Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: the view from the restaurant is spectacular; near Flamingo beach which is beautiful; the staff is quite friendly and helpful, they try to make your stay pleasant Cons: the rooms are outdated, as well as the pool. The hotel changed the management about a year ago, so they are renovating everything. This is a 3 star hotel with chances to become a 4 star hotel if they update the rooms and pool. Although rooms are outdated, they were always clean!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Clean, nice view, good location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Hotel is dated and going through some remodeling but rooms are clean. The gazebo is a nice spot and the semi-private beach is nice but you have to muse the tide (beach is non existent on high tide)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ventura ca

Four star hotel unfinished?

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff are great,
Cons: All of the above
Location: Only one small store in Flamingo beach area, have to travel 20 km to get gas. Snorkle, swim, scuba, fish, catamaran.
For one week my wife and I were the only guests in the hotel, breakfast was a case of what do you want, with no real menu to look at. The hotel is being reconstructed, the bedroom was missing a number of items that should be standard, no sign to indicate the hotel (Took 45 minutes to find hotel entrance) Missing from bedroom, refrigerator, bedside phone, no chairs, no chain on door, no safe, no emergency notice on door, no ice machine. Beach access is almost impossible, the hotel is on a headland and the pathway is just dirt. As we were leaving they pulled up all the tiles on the main balcony (Above our bedroom)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buenos Aires

Es un hotel muy lindo con una vista increíble!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
El personal del hotel fue muy amable durante nuestra estadía. Fueron muy serviciales y resolutivos en todo lo que les pedimos así como muy atentos y simpáticos. La habitación fue muy cómoda y si bien estaban remodelando el hotel las instalaciones estaban funcionando bien.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento

Nice, quiet hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Having never visited Costa Rica, it was hard to know where to stay on the coast. Playa Flamingo is an intimate setting tucked away from it all. The hotel overlooks a small bay and the hike down to the beach is easy. The property has lovely views and an open deck for meals. The room was comfortable and simple. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The location is quiet and a short walk down the hill brought us to a cute plaza with a fantastic restaurant. I would definitely return as the property is being upgraded to include more dining options another pool and rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Christmas stay a Playa Flamingo

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
This was a nice place for a few night's stay. The views are terrific. The service is wonderful, the people are very nice. Much work was in progress while we were there, with about 25 new rooms being finished. The older rooms have been largely refurbished, but still show age around the edges a bit. Nothing serious. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning, and walked to the beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Hotel under renovation

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Nice room with sea view, good condition but hotel was renovating so everything seemed a little chaotic. This will be a great place to stop once done. Staff was friendly and helpful and for breakfast we had an amazing huge terrace to ourselves - great view, sun and very relaxing. Good could be better though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by FRANCISCO JOS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lizzyfrom mexico

Beautiful private beach

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: View, staff attentions
Cons: Stairs to the beach, specially to help the elderly and couples with babies. In room showers are very uncomfortable because of the current arragement
Location: Excellent view, near other beautiful beaches such as Conchal, which is great to see a bunch of places in one trip
Even when the hotel has access to a public beach it is more of a private one since it has surrounding cliffs, which makes it wonderful. Accessing the beach is difficult though because the stairs are in terrible condition. Hotel needs bathroom renovations, a new stairway to the beach and more comfortable beach chairs. They have new owners though, so I hope they improve the hotel. The food is good. The staff is super nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by krissyfrom s.

Overnight from San Juan Santamaria Airport

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Good overnight, and nice convenient shuttle running every 15 mins (it picks you up across the street by the parking structure)