Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Katie from Denver, CO

Amazing Service - Great Location

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The beds are a little uncomfortable (hard and worn in - but I came to find most places are like that). We had breakfast provided each morning - it was delicious. When we needed to catch a bus at two, the owner let us stay in the room even if check out was at noon. Our first night we arrived late and he gave the key to the security guard so we could get in our room even if the office was closed. The owner is very friendly and dedicated to keeping the hotel in ship-shape. It is right across from a super market and literally a 5 min walk to the beach. It is also tucked away in an alley so it is quiet and calm. I highly recommend coming here - if ever in Tamarindo again, I will for sure stay here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not the best deal in town

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room is your basic Costa Rica surf setup - bed, small fridge, some AC and a bathroom. Don't waste your money on the "breakfast" - coffee and food are rationed - one small cup of coffee, two eggs and a piece of toast - if you specifically ask, you might even get rice and beans (you know, the staple of all Central America). The owner manager is a great guy and the staff is friendly. Across the street from a grocery store - yay! All-in-all, the hotel is OK - but you can likely find better cheaper.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cannot recommend

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Not really a 3 star accommodation and in need of some TLC. Near very loud nightclubs so be warned your sleep will suffer if you are not a party animal
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the money

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
No major issues with this hotel. Good value for the money. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mecaela from Napa Valley, CA

Great Owner, Great Location

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in the middle of town but off the main road so it was quieter at night. It was very secluded once inside the grounds which was nice. There was one night club that was very loud one night, but otherwise it was far enough away that if you want to come back and sleep you can. The owner was very nice and helpful, especially with my transportation to the airport. I was traveling alone so the security guard at night made me feel safe. My only complaint was that breakfast was an odd set up. The woman serving was not very friendly. Once you sit down she serves automatically which is nice, but she served me something different than what others had so I had to ask her for the items she left off my plate. And when I asked for more coffee she said no :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bill dunn from Tamerino costa rica

Great hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Owned by a wonderful Italian , always smiling, and ready to help. This isn't the ritz Carlton, but we are in tamerindo , the surfing capital of Costa Rica. What more could you ask for, love the atmosphere, beautiful pool garden, and great advice on where to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bill Dunn from Tamarindo costa rica

Perfect for Tamarino

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for a5 star ritz Carlton, go so where else. Tamerindo is a surfing town....if you are looking for a superb location, nestled in the middle of tamerindo, with a private garden swimming pool and a security guard in a gated entrance this is the place. Owned by a energetic Italian with a smile that never goes away and totally connected in tamerindo for advice for EVERYTHING, this is the place. My only reason for a 4 star rating was our room #6 was very slow to cool with the air conditioning. My son and his girlfriend had another room totally absent of this issue. Btw, if you have teenagers, mine a freshman in college LOVED the place. They could roam all over the city I they and I felt they were safe. Both left today headed back to ga tech in Atlanta and Belmont in Nashville. Both sent me emails telling me how much they miss that place. When 2 19 year old's take the time to send an email like this, that's a 5 star rating in my book!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jprowse from salt lake city

very friendly helpful staff

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was our first time to Costa Rica and we really didn't know what to expect. The hotel is very clean and the outdoor patio area/pool is beautiful. We were experiencing a little bit of culture shock so the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff were greatly appreciated. We will stay here again when we return to Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stevin from NYC

Not luxury, but a great place to stay!

Posted Mar 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is right in the middle of town and a grocery store is directly across the street. The room was comfortable but a little worn. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a fridge and stove, room 1. The staff, from manager Paulo on down, were so friendly and helpful. Nice clean pool right outside the door and the ocean 2 blocks away. There are tons of places to eat and lots shops nearby. There's a free tico breakfast and a security guard on duty all night. it is very safe. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jota

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com