Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul & Jennie from Ottawa, Canada

great little spot

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: inexpensive, close to everything, quiet, clean
Location: everything to do in tamarindo is within a 5 minute walk - surfing lessons, beach, car rental, grocery, bars, restaurants and a mini-golf.
5 minute walk from the beach, but far enough from the main tamarindo drag that it is not noisy. many great affordable places to eat within a few hundred yards, and a 2 minute walk to the local grocery store makes the well equipped communal kitchen a real dollar-saver. the manager and staff are helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adrian from brooklyn, ny

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: clean, simple, surrounded by nature, quiet, convenient.
Cons: more screens in the windows for mosquitoes in the evening
Location: nice places to eat on the way to town and to the beach, a nice variety of restaurants, smoothy bars, surf rental/lesson...
a great nice little hotel, simple, clean, all that one needs. About a 7 min walk to the beach, away from noisier places restaurants and bars, and surrounded by a nice amount of forest space, trees and bush, wake up to the cicadas and birds. a convenient little common kitchen area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicole from Minnapolis, MN

Great Hotel, Great Location and even better Price

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Cecile (and Maya) were very helpful hosts and were available anytime we had questions.
Cons: Internet connection was slow at night but I assume it was because everyone was on it :)
Location: The location is a little off the main road but close enough to everything. It's the best of both worlds.
My boyfriend and I stayed at Mahayana for 4 nights for the first part of our Costa Rica trip. Cecile was very helpful when we asked questions about the area, helping us plan our tours and overall just a very sweet host. She introduced us to Hector (transportation) and we could not be more thrilled getting to know him throughout our stay. Overall the hotel was very nice and there was always hot water and air conditioning. The rooms are cozy with TV and a nice large shower. The location is great as everything is within a 5 minute walk. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Roshan from Manhattan

best service in Tamarindo!

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Mahayana is beautifully tucked away from the village central and has all the necessary amenities you could look for backpacking through the country. The owner, Cecile is an absolute sweetheart who goes above and beyond for the customers. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to visit the such a welcoming town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joel from San Jose, Costa Rica

You won't regret staying here!

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: The biggest asset is its owner, Cecile, who all the guests just love. You will, too.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The hotel is located up the hill from the beach, about a five minute walk. There are lots of great restaurants and bars nearby and a supermarket.
When we first arrived in Tamarindo, we had a little trouble finding the place. It was dark and raining, and the taxi driver didn't know where it was. As it turned out, the Hotel Mahayana is only a five minute walk from the main street along the beach where the bus dropped us off. If you want to be right on the beach and/or want a swimming pool, you'll have to stay elsewhere. But if all you want or need are a small, comfortable room and bed with a flat-screen TV, refrigerator, common cooking facilities. hot water in the shower, , and a small jacuzzi, this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brad C. from California

Solid

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Amazing owner takes great care of guests. Location is right near everything, but quiet. Perfect place to stay in Tamarindo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Denis from Kanata, Ottawa, ON, Canada

Nice spot away from hustle/bustle of Tamarindo

Posted May 14, 2013
Pros: Clean rooms and well kept common area
Cons: Matresses a bit on the hard side, but nothing major:)
Location: Perferctly located away from Tamarindo's main drag for peace and quiet.
A little hard to find within Tamarindo since it's off the main drag, but that makes it nice (a lot quieter). Nice little rooms. Once we checked in, we realized the room we were assigned seemed to have non-working AC. Luckily, they had another room available with working AC. Bonus! Rooms and beds were clean. Matresses were a bit on the hard side. I'm a side sleeper and can sleep pretty much anywhere, anytime. I woke up many times during the night with hip discomfort, kind of like when you're backpacking and end up sleeping on your thin sleeping mat over a hard surface. This is the first place I ever stayed at that had a compound topped with eletrical cattle fencing. I realize why it's there - presumably to keep potential thieves out and is for the safety of the guests. Better than barbed or razor wire, I guess. Access to the rooms is by patio doors that open using a strange and sometimes hard to operate four-sided key system. You use the same key to lock the door once you're inside the room. A little finicky to operate but we got the hang of it after a few tries. Could have been an issue if ever we would have had to access or leave our locked room in a hurry. We were looking forward to meeting the owner since many reviews have stated that she is wonderful. Unfortunately, she was away on business, but we were greeted by a lovely young friend of hers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Norm

Within short walk to everything you want

Posted Jan 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Owner was very helpful and friendly. Outdoor community kitchen well stocked and useful. Was safe and secure, the location was far enough away from the holiday traffic and noise but close enough to walk to the restaurants, stores and beach. I would stay there again and recommend to anyone.