Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lizzyfrom mexico

Beautiful private beach

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: View, staff attentions
Cons: Stairs to the beach, specially to help the elderly and couples with babies. In room showers are very uncomfortable because of the current arragement
Location: Excellent view, near other beautiful beaches such as Conchal, which is great to see a bunch of places in one trip
Even when the hotel has access to a public beach it is more of a private one since it has surrounding cliffs, which makes it wonderful. Accessing the beach is difficult though because the stairs are in terrible condition. Hotel needs bathroom renovations, a new stairway to the beach and more comfortable beach chairs. They have new owners though, so I hope they improve the hotel. The food is good. The staff is super nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by krissyfrom s.

Overnight from San Juan Santamaria Airport

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Good overnight, and nice convenient shuttle running every 15 mins (it picks you up across the street by the parking structure)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by K-Rockfrom Boston

Tremendous

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Host (Joseph) and his beautiful wife treated us like family, as did all of the staff. The hotel was beautiful with a Pacific view and lots of wildlife... It was like having Jurassic Park in your backyard. Flamingo beach is where it's at if you want peacefulness and no venders harassing you. Surrounding restaurants were very good and we always felt safe. We're at Tamarindo beach as I write and a vender comes by to sell you something approximately every 2 minute (not kidding). If you want traditional Costa Rican courtesy with a classy Host and Hostess....stay here.....beds are a little stiff...some parts under construction....but we'll be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adranfrom miami

Hotel with a wonderful view

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The view and the staff special mention to Soraya she extremely nice and kind
Cons: The hotel need an update
Location: Close to Flamingo beach and a very nice restaurant " Coco Loco"
Nice hotel with a great view, close to flamingo beach
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissafrom Houston

Hotel with splendid views of the playa Flamingo

Posted Jan 5, 2014
The hotel have a new management and they are trying to improve. It's quiet and I like this location better than Tamarindo if you prefer a more tranquil place near to everything.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by world travelerfrom USA

Doesn't deserve even a star!

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was horrible. We have traveled many countries and this was the worst place we ever stayed at. I am not sure about the reviews below but anyone from the USA wouldn't even give a star to this place. We have also stayed at couple other hotels in the same area with 3 stars and they were true 3 stars. The owner and his wife run the hotel and they seem to do many things by themselves. The owner is a money hungry rude man! We stayed in two different rooms, both were ready to demolish. There were holes everywhere in the room including bathroom, closet and side of the doors. We had two big crabs came in our room, one from the bottom of the toilet and other one under the main door from outside. The shower wasn’t working. When we asked the owner to fix it, he said he was busy and will fix it tomorrow. The housekeeping didn't change our towels so we went to the front desk to get fresh towels. The owner told us they ran out of towels so couldn't change them. Breakfast is included but they serve you at a buffet and don’t give you enough food, which wasn’t that good anyways. Please don't let the pictures fool you. If you want a good vacation, stay away from this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vickifrom nicaragua

good view of ocean

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: good view, very quiet
Cons: breakfast was good but expected a little more food since expedia said 'breakfast buffet'
Location: this hotel is located on a steep hill which was fine for us since we had a rental car. a short walk down the hill to the beach
staff was very friendly and accomodating calm peaceful surroundings with beautiful view of ocean from breakfast area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric and Louisefrom Saskatchewan

They Treat Their Guests Like Gold!

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel has some maintenance needs for sure. We had economy prices but top notch care and service from the El Sabanero team! We appreciated the positive contribution they made in our fabulous vacation in Costa Rica. Would we consider going back to this hotel again? Yes. As long as it is Josef and his team there to greet us!
1 out of 5
by mikafrom WA, USA

Hotel for one night and for who does not like to swim in ocean

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: we did run to different hotel after first night
Cons: we did run to different hotel after first night
Location: far from ocean with broken long way stairs, no private beach
El Sabanero Beach Hotel : -far from ocean - no private beach and located on a hill - a long stairs down to go to the beach is closed because it is broken -our room was very much noisy with old style of air-condition - swimming pool was with crabs and leaves from trees. - at 23:30 there was only one night guard who did not speak English and he opened a room with one King size bed. We made reservation 3 months ago for two beds of Qween size - this room did not have refrigerator -no bottle water to take a pills -The balcony not possible to lock by night time - the safe did not work -no coffee maker