Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Northeastern CT

Great way to conclude our Costa Rican Adventure

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Quiet and Family friendly. Comfortable while surrounded with nature.
Cons: I would be nice to have light options for dinner. We didn't want to have to have a full sit down dinner every night but that is the only option.
Location: The location is very remote so not a good base for exploring other parts of Costa Rica. There is plenty of activities available for a 2-4 day stay.
We stayed at Borinquen for the last two nights of a week long trip around the northern end of Costa Rica. It was a perfect conclusion to an amazing week. While not a quick drive to the Liberia airport, it was close enough for us to easily return our rental car and get to the airport with plenty of time for our 11:45 flight back home. We highly recommend the Ecological Horseback guided tour. We saw two species of monkey and toucans and some splendid open vistas. Later that night we were able to see many more monkeys right outside our villa and spent an hour or so watching their antics. Hearing the Howler Monkeys, I was able to track them down before dinner in a tree near the restaurant. The trip up to the resort was rugged but nothing compared to the drive to and from Monteverde. There is very little traffic on the road so go slow and use your GPS and 4 wheel drive. There are tour groups that come in just for the day (a few hours really)...if you find them loud and obnoxious just remember that they will be leaving soon and be glad they are staying else where for the night. We found the guests who stayed the night to be quiet and friendly. The hike up to the rooms is steep so as long as you go into the experience expecting that you won't be taken off guard. The power did go out momentarily our last night but the generators kicked in within seconds and it did not interrupt our dinner. Our 12 year old enjoyed the horseback riding and swim up bar ;-)
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

mountain spa

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Zip linning, horse back riding
Cons: add some night entertainment
Location: nothing
place was in the middle of nowhere ,good for an overnight stay only, stayed 3 days paid for 5 would like to get refunded for the 2 days I didn't use .absolutely nothing to do at night except watch T.V. also Had a massage for two persons that were terrible a waste of $230.00
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

Into the Wild!

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Can't believe they built such an amazing property out in the middle of nowhere! Wonderful service
Cons: Not much - lots of reviews we previously read complained about service (nothing but good things to say for us), bugs in room (you are in nature).
Location: Take advantage of activities onsite - horseback riding, hiking, zip lining
We had a great stay at Borinquen. The facility is fabulous - set on 6,000 acres adjacent to Rincon La Vieja National Park. It is "into the wild" with getting there requiring you to drive on a rocky, dirt road about 12 miles off the highway. The grounds of the hotel were pristine. We saw lots of monkeys, toucans and other wildlife right outside our room. They have a big pool, hot springs and mud baths we all enjoyed. We stayed in a standard room the 1st night and then the JR Suites the rest of our trip. The Jr Suites sit at the top of the hill (resort rooms start at the bottom of a hill and work their way up) and have an outstanding view which is worth the walk up the steep hill (or you can ask the front desk to get you a ride which our kids did). I would highly recommend the Jr Suites - they are newer, bigger and much more recently built than the other rooms. It is worth the small difference on cost - night and day in terms of quality of room. The service at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. Just realize that the pace of service is more leisurely than one gets in the U.S. - that is just the way things are in CR. Everyone from the guides on our horseback riding to the front desk to the wait staff at the restaurant worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. The food was good as well, especially the Saturday night buffet they had - steaks, Mahi Mahi, Chicken on the grill were awesome. Breakfast was good as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tamarindo, Guanacaste, CR

Glad to be back!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The rooms were comfortable with extra seating outside, the grounds are well-kept, the food is excellent, and the staff is courteous and helpful.
Cons: Fix the door on the refrigerator cabinet. That's all.
Location: Borinquen is conveniently located near the city of Liberia and is about an hour and a half away from some beautiful beaches on the Pacific Coast.
My family and I came to Borinquen in July 2013 for some recreation only. I have always wanted to return and had the opportunity to bring some friends for a visit. Hands down, Borinquen has the best zip line in Guanacaste and the canopy staff is always great. I've tried elsewhere at the insistence of a friend and was completely disappointed. The food is always good and the grounds are maintained perfectly. We didn't do everything because of time restrictions, but we managed to spend time in the sauna (wonderful), the volcanic mud bath and dipping pools, massages, and facials. I will continue to recommend this hotel to my friends and neighbors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevinfrom Nosara

Muy Tranquilo

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Although they still had Christmas decorations still up in the restaurant (almost two weeks into the new year) we had a great time at Borinquen. We were treated well, the grounds are beautiful, and it was the perfect spot for a quick getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Etwas vernachlässigt, aber einmalige Lage

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Weitläufig, super Spa, herrliche Poolanlage. Zufahrt 20 km Staubpiste. Service und Unterhalt etwas nachlässig.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Benjaminfrom NYC

Beautiful hotel, horribly managed

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
This is a beautiful hotel in the mountains and was probably 5 stars in the 1970s. The problem is they haven't done much upgrading since then, the rooms are not cleaned well, and it's hard to get to on a long dirt road for 25 minutes of bad driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robertfrom Volos Greece

Missed Opportunity

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately we only stayed for one night, which was a mistake. It was a lovely hotel with excellent facilities which I would have liked to have experienced. If we return to Costa Rica we would definitely use this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christianfrom Rodez

Paradisiaque

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hôtel dans un site magnifique, composé de bungalows au toit de tuiles, avec terrasse protégée par la végétation, qui permet de surprendre les animaux : iguanes, tatou, oiseaux. La visite des cascades est à faire, ainsi que les traversées des canyons en tyrolienne.Nous avons pu approcher des atèles.La piscine est magnifique. A ne pas manquer non plus les bains de boue, les bains chauds, et le sauna consistant en une cabane en planche au-dessus d'une source chaude. Bonne cuisine au restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Cool place for a night

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Location: Rincon de la Vieja park
Visited Borinquen for 3 nights in late November. My favorite part of our was the view from our porch. Amazing sunsets! Food was pretty decent but expensive in the dining room. Included breakfast was a yummy buffet the first two mornings. The horseback riding was really cool and the canopy tour was pretty awesome. But I have to say that 3 nights was too long. We wish we only stayed 1 night because we could have done all of things we did in a day and a half. We could have even stayed by the beach and done a day trip to Borinquen as may of the hotel visitors did.