Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for our family

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Wonderful staff and owners.very safe and quiet. The location is 2 blocks from the beach and close to town and the grocery store. Howler monkeys pass through most days. We spent 8 days here teaching out little boys to surf. We look forward to returning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Breakfast could be better... Everything else was wonderful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Cons: They could add options to their breakfast menu ( I.e. fresh fruits).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great room for a group of budget travelers or hostel hoppers; there was a lot of nearby noise of dogs/cats/chatter and construction at night and very early in the morning which wasn't pleasant. Great service, nice people, large room. Wasn't the cleanliest but did the job for the night
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tim

Not so good

Posted Feb 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice people decent food. They started removing the shingles on the roof after the third night of our six day stay and at around 8am every morning it sounded like someone way going to come crashing through the roof. If your going to stay here it would be best to call ahead and make sure there not going to be working on the roof while your trying to sleep
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Had I known..

Posted Dec 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
The people and rooms with kitchen-ettes were lovely as was the continental or tico breakfast. However, I chose this place because of hot tub and swim up bar, neither of which were up and running during the five day stay. This was second week in December and whether or not they were just getting ready for high season or not, had I known, I would have chosen another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A Gem in Tamarindo

Posted Apr 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
I just loved this hotel. First of all it's conveniently located, about 300 yards from the beach and the market but away from the nightlife commotion. The rooms are very nice and decorated with beautiful tropical motifs. I loved the A/C, the cleanliness of the rooms and the oasis feel of the structure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Feb 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Most comfortable bed in 3 weeks in Costa Rica. Owners upgraded us to a cabina. Very nice pool, restaurant bar. Close to beach and not the noisy main drag.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

The most fun we had!

Posted Nov 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
We spent 11 nights in Costa Rica, 3 nights at "Arenal Springs Resort" (lovely), 3 nights at "The Falls" outside Manuel Antonio National Park (beautiful), but our favorite spot was "Hotel Luna Llena" in Tamarindo. It was not the most fancy, or the most stunningly beautiful, but it was the most friendly and inviting hotel. We had a bungalow that we shared with our two teenage children. The rooms are circular and decorated with murals and fun fabrics. There was a large bathroom and a small kitchen and a loft space with three twin beds. Plenty of space for us to spread out - which after a week of traveling with two teenagers was much needed. The hotel was on a quiet street just out of town, but was close enough to walk to the shops, restaurants and the beach. The pool was lovely although somewhat in disrepair during out stay. Breakfast was simple, but good. The kids were welcome to have access to the grounds and spent time playing games at the pool and with the 7 cats and 4 dogs that call the Hotel Luna Llena home. Simone was gracious and each and the hotel staff were helpful in booking a variety of reasonably prices tours. If you are looking for an upscale American type resort the Hotel Luna Llena may not be for you, but if you are looking for a reasonably priced Costa Rican experience I highly recommend the Hotel Luna Llena.