Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom colorado

Beautiful!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The jungle-like setting.
Cons: Water cooler available.
Location: Hotel provided free bikes. Easy walk to town.
Very nice & accomodating staff. Wonderful breakfast buffet. Spacious rooms. Each villa has private pool. Beach was all and very rocky. Not much room to swim there & current was rough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

Sunset central. Learning to relax.

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Garden-like setting. Organic and natural food, natural and delicious. Great Pool and warm, friendly staff. Short walk to town along the ocean. Pure Vida!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Haifa,Iisrael

Very nice hotel, good location if you have a car.

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Cons: More vegetables at breakfast
Location: Surfing classes at langosta beach club
We enjoy our stay very much. The stuff are very kind especially margoth, and all others. Required more vegetables at breakfast such as tomatoes.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H. Madison Wi

Yes and no!

Posted Feb 1, 2015
We booked a very last minute trip to Costa Rica to escape the winter in the the Chicago area! Total disclosure, Not a lot of planning on our part. We found the hotel charming and quaint, with a wonderful staff at the front desk and dining areas! However my biggest recommendation to any one traveling and staying at the hotel would be to book all extra excursions with a private tour Company Not affiliated with this property. Our tour guides for all of our excursions were "bus drivers" with little or no training about the sights we were seeing. I was very disappointed in all tours we booked through the hotel concierge. We felt like we knew more about what we were seeing than our guides. We spent $340.00 dollars for a 3 hour Hike through a dry forest. With a couple of explanations about trees and roots. We had also booked a white water rafting tour, woke up early to be picked up at 7am only to be forgotten by the the tour Company. No rafting for us on this trip. Other than the tour's I would recommend this hotel. The staff try their very best to accommodate your needs. The rooms were nice and the hotel was far enough away from Tamarindo proper to be quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Freeport, NY

Excellent Resort in Tamarindo

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Everything. Service, location and amenities.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Tamarindo is a fun surf town.
Just returned from a great 3 night stay at Cala Luna and can only say it was wonderful. We stayed in a villa which was a treat, private pool, kitchen and spacious. The staff was 5 star. Arrived and greeted with a delicious drink. Sunset coctail on the beach was delightful. Ate at the on site restaurant the first night. Excellent. The included breakfast buffet left nothing to be desired. French press coffee, omelet station, great pastries and local tropical fruit. $5 cab ride into Tamarindo for dinner and exploring. Would strongly recommend as roads were poor. Also, great supermarket in town should you choose to cook. Beach was great, lounge chairs, towels and attendants. Can't say enough. our standards are high and they were exceeded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
This resort is simply amazing, the staff and all amenities are top notch! I will always go back here whenever I travel to Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice boutique hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
very relaxing and enjoyable trip. The chef is amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andreafrom New York

Elegant, serene and fun!

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a perfect set-up we had at Cala Luna. We had already spent 3 nights at the luxurious Reserva Conchal at Playa Conchal and were fearful that Cala Luna couldn't compare. It couldn't - it was even better! We had a 2 bedroom villa with a private pool. We were traveling as a family of four with two teenagers. Everyone agreed that Cala Luna was our favorite. Tamarindo is a great surf town and a lot of fun for dining and nightlife but Cala Luna allows you to wake up in luxury as well. The breakfast buffet was by far the best we have had - all homemade breads, peanut butter, jams, omelette station. We enjoyed the complimentary cocktails for sunset on the beach - probably the best sunset view in Tamarindo. It's not in the center of town so be prepared for a bit of a walk to get there. But the distance from the town center provides a serene setting to enjoy this wonderful country.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Everything was nice.
Location: A bit secluded from the busy part of the city but this was a good thing. If you have a car, go to Playa Conchal for a white sand beautiful beach.
It was a very nice experience staying at this hotel. The staff was super friendly, there was a nice welcome drink upon arrival, the breakfast was delicious and satisfying, the room was very clean and comfortable, and although the beach is rocky (can't swim in it), it was beautiful to watch the sunset. Plus, they provide free sunset drinks at the beach, which was a pleasant surprise! We saw monkeys in the trees every evening just before sunset and you do hear them occasionally howling. The restaurant and pool area are very nice, well-kept, and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel but do note that it's not in downtown Tamarindo but a few minutes away. If you're looking for a hotel where you can walk everywhere, then this is not the place to be. They do provide free bicycles but you'll be biking on a dirt road. We had a rental car so this wasn't an issue for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bridgetfrom Massachusetts

Beautiful!!

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful! It is not far from the action of Tamarindo and the hotel has bikes you can use to get there although it is walkable and a taxi is only $5 each way. The made to order breakfast that was included was delicious. The sunset drink on the beach is a really nice touch...do not miss the sunsets - it is so gorgeous!! But sure to get to beach early...the sun sets really really fast!! My only complaint is that the tour director is only there until 4pm. We arrived after 4 so we could not book anything for the next day. It worked out ok....we went into town and a few tour offices were open and able to help us but we were initially frustrated. Although I must say that the front desk staff tried their best to be helpful - but since booking the tours is not their actual job function they were not able to do much for us. If you only have a few days I would recommending booking your activities ahead of time. We visited other areas of Costa Rice on our 9 day trip, spending 3 days in each location and we REALLY wish we had spent longer at Cala Luna - next time we will!!!