Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: the view from the restaurant is spectacular; near Flamingo beach which is beautiful; the staff is quite friendly and helpful, they try to make your stay pleasant Cons: the rooms are outdated, as well as the pool. The hotel changed the management about a year ago, so they are renovating everything. This is a 3 star hotel with chances to become a 4 star hotel if they update the rooms and pool. Although rooms are outdated, they were always clean!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Clean, nice view, good location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Hotel is dated and going through some remodeling but rooms are clean. The gazebo is a nice spot and the semi-private beach is nice but you have to muse the tide (beach is non existent on high tide)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ventura ca

Four star hotel unfinished?

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff are great,
Cons: All of the above
Location: Only one small store in Flamingo beach area, have to travel 20 km to get gas. Snorkle, swim, scuba, fish, catamaran.
For one week my wife and I were the only guests in the hotel, breakfast was a case of what do you want, with no real menu to look at. The hotel is being reconstructed, the bedroom was missing a number of items that should be standard, no sign to indicate the hotel (Took 45 minutes to find hotel entrance) Missing from bedroom, refrigerator, bedside phone, no chairs, no chain on door, no safe, no emergency notice on door, no ice machine. Beach access is almost impossible, the hotel is on a headland and the pathway is just dirt. As we were leaving they pulled up all the tiles on the main balcony (Above our bedroom)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buenos Aires

Es un hotel muy lindo con una vista increíble!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
El personal del hotel fue muy amable durante nuestra estadía. Fueron muy serviciales y resolutivos en todo lo que les pedimos así como muy atentos y simpáticos. La habitación fue muy cómoda y si bien estaban remodelando el hotel las instalaciones estaban funcionando bien.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento

Nice, quiet hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Having never visited Costa Rica, it was hard to know where to stay on the coast. Playa Flamingo is an intimate setting tucked away from it all. The hotel overlooks a small bay and the hike down to the beach is easy. The property has lovely views and an open deck for meals. The room was comfortable and simple. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The location is quiet and a short walk down the hill brought us to a cute plaza with a fantastic restaurant. I would definitely return as the property is being upgraded to include more dining options another pool and rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maxfrom San Jose

Mucho potencial, actualidad pobre

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
Un Hotel con un potencial impresionante por su ubicacion, pero esta con trabajos de remodelacion que no justifican que el desayuno sea extremadamente pobre y los jardines esten totalmente secos y la piscina muy sucia. Los colaboradores se esmeran por atender bien pero no se disimulan las carencias. Insistimos, el potencial es espectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Christmas stay a Playa Flamingo

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
This was a nice place for a few night's stay. The views are terrific. The service is wonderful, the people are very nice. Much work was in progress while we were there, with about 25 new rooms being finished. The older rooms have been largely refurbished, but still show age around the edges a bit. Nothing serious. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning, and walked to the beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Hotel under renovation

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Nice room with sea view, good condition but hotel was renovating so everything seemed a little chaotic. This will be a great place to stop once done. Staff was friendly and helpful and for breakfast we had an amazing huge terrace to ourselves - great view, sun and very relaxing. Good could be better though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anna-Mariafrom Dallas, Texas

Incredibly friendly staff- great for couples.

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for 6 days in December. The hotel really has a private beach that's great for a romantic walk or taking pictures that will make others jealous, but we spent most of our time at Flaningo Beach which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The room we stayed in was recently renovated with a flat screen tv and English language HBO and many other channels for gringos. Breakfast featured typical Tico food as well as some American staples such as scrambled eggs, cereal and toast. The breakfast items did change slightly every morning and we were happy and did not feel the need to go elsewhere. The coffee is very good. Overall, the hotel contributed significantly to our vacation feeling like a "really nice" one. We are frequent international travelers and know the feeling of dreading the return to the room after a long day out, but thankfully that did not apply here at all. The staff speaks very good English and is exceptionally friendly and willing to go out of their way for you. They allowed us to store our rental bikes in a convenient location in the lobby for example. At the reception desk you can ask for nicely sized beach towels that they will lend you for as long as you need them, so no need to waste space in your bags for those! Bathrooms had nice walk in showers by the way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by FRANCISCO JOS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com