Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lisa Gfrom Washington, DC

Nice Enough Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was a good price which drew me in but the rooms are very small. My friend and I felt cramped which is why we switched hotels. The host was nice and checked us in after 7pm. Everything was pretty dark. We left at 11am for check out so didn't spend much time in the hotel. Beds were just ok but so are most in Costa Rica. Shower was cold.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great place to stay for a few days!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The owner, C├ęcile is wonderful! Anything you need she either has, lets you borrow or is able to direct you to. I was a little surprised to arrive at my room to discover that the rooms don't have real doors. There is a sliding glass door but then only a linen curtain panel. That took a day or so to get used to! The bed and linens were very good and the shower was dreamy. There is a safe in each room to put away your valuables, which I really appreciated. The area does get very dark and I was very glad that I had thought to bring along a mini flashlight on my trip. Very, very useful. The hotel is removed from the center of town so it is definitely a nice break from the noise. You should know that Tamarindo is very far from the major tourist attractions. There are small tours and activities in the area--kayaking, snorkeling, estuary rides, ATVs but if you have notions to see the proper rainforest, active volcanoes and the like you should expect a 4-5 hour drive each way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Crabfrom USA

Quiet out of way lodging

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very charming quaint hotel! The owner Cecile is very nice and has made improvements to offer simple comfortable rooms. The location is away from the main busy & noisy main street of Playa Tamarindo but close enough to walk to the restaurants and the stores. There is a small refrig and new AC to help cool the intense heat & humidity!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mathieufrom Atlanta

Amazing place.

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service at it's finest. The rooms are comfortable, clean and cozy while basic. The host is amazing and will do everything in her power to make your stay perfect. Most welcome I've ever felt at a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul & Jenniefrom Ottawa, Canada

great little spot

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: inexpensive, close to everything, quiet, clean
Location: everything to do in tamarindo is within a 5 minute walk - surfing lessons, beach, car rental, grocery, bars, restaurants and a mini-golf.
5 minute walk from the beach, but far enough from the main tamarindo drag that it is not noisy. many great affordable places to eat within a few hundred yards, and a 2 minute walk to the local grocery store makes the well equipped communal kitchen a real dollar-saver. the manager and staff are helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adrianfrom brooklyn, ny

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: clean, simple, surrounded by nature, quiet, convenient.
Cons: more screens in the windows for mosquitoes in the evening
Location: nice places to eat on the way to town and to the beach, a nice variety of restaurants, smoothy bars, surf rental/lesson...
a great nice little hotel, simple, clean, all that one needs. About a 7 min walk to the beach, away from noisier places restaurants and bars, and surrounded by a nice amount of forest space, trees and bush, wake up to the cicadas and birds. a convenient little common kitchen area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicolefrom Minnapolis, MN

Great Hotel, Great Location and even better Price

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Cecile (and Maya) were very helpful hosts and were available anytime we had questions.
Cons: Internet connection was slow at night but I assume it was because everyone was on it :)
Location: The location is a little off the main road but close enough to everything. It's the best of both worlds.
My boyfriend and I stayed at Mahayana for 4 nights for the first part of our Costa Rica trip. Cecile was very helpful when we asked questions about the area, helping us plan our tours and overall just a very sweet host. She introduced us to Hector (transportation) and we could not be more thrilled getting to know him throughout our stay. Overall the hotel was very nice and there was always hot water and air conditioning. The rooms are cozy with TV and a nice large shower. The location is great as everything is within a 5 minute walk. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Roshanfrom Manhattan

best service in Tamarindo!

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Mahayana is beautifully tucked away from the village central and has all the necessary amenities you could look for backpacking through the country. The owner, Cecile is an absolute sweetheart who goes above and beyond for the customers. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to visit the such a welcoming town.