Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great beach resort

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: I loved all food variety especially fresh fruits. Everything tasted so good. Hotel staff is very nice.
Cons: They were taking a building down by the beach creating noise and dust. I couldn't use my balcony. This should have been done in their rainy season.
This is good place to go for people like who likes pool with entertainment or sitting quietly under trees at the beach. The beach is beautiful for taking walks. You can see iguanas and monkeys on the paths. There is paid shuttle services to shopping and surfing beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newark nj

Best resort ever!

Posted Apr 23, 2015
I loved my stay at this resort the best part is the wonderful staff and the great food. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Wonderful resort

Posted Apr 23, 2015
What a great experience. The hotel was perfect. The rooms were spacious and so was the balcony. The pool was beautiful and so big..people were not crowded together. There was enough shaded areas around the pool if you wanted to be out of the sun. The food was excellent...so many choices and the service was terrific.. everyone was friendly and we wanted for nothing. The entertainment was fun both day and night. My only complaints were the towels in the room were rough and the beach area was very rocky.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family vacation

Posted Apr 21, 2015
This is s great hotel and awesome staff!! expedia stated room service, there is no room service, the pools and grounds are breathtaking! Staff always helpful and smiling. I was unhappy with the 5 restaurants, one is always closed and nothing was availible unless booked 3 days ahead. The buffet got really old quick. I would say the food is really good but the same or similar every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Nice hotel. Good food. Felt welcome. Beach was nice a bit rocky but not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Land O Lakes, FLorida

E.g. Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Cons: If you stay at the RIU you do not have access to any of the restaurants of the RUI Place next door. But Palace customers could use RIU restaurants.
Location: Most of the eco tours where several hour drive from hotel. Roads were small and bumpy making two and three hour ride to eco location unbearable.
The facility was very nice The food was great. Beach was very rocky. You needed water shoes to negotiate between beach and water. Tours were entirely too far from hotel. Need to have a childrens section a the pool. Drinks from the bars was very adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My five days in Riu Guanacaste

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The staff kindness, the cleanliness, the pool, the bar in the pool, the buffet, the lobby having that open feeling, the shows
Cons: Food quality and difficulty accessing all the restaurants. We did get into the Japanese restaurant and the steak house, disappointing.
Location: Nice location, but it was the dry season so everything looked dead. Ziplining was great, bad snorkeling with cloudy water. Cocoa Beach is fun.
The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The hotel lobby was open air, so birds flew through, which was so charming. The buffet was delicious and everything there was yummy. However, I was disappointed that the restaurants were almost inaccessible. There are two restaurants which require reservations, which can only be made between 9 AM and noon on the day before you'd like to dine there, dinner only. If you have plans, ie excursions, it's impossible to get to make the reservations, and even if you can get there during those hours, the reservations are often all gone. The other two restaurants are the Japanese and Italian. The Japanese restaurant was nice, but the food was average and the Suchi was poor. The Italian restaurant was so full that the wait was over 90 minutes. We gave up out of hunger and went to the buffet as usual. The swim up bar was fun, but order two drinks at a time as there's a long wait to catch a bartender. The beach was our biggest disappointment. It was rocky and very difficult to enter the water and the black sand looked dirty and was EXTREMELY hot. I really think the hotel should post warning signs as I really burned the bottoms of my feet when I went to go into the water barefooted. Definitely bring water shoes for the sand and the rocky coastline. It's very pretty to look at, but I prefer my Long Island beaches! The staff was extremely friendly, and with the exception of the food quality and accessibility, I'd recommend the Rio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
As always, the RIU does not disappoint. The property was beautiful & the service was top notch!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom long island, ny

Decent, but not worth the money

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Rooms were nice, nothing special.. My friends got a "king bed" which was two double beds pushed together, luckily had an actually king bed. Staff by the pool and the bars are all super friendly and nice. Luis by the pool was very helpful in helping us plan our excursions. Restaurant staff was a lil less friendly. First you can't wear just a bikini top with shorts at any buffet during the day time even tho you're on a resort (that you spent a lot of money to be in) in 95degree weather during the day. The forced me to leave and did the same to my friend the next day at the buffet at the pool!! At night I would understand but it was the middle of the day during the blistering sun. Second it's seems almost impossible to get a spot to eat at one of the mediocre restaurants. Staff was very rude and not accommodating. The buffet sucks, so a mediocre restaurant would be a nice change of pace. But all in all the food is terrible regardless. I'd recommend doing some research on other resorts first or staying at a regular hotel and just spend the extra money on going out to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2015
My stay was very nice the weather was great everyday and the service was a 10 the help went above and beon and made our stay enjoyable but the breakfast and lunch was good but the dinners wouldn't that good other than that I had a good time