Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hyde Park, NY

room for improvement

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Location of hotel and our room location
Cons: Plumbing, Breakfast, overall maintenance
Location: Beach, Surfing, tours to amazing places all over Costa Rica, dining options galore
We stayed for ten nights and maybe because of that we noticed some things that people just staying for a few nights overlook. The location is great. Close to beach and restaurants/shops but far enough away from noise. The room was nice but did not have fridge or microwave as posted on expedia. No hairdryers (staff told us we didn't need one). The complex overall seems to be a bit outdated. In the middle of our stay there was a problem with the toilet. Since we got home late, no one was there to give us details, just a non English speaking guard. Moved into a bungalow and figured we got upgraded. Not so - had to move back the next morning. Two nights later our mattress got "upgraded" to a really hard one. Didn't think there was anything wrong with the first one. Water pressure wasn't great, Wifi is there but depending on your location slow or not existing. Free breakfast was tiny, a choice of 2 pancakes, 2 pieces of toast or one egg with rice and beans. Coffee and juice. After day 3 we went out for breakfast. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Even if it sounds snobby don't travel to Costa Rica expecting American or European service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
The location is great, other than that, standard hotel, nothing to complain about, nothing great about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
I enjoyed my stay here for two days. Nadiria and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It's close to the beach and pretty quiet. Shower pressure needs work, it took some to rinse off after the beach. But overall, cleaning was great and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Walking distance to beach & restaurants

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Comfortable stay in early December at Hotel Luna Llena. Its location is within easy walking distance of the beach and restaurants and amenities in Tamarindo. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. Room was clean and pleasantly decorated. Recoommended and good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by emerson Jaco

secure

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was close enough to the main strip. Parking lot was really secure and the complimentary breakfast was really great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Slightly off the beaten path

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: location felt far off, but was in fact quite close to everything. Was very quiet too.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: literally 5 minute walk to the beach. 6 minutes to town. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.
5 day stay, and was very very relaxing. The staff was terrific. The pool was great too. The amenities were a little lacking but the price was certainly right, so I really cannot complain about that. They even brought up a cube refrigerator on request. The AC worked, but the ceiling fan was enough for most nights. It is very buggy, so bring the OFF! Unless I hit the lottery and can afford the Diria, I would love to come back to this great little hotel. Didn't see any Howler monkeys, but definitely heard them one morning. Resident Iguanas did make frequent appearances (they're vegetarian, don't worry).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for our family

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Wonderful staff and owners.very safe and quiet. The location is 2 blocks from the beach and close to town and the grocery store. Howler monkeys pass through most days. We spent 8 days here teaching out little boys to surf. We look forward to returning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Breakfast could be better... Everything else was wonderful!