotel was Terrible! Worse than a dirt road... Rocks and holes and dips and turns and hills. Took forever and I do not recommend it. It's not worth it enough to make the drive. The staff was great, when you could find them. The activities were fun and view was great but it just dos not override the difficulty in getting there and once you're there, getting a drink or anything. Hot springs are nice but there's no regular "hot tub". It's very hilly too so not recommended if you have problems walking uphill. The food was fine but not great. But you literally HAVE to eat it. It's 45+ mins to civilization. Overall, we didn't hate it but will not go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by New Yorkersfrom NY

Great staff, great activities, BUT...

Posted Jun 21, 2014
The mountain resort is perfect for people who love to hike and explore the nature. Borinquen has the best even according to tour guides of different companies. It has one of the tallest Ziplines in Liberia, trust me, I'm not afraid of height at all but this one scared me a little. We did white water rafting, horseback riding and 13-platform Ziplines. The resort offers tours which are within the property except the white water rafting which is on a different resort, but can be arranged by the staff of Borinquen for you. The BUT sides are: far from town, transport is $80 from airport (one way), no convenience stores around and so you have to buy foods and supplies from the property which, to me, are very expensive. A can of Coke is $3! Overall, I'm giving it a perfect score because despite the expensive supplies/foods, the property is worth your vacation, locals are very polite and always smiling, the staff are very, very hospitable and I can consider them as one of the nicest people on earth, from front desk to restaurant to gardens, all Costa Ricans within the property will make you feel you're part of the family. Diana, Fabian, Heiner, Randy, Luis, Harry, there are a lot of names to mention here and these people of the property deserve a great recognitions from the owner, a recognition that has already been given to the property. Pura Vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James & Billyfrom Boise

Relaxing get away in the mountains.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Peaceful and quiet. Very secluded and did not feel rushed with anything.
Location: The location is very secluded and out of the way at the end of a mountain road. Once there it is best to stay put. Activities available on site.
Wow! What an incredible resort. Very relaxing and secluded. Pool, hot tubs and volcanic mud baths were incredible. Great nature walks around the resort with lots of animals to see. The staff were all very attentive. Zip lining and horse back riding were great. Meals were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds, UK

Borinquen

Posted May 26, 2014
Sadly, I can't recommend this very pleasant and secluded mountain resort as an ideal "destination wedding" location because of the unreliable on-site wedding co-ordinator. She failed to deliver what she promised; e.g. wrong flowers, delayed transport for bride and groom; she was always un-available and rarely on-site. The venue/location is perfect for weddings, but the on-site support to make it happen and run smoothly sucks...it almost ruined our wedding nuptials.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dfrom Saskatchewan, Canada

Quiet relaxing resort in nature's wonderland

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Mountain setting in the forest, seclusion, privacy, quietness, good facilities, great staff, nature sounds at all times of the day and night.
Cons: Safety-hard hats not up to standards. Front desk staff didn't always give correct information (mini-bar costs, what to wear on trips)
Location: Road to hotel bumpy and took almost an hour to get to from Liberia. Activities on-site included horseback riding, ziplining, ATV rides, tours of site
Stayed 9 nights at the resort (April) and it was beautiful. My boyfriend and I had the pool/hotsprings/mudbaths to ourselves more than once. It felt like heaven! The setting is in the mountains surrounded by the most exceptional greenery imaginable. We heard howler monkeys and birds chirping throughout our stay. The night sounds of the rainforest were remarkable. The deluxe bungalow with king bed was stellar. Need to be in good shape to get to your rooms as the property is on a significant hill. There are hotel staff with golfcarts available for transport if you are unable to make the trek. The restaurant staff was exceptional and we got to know them on a personal basis as we were frequent customers. Since you are an hour out of Liberia, the restaurant is your only option for meals. Food was good in general. Loved the "typical costa rican breakfast". The pool was warm and the swim-up bar was awesome! Smoothie drinks with fresh fruit were heavenly and only $3 without alcohol. My boyfriend was reluctant to try the mudbaths but loved it after his first try. The spa was under renovations so unfortunately I didn't get to try any services. We went on an ATV ride thru the rainforest. My boyfriend thought the zipline was the best one he had ever been on.....super high and long runs. Horseback riding was the downfall for me as safety was not a priority. I was offered a defective helmet & left alone on the horse with no instructions despite guide knowing I had only ridden once before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Magalifrom Sao Paulo

Paraiso escondido

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
O acesso por terra um pouco dificil, porem compensa a beleza e tranquilidade do local. spa muito bom...muitos tucanos...macacos e outros bichinhos. O cafe da manha precisa ter mais opcoes. No mais tudo perfeito.
3 out of 5
by Jeannefrom Long Island, NY

Isolated mountain resort far from beaches

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: The bungalow was very nice and comfortable. The grounds were lovely. The Spa was clean, relaxing and professional. We enjoyed the RTV trip.
Cons: Screens should fit the windows in the bungalow. Bring and use Deet.
Location: Remote vertical resort under a volcano. Going to the beach was at least two hours one way. Activities provided. Too far too leave and come back
Lovely place with wonderful spa and adventurous activities. Reviews do not tell you how far it is or about the perilous road there off the highway. It is also a lot of vertical walking to get from place to place, e.g., bungalow to meals, pool, spa. We rented a car thinking we could make day trips. Best to plan and stay put for the number days booked and let a service bring you into the mountains. Large tour groups are brought in for a few days and the dining room, unfortunately, coverts to buffets. We were not told we had a choice to order off the menu and in a quieter atmosphere. Would have like to see more of Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nosara, costa rica

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: It is in a beautiful setting. Lots of wildlife and beautiful grounds. The staff are very nice and the rooms were nicely furnished and clean .
Cons: See above -- basic maintenance of guest rooms and housekeeping needs improvement.
This hotel is in a uniquely beautiful setting -- the pictures on the hotel website don't do it justice. The spa and sauna/mudbath/pool facilities are excellent. Very relaxing. One morning we had an OK breakfast, the next morning we had a great buffet breakfast. We had dinner at the hotel one night and 4 of 5 of us had excellent meals. The 5th had a steak so tough she couldn't cut it (we were not charged for that meal). Herein lies the problem for this hotel - lack of consistency. We (5 friends) paid a lot of money to stay in two jr suites (high up on the hill for the view) -- one suite was excellent the other mediocre. The mediocre suite had a mediocre view, a shower that didn't function, termite-damaged, rotten deck/window frames, insufficient towels/washcloths, a safe that didn't work, on-demand hot water trickled into the jacuzzi so you couldn't fill it with enough water for a bath, water in the jacuzzi when we checked in (ugh), a leaking toilet, amenities were not restocked. The other jr suite was everything you would have expected when paying top dollar for a room. The issue here is not "this hotel isn't for everyone". The issue is some rooms do not get basic services.