Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leafrom Westchester County, NY

Better than expected

Posted Jan 12, 2014
The location is great, across the road from the quiet section of the beach. The walk to town is only a couple of minutes. Although the rooms are simple they are sparkling clean. If you like a luxurious room, you should look elsewhere. But for us they were functional. The walls are a bit thin, and we notified the night staff when our neighbor blasted the tv. The night staff notified the guest and we were able to sleep in peace and quiet. Communication with the reception was at times tricky. English was not spoken by the night staff, but we took it in stride and had fun teaching English. All the staff was friendly and helpful, they tried hard to make sure everything was ok. If you stay at Hotel Pueblo Dorado you will truly feel you are in a foreign country, and to us this was a great plus combined with a bit of adventure.
2 out of 5
by Eddiefrom Australia

Don't stay here!

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: it is off the path of tourists.
Location: Tamarindo is a surf village - nothing more - perfect for the regular american tourist - as there very few local food establishments.
Hotel is noisy, small and not worth the money. Unless you surf - do not waste your time in Tamarindo (Try Playa Conchal instead - which is much more a holiday location).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anafrom Guatemala

Good hotel in a very good spot

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Yummy breakfast with selection of fresh fruit, cereals, eggs or sausage, quite, and clean.
Location: Close to the stripe beach, and good restaurants...
I stayed here with my family over New Year's. It is a nice hotel, nice staff, and not in the strip but close enough to walk. (And far enough to have some quiet time) They have a walk through the beach right in front and good restaurants around.... Would definitely go again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2013
2 out of 5
by Nature Loverfrom Washington DC

Think twice....

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Book there if you don't have any other options, it's a budget hotel. The room was small and had just the basic necessities. The only part that was positive was its location. It is located in the touristy area of Tamarindo close to shops and restaurants on the main strip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom upstate, ny

clean and adequate, good price

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Pros: very friendly staff
Cons: would like to be right on the beach
nice for the price. clean and adequate. staff is friendly. would like to be closer to beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mikefrom San Jose, Costa Rica

alright little place.

Posted Jan 4, 2012
Cons: needs private bathroom doors
Nice little hotel, the rooms are small, and the bathroom doors are angled vents, so they are super not provide. They could do better to change the doors on the bathrooms to the rooms. Otherwise its alright, not a far walk into town, maybe 10 minutes. Its pretty cheap though, so you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Touristfrom 98102

Nice, but a bit expensive

Posted Jan 4, 2012
Nice location, with easy access to the beach. However, it seemed a bit overpriced, especially because there is no restaurant or cafe/breakfast at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Panama City Panama

Perfect location! Great Staff!

Posted Mar 17, 2011
At first I was upset because the hotel wasn't fully booked and I had made a reservation weeks earlier and they still gave us the LAST room at the far end of the hotel. I felt like I was sent to the butt of the hotel. But after sleeping perfectly every night during our stay, enjoying the perfect complimentary breakfast for long days of exploring beaches and being treated so well by all the hotel staff we were sure we had made the right choice. The hotel is located SUPER close to the center of the town of tamarindo, which makes it walking distance to a bustling night life, but also far enough to be able to get a good nights sleep. Walking distance to the beach and the staff is really helpful about helping you get around other beaches that are close by. I would definetly come back!! Although I must make the warning, our room had lots of ants, and they were sort of big. They didn't bother us at all but some people might not be as tolerant.