Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from Denver, CO

Beautiful hotel & location.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Facilities & location & staff were great.
Cons: Improve the food. Excellent buffet brunch but add variety. Ketchup based sauce on fish taco. 4 pieces of calamari on order? Bland food.
Location: Great location. Secluded yet short walk to town.
Only thing not up to excellent rating was the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great service, Beautiful setting just outside town

Posted Apr 3, 2014
We stayed in a villa suite with our toddler son. The villa was spacious enough for a much larger family and private pool was perfect for an afternoon siesta during nap time. From the welcome drink to the gift for our son on the last night, the staff at Cala Luna made us feel like family. Amazing sunset with cocktails were a daily highlight, and while the beach is not suitable for swimming, we had a great time exploring the tide pools and being away from the crowds. Tamarindo beach is a walk or short cab ride away. HIGHLY recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel...slightly overpriced!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Stayed in this hotel during early February 2014 and we were a bit disappointed. Whilst the hotel is 'nice' and clean, it is very average and for the price I would've expected a bit more in terms of service and facilities (most days we didn't even get coffee in our room). The majority of the staff weren't that polite and made us feel like more of an inconvenience than guests. On the upside, the food in the restaurant was lovely. I don't think we had a bad meal there! The rooms were also very comfortable with a huge bath! Tamarindo is a typical beach town and was great for surfing! It's great for just relaxing in the sun (if you can handle the heat!). If you want to see the more lush, tropical side of Costa Rica, I'd recommend Arenal over Tamarindo as there's much more wildlife! More locals as well which give it more of an authentic feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by june from nyc

amazing

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
loved the lovely staff, hotel grounds, especially the massage parlor that was open but surrounded by shrubbery - had the best massages by Montserrat, and i've had lots of massages in top places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelle from miami, florida

Very pleased with hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2013
The hotel staff was very accommodating and always pleasant. The rooms and entire hotel are very well kept. Only a few steps away from the beach and the town. Our rate included a free breakfast which was amazing, fresh fruit juices and lots of variety made to order. I recommend the hotel and would stay there again when visiting Tamarindo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian D from Sacramento, CA

Great Place - Almost Perfect

Posted Apr 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Cala Luna was excellent, and really only needed a couple of things to make it an outstanding hotel: 1. Daily replacement of cups, towels, coffe, etc, was not always on point. 2. Restaurant service was great - waiters were familiar with items, great menu, etc. However, there was a long wait for food on several nights. Not unlike other areas of Tamarindo, but expected a little better. 3. When we had an issue with our pick-up at the airport, the hotel manager/ (?) owner made substantial changes in our charges to accomodate this problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Masa from USA

Very good!

Posted Mar 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
strongly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Oasis just by the sea

Posted Mar 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The initial greeting was great with cool towels and welcome drink. Stayed in a Deluxe room. The large shower tub and L'Occitane products are top notch. Although there was a wedding the first night, the staff provided complimentary wine and strawberries, a thoughtful touch. The breakfast was great, fresh juice, fruit, and coffee French-press along with an assortment of options for food. The beach requires a little walk. It has cool tidal pools. There were only two chairs we could see for guests (an improvement from prior reviews). It's a decent 15 min walk along the water at low tide to Tamarindo. Sunset cocktails provided by the hotel were great. The dinners there were satisfactory. The pool and cabanas are nice, especially with cocktail service. Overall, a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jon

Costa Rica holiday

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Cala Luna is great for couples or people wanting a get away from the noise and bustle of Tamarindo. The beach nearby is nothing like as good as the one in the town but it is secluded which could be an advantage. The food is excellent so make sure to eat here. The weekend I arrived there was a big wedding party and they put me in a room v near the celebrations which meant not a great nights sleep. A bit of thought here would have been good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Colorado

"Week in paradise!"

Posted Jan 6, 2013
Wonderful stay! We had 15 family members and were all very impressed with the staff and hotel. Being close but not in town was ideal for us, the walk to town to go surfing or shopping was comfortable for all ages. Hotel concierge arranged 4 major outings for the entire group, all which surpassed expectations. Food was a major plus, especially the morning breakfast complete with press coffee. A week in paradise!