Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city

Awesome

Posted Sep 16, 2014
There is endless things to say about this fabulous hotel. It's perfect for couples and friend group trips. Not very close to town but, 5 dollar cab ride away . It's away from the town to have that relaxing vacation you need. Pool, staff , breakfast , facilities are amazing ! Wish I could vacation at a hotel like this every vacation .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Cala Luna is perfect for families with teenagers

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The staff was extremely gracious, professional & kind. We loved that is was a boutique hotel & not one those monster chains that destroy the landscape
Cons: Nothing - it's perfect the way it is.
Location: Tamarindo is a very laid back surfer town with a very relaxed vibe.
We had a fabulous stay at the Cala Luna Hotel. The villas are very spacious, well-appointed, beautifully decorated and clean. We were also pleasantly surprised to discover that we had our own private pool behind our villa. What a great place to relax, enjoy quality time as a family and completely disconnect from our everyday lives. We also loved observing the howler monkeys that make the hotel their home. All around this was one of the best vacations of our lives and we travel quite a bit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob from Louisville KY

Perfect Family Vacation

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was incredible. Playa Langosta was beautiful - loved the solitude and close to Tamarindo for some action. The food at Cala Luna was spectacular - in fact we only ventured out for meals a handful of times. Our two year old enjoyed the pool, staff and Igor (dog). Looking forward to getting back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danny from New York

No Better Place in Tamarindo

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was truly fantastic....the service was impeccable, food was delicious, and overall was just an amazing place to be. For anyone heading down to Tamarindo, this is most definitely where you want to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CA

Tropical Oasis

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The friendly service! The housekeeping is impeccable. The FULL breakfast was amazing - fresh fruit juice, omelets, pastry, local delicacies. YUM!
Cons: More hooks inside and outside the room to hang up wet towels, bathing suits, etc. The air conditioning unit in the room is noisy while sleeping.
Location: The location is perfect if you don't want to stay in crazy Tamarindo. Lots of great surfing nearby. Drive into town - the roads are too dusty.
If you want to really get away from it all and just kick back, this is the place. After driving down dirty, rocky roads, through crazy Tamarindo, you arrive at Cala Luna - paradise. No Spring Break scene here at all - it is serene and civilized. The rooms are private with lush tropical plants surrounding you. The pool and deck area are wonderful with soothing music playing in the background. The nightly sunset happy hour on the beach was delightful. Not the best swimming beach but lovely and good for taking a dip. The staff is incredibly polite, friendly and helpful. I became so friendly with some of them that I cried as I hugged them good-bye. Family friendly indeed but ideal for a romantic getaway. They even have pool toys on hand for the kiddos. Several excellent surf spots within a 10 minute drive - my husband and son were in heaven. Our room smelled like a bouquet of flowers every time they cleaned it (daily of course) When I asked them what they used, they gave me a small bottle of it to take home. Now THAT is thoughtful. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the fresh ice-cold watermelon juice (among others), oh my gosh. Service, service, service, beauty, beauty, beauty. I have never heard the words "con mucho gusto" (my pleasure) so many times. We even saw monkeys in the trees. We have never stayed anywhere so dedicated to our enjoyment. Thank you Cala Luna!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by C. Joy from Albuquerque, NM

A Magical Place

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed at the Cala Luna for 7 nights on our trip to celebrate his birthday. We could not have been more pleased with this property. From beginning to end, every detail is done well. The interior design is eco chic without feeling fancy--just clean and cool.The food was marvelous. (The staff help me set up a surprise romantic dinner in one of the pool cabanas for his birthday and the menu was outstanding.) However, what made this place magical was the people. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and nice. They know their jobs, and do them well. It is obvious it is a great place to work, because everyone seems so happy. We had the pleasure of getting to know Anna (the manager) and one of the owners named Gritte...two Belgian ladies that were just fantastic. This property is like their home, and we felt so welcome and well treated. If you are looking for an adult only getaway though, this is probably not the place for you. There were lots of families with kids, from babies and toddlers to teens....But if you are looking for a place where you can totally relax and be taken care of, this is your place. The beach is quiet too. If you want to stay in the middle of all the action, including all the incessant beach vendors, stay in town at the Diria. We can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from Denver, CO

Beautiful hotel & location.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Facilities & location & staff were great.
Cons: Improve the food. Excellent buffet brunch but add variety. Ketchup based sauce on fish taco. 4 pieces of calamari on order? Bland food.
Location: Great location. Secluded yet short walk to town.
Only thing not up to excellent rating was the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great service, Beautiful setting just outside town

Posted Apr 3, 2014
We stayed in a villa suite with our toddler son. The villa was spacious enough for a much larger family and private pool was perfect for an afternoon siesta during nap time. From the welcome drink to the gift for our son on the last night, the staff at Cala Luna made us feel like family. Amazing sunset with cocktails were a daily highlight, and while the beach is not suitable for swimming, we had a great time exploring the tide pools and being away from the crowds. Tamarindo beach is a walk or short cab ride away. HIGHLY recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com