Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and easy

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Exactly what we were looking for: On the beach, beautiful and quiet. Complete relaxation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Nice

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds. Ocean view was stunning.
Location: A short walk into town. Many good restaurants and shops there.
We enjoyed our stay at Captain Suizo. Room was clean, staff friendly and food was good at restaurant. It was our anniversary and the hotel even gave us a free bottle of wine. We would definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet place on the edge of Tamarindo

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for 2 nights on my honeymoon to Costa Rica. This place was awesome. It is a little far from town to walk on the dirty road, so we opted to walk to town on the beach which was awesome. It was nice to walk on the beach during the day and at night (we used our cell phones to see haha). The service at the hotel was very nice. We had tours planned that left earlier than when breakfast started.. they put together for us a to-go breakfast of a sandwich, fresh fruit, juice, and yogurt to take with us free of charge. We also bought a spa massage there and it was excellent for a way cheaper price than most places in the area. Our room was very nice and clean. No surprises, was very nice. If your looking for a quiet, beautiful hotel that is still walkable to town and around the point to see beautiful sunsets over the ocean, this is the place to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Excellent Tamarindo experience

Posted Dec 21, 2014
We loved the hotel. It was a short walk from town. One of the managers took my husband surfing on the first day and was amazing. The food in the restaurant was out of this world. We saw a lot of wildlife around the grounds. Our garden room was large and lovely. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Nice and on the beach

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The Beach
Cons: bed comfort
We only stayed one night but wished we stayed more! It was right on the end of Tamarindo Beach… tucked away but walkable to town. The beach is gorgeous!!! The restaurant was so very good… for both breakfast and dinner. There are monkeys living there, and beware! They are TOO comfortable with people and tried to jump into my arms as I took a picture. They're harmless but I got a souvenir scratch! The town is a cute surf town that we would have loved to explore more. The room was huge but bed was not very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on beach

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Beautiful, clean, quiet, great location, easy walking distance to main area of town. Friendly staff aim to please. Loved dreamy, romantic, elegant, comfortable room. Restaurant, bar, food, pool, etc was exceptional. Everything was perfect. Can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Sensational especially the staff, room amazing

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Staff, room, and the flack it was further down the beach away from crowds
Very much enjoyed the food every night would went to go out but could not go pass the menu or the pleasant staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Astoria, New York

Great Staff and Location

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The staff, the food at the restaurant, the pool & the location. The rooms were large, clean, and steps from the beach.
Location: Location was great, beach was not crowded like it was in town. We never had a bad meal in Costa Rica. Do the Blue Dolphin Catamaran tour!!
This was our first time going to Costa Rica, and we came to Tamarindo from Arenal. We wanted to relax and do some excursions, but mostly just lay around on the beach and surf. Capitan Suizo is in an amazing location, away from the craziness of town so you can relax but close enough to walk. The grounds were beautiful and animal friendly, with 4 resident cats living there and greeting guests. Howler monkeys also hang around the trees, you are pretty much guaranteed to see them, and to definitely hear them (they are loud!!!). You will also see many, very large iguanas. We were lucky enough to see one jump in the pool, it was pretty incredible. The staff at Capitan Suizo are amazing, most particularly Juan Carlos, Max, Eddie and Katherine (there was one other woman who worked at the restaurant that was amazing too, but I didn't catch her name). They couldn't do enough for us, and we got to know them on a somewhat personal level. They even helped us learn some Spanish! The hotel was clean, but also very wildlife and eco friendly. This means you will see bugs. You are on the beach, in a somewhat remote, tropical area; bugs thrive in this environment, so you will encounter them. Also, watch out for the birds that steal your breakfast (White-throated Magpie Jays). They are beautiful, but don't leave your dish unattended. As far as excursions go, if you do nothing else make sure to do the Blue Dolphin Catamaran. One of the highlights of our trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

right on the beach, nice staff, clean rooms

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Location: In town I got a college party town atmosphere. Definitely a tourist town. White ppl everywhere.
kinda pricy but I was willing to pay the price for being right on the beach. Beautiful beach. Beautiful landscaping, I saw iguanas and monkeys. Great customer service. Somehow they get all the sand out of the rooms when they clean them. Very clean rooms. Bed rocked and squeaked when you know... so they could upgrade on the beds quality also pillows weren't that great but that's why i always bring my own. All in all you cant beat right on the beach.