Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Solid landing spot for a couple days

Posted Jul 19, 2015
5 minutes from Main Street and the beach means it is close to the so-called action, but far enough. Small hotel with about 8 units. Clean. The owner lives onsite and she is way cool. Communal kitchen, complimentary use of beach towels. 2nd time in Tamarindo and I would have no issue staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jonathan from Jacksonville,Fl

up the road on the left

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Nice well run small hotel . A step up from hostels.every thing you need on a small scale.Good A/C ,good bed ,good water pressure and hot. Would recommend to solo or seasoned couples.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Small hotel off the main strip of Tamarindo

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Quiet, communal kitchen.
Location: It's about 15 minutes from the beach and only a few minutes from the main strip. A couple good place near by: La Botega,The Dragonfly and Green Papaya
Spent 3 nights at Hotel Mahayana. It's a very small hotel, only a few rooms surrounding a small pool and has an outdoor communal kitchen. The hotel is on a dirt road-off the main strip of hotels, bars and restaurants; which makes it very quiet. I Didn't see much of the owner, Cecile, only the day I arrived and one early morning when she makes coffee for everyone. I believe she's usually up by reception during the day if you have any questions or want to book an excursion. The room is very basic, just a bed, mini fridge, small tv and small bathroom attached. The outdoor kitchen was very cute, although I didn't really use it- but was useful for making myself some cereal in the morning. I would really recommend this place for couples who are looking for some peace and quiet. I wouldn't really recommend it for people travelling alone, because it can feel isolating- although I prefer it to staying in a loud hostel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

First Time Travel to Costa Rica & Hotel Mahayana

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Air conditioning, refrigerator in the room, comfortable bed, warm water, hammock, pool & outdoor kitchen. Very clean. Nice outside sitting area.
Cons: Everything was fine.
Location: Within walking distance to grocery stores, restaurants, bars, gift shops & the beach.
This was out first trip to Costa Rica & we had a fabulous time. Once we found our airfare, I read reviews about various hotels & we chose Hotel Mahayana based on the feedback. We were not disappointed & would definitely stay there again. Since it was our first trip to Costa Rica, we had a few questions prior to arriving &Cecil replied to our emails in a timely, detailed manner. She was very gracious & fun to work with. She assisted us in arranging a taxi to meet us at the airport & bring us to Tamarindo which was very helpful. Our driver was funny & conscientious. We also booked a horseback riding/snorkeling trip through Cecil & were very satisfied with our experience & cost. The shared outdoor kitchen near our pool was a fun meeting spot for guests in the hotel at various times of the day. We enjoyed meeting the people who were also staying there & went on excursions/adventures/happy hour with them. Our total experience was relaxing & enjoyable & we felt totally safe in the environment. We were only a short walk to restaurants, bars, beach, shops, etc but had a peaceful spot to relax out of the hub bub when we chose to. I would highly recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Good value for the money

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Super staff.
Location: Surf
A bit out of the way and not fancy. Rooms are small but do the trick. And the staff is friendly and helpful in every way. Courtyard was great for meeting and chatting with other travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Very nice experience , Cecile the owner is what makes it special
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Antonio from Paris

Excellent place in Tamarindo

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, very clean, and only a few hundreds meters from the beach. The location is perfect, not far at all from everything, and yet very quiet. I have booked for 1 night and ended up staying 4. The manager Cecile and her staff were very helpful. I recommend this hotel without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lisa G from Washington, DC

Nice Enough Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was a good price which drew me in but the rooms are very small. My friend and I felt cramped which is why we switched hotels. The host was nice and checked us in after 7pm. Everything was pretty dark. We left at 11am for check out so didn't spend much time in the hotel. Beds were just ok but so are most in Costa Rica. Shower was cold.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great place to stay for a few days!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The owner, Cécile is wonderful! Anything you need she either has, lets you borrow or is able to direct you to. I was a little surprised to arrive at my room to discover that the rooms don't have real doors. There is a sliding glass door but then only a linen curtain panel. That took a day or so to get used to! The bed and linens were very good and the shower was dreamy. There is a safe in each room to put away your valuables, which I really appreciated. The area does get very dark and I was very glad that I had thought to bring along a mini flashlight on my trip. Very, very useful. The hotel is removed from the center of town so it is definitely a nice break from the noise. You should know that Tamarindo is very far from the major tourist attractions. There are small tours and activities in the area--kayaking, snorkeling, estuary rides, ATVs but if you have notions to see the proper rainforest, active volcanoes and the like you should expect a 4-5 hour drive each way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Crab from USA

Quiet out of way lodging

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
Very charming quaint hotel! The owner Cecile is very nice and has made improvements to offer simple comfortable rooms. The location is away from the main busy & noisy main street of Playa Tamarindo but close enough to walk to the restaurants and the stores. There is a small refrig and new AC to help cool the intense heat & humidity!