Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Paulo Barbozafrom San José Costa Rica

Malo

Posted Sep 23, 2014 
A pesar de haber hecho la reserva con mucha anticipación creo que me dieron la peor habitación que tenían, la única al frente de la piscina, por lo tanto era imposible descansar por la bulla que hacían por un lado al frente en la piscina y por otro lado a la par en la lavandería que dicho sea de paso es el mismo lugar donde preparan el desayuno (en un sartén encima de la lavadora), que además no sabia absolutamente a nada por lo que el segundo día salimos a desayunar a otro lugar, al igual que otros huéspedes del hotel que nos encontramos en el lugar donde fuimos a desayunar, definitivamente un lugar para no repetir!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leafrom Westchester County, NY

Better than expected

Posted Jan 12, 2014
The location is great, across the road from the quiet section of the beach. The walk to town is only a couple of minutes. Although the rooms are simple they are sparkling clean. If you like a luxurious room, you should look elsewhere. But for us they were functional. The walls are a bit thin, and we notified the night staff when our neighbor blasted the tv. The night staff notified the guest and we were able to sleep in peace and quiet. Communication with the reception was at times tricky. English was not spoken by the night staff, but we took it in stride and had fun teaching English. All the staff was friendly and helpful, they tried hard to make sure everything was ok. If you stay at Hotel Pueblo Dorado you will truly feel you are in a foreign country, and to us this was a great plus combined with a bit of adventure.
2 out of 5
by Eddiefrom Australia

Don't stay here!

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: it is off the path of tourists.
Location: Tamarindo is a surf village - nothing more - perfect for the regular american tourist - as there very few local food establishments.
Hotel is noisy, small and not worth the money. Unless you surf - do not waste your time in Tamarindo (Try Playa Conchal instead - which is much more a holiday location).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anafrom Guatemala

Good hotel in a very good spot

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Yummy breakfast with selection of fresh fruit, cereals, eggs or sausage, quite, and clean.
Location: Close to the stripe beach, and good restaurants...
I stayed here with my family over New Year's. It is a nice hotel, nice staff, and not in the strip but close enough to walk. (And far enough to have some quiet time) They have a walk through the beach right in front and good restaurants around.... Would definitely go again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2013
1 out of 5
Recommended
by M

Horrible place, AVOID!

Posted Jan 18, 2013 
Unfriendly service. We staid there for too long and it partly ruined our vacation. All the other hotels that we staid in Costa Rica, were really nice, had excellent service and were half cheaper! But here the service was just so unbelievably rude. Front desk woman speaks english, but I don't think she understands it very well. Before we booked this hotel, we slightly laughed at the comments like: "the front desk lady, she did not smile". But after a while it really got innoying: front desk, cleaning ladies and other personal looked unhappy and they had long days at work. Do not go there if want to have a nice vacation. Unpolite service and very expensive for what you get!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Habitaciones

Posted Sep 27, 2012 
Habitaciones con todo lo necesario pero un poco estrechas. Se vuelven incomodas si la estancia es para mas de 2 personas. Servicio muy bueno.
2 out of 5
by Nature Loverfrom Washington DC

Think twice....

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Book there if you don't have any other options, it's a budget hotel. The room was small and had just the basic necessities. The only part that was positive was its location. It is located in the touristy area of Tamarindo close to shops and restaurants on the main strip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom upstate, ny

clean and adequate, good price

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Pros: very friendly staff
Cons: would like to be right on the beach
nice for the price. clean and adequate. staff is friendly. would like to be closer to beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mikefrom San Jose, Costa Rica

alright little place.

Posted Jan 4, 2012
Cons: needs private bathroom doors
Nice little hotel, the rooms are small, and the bathroom doors are angled vents, so they are super not provide. They could do better to change the doors on the bathrooms to the rooms. Otherwise its alright, not a far walk into town, maybe 10 minutes. Its pretty cheap though, so you get what you pay for.