Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted May 4, 2015
This resort is amazing. The staff was so friendly. The food was great also. I highly recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Posted May 1, 2015
Very relaxing! Food was great! Service was friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Second time at a Rui

Posted Apr 29, 2015
We stayed last year at a Rui palace in Mexico and had a great time. We decide to try the Rui in Guanacaste, we were not disappointed. Great choice. Food was great. Variety in liquor is scarce, would have preferred more options. The beach did not impress. The room could have used a better cleaning. The service and staff was impressive. They definitely hire the right people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vermont

Awesome

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Great hotel staff and food were amazing. Walk down the beach to the left and there are monkeys in the trees near the monkey bar. Dancing at the disco was great. Did not start Until 11:30 and if you were staying at Rui palace you had to pay for drinks at the disco. Went 10 mins down the road to the Congo trail got to hold a baby monkey. It was very hot and dry. Bring lots of sunblock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Excellent all inclusive

Posted Apr 27, 2015
The Riu is definitely a beautiful hotel. The pools are large and never seem to feel overly congested. Of course if you are looking for something quiet and relaxing, this probably isn't the place for you. It has a college party atmosphere for the older generation. The food is excellent. We found we enjoyed the Arenal restaurant as much or more than the ones you had to make reservations for. I really like how they set the tables up in rows which was great for meeting other people. We saw monkeys near the parking lot area as well as beautiful birds. The only downside to this place is the beach isn't as nice for swimming as others in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Riu palace

Posted Apr 22, 2015
A beautiful hotel- not overly big or small. Pools are beautiful and bars are accessible. Hotel room is very clean and has all the necessary utilities AC kept the room cool. Food was excellent. Just stick with the buffet foods. The speciality restaurant the steakhouse was good. Dislike the modern food restaurant. Entertainment was great on certain nights. There is a club n casino because of the adjacent hotel. Beach was so so. Overview. A beautiful hotel and overall a 4-4.5 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Central NJ

High Quality/Top Value Resort

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: At the front desk- Sandy-Max and Isella went above and beyond to make our stay extrememly comfortable and enjoyable. At the pool bar Luigi and Luis!!
Cons: Room service menu and phone system
My husband and I stayed four nights and five days in this expansive, newly built resort in a peaceful, natural setting on the Pacific side of Costa Rica in Guanacaste Province. The local people are friendly, educated and hard-working. The all-inclusive package was in our opinion of relatively high quality and value, and the service was attentive and courteous. The only minus was the lack of available items to order for room service. We stayed in the basic Junior Garden suite and did not regret this-our balcony was very private and quiet with a view of beautiful mountains and wildlife. Our only other diffuculty was communicating with Gray Line shuttle service we booked through expedia to make sure we had shuttle service to and from the resport-in the end the drivers were prompt and really personable/professional-I believe it is the office staff who are lacking. Make sure to contact Expedia and get Gray Line reservations e-mail well in advance of your trip to iron out the pick-up/flight/return info. We booked the sunset cruise with VISION (35 minutes of beginner snorkeling) and the TAM blue river rainforest day-long tour with 1-hour hike for people with less than ideal ambulation :-) - we enjoyed both very much and felt they were top quality and top value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Beautiful, memorable experience!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Loved the room, the grounds, the pool, the restaurants, the beach, and the staff! Everything!
Cons: Bathrooms located closer to the pool area and main restaurant area. More ecological-themed excursions.
Location: There are a variety of activities and excursions, both near and far. Even had the opportunity to spend a day in Nicaragua.
The hotel and location are outstanding. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The room was beautiful, as well. Had an ocean view room, which costs a little more, but totally worth it! The staff are friendly, patient, and quite helpful. Great experience all around!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

The food was excellent!! The hotel is beautifu.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
The hotel is great, I saw the gardeners, the pool boys and housekeeping all cleaning the hotel grounds. great service, the guys at the pool and bar do a great job, I always had a drink in my hands. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The food at Arenal was amazing!! We ate there 80% of our stay. The other restaurant were is just that we like the variety at Arenal. We had blast, thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Beautiful place to stay!

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We had a wonderful experience at this resort. The staff was wonderful, the hotel was gorgeous, clean and airy with lovely grounds. The location is a bit out of the way, but we took some day trips to explore and venture. The food was just ok, as in all inclusives. I would recommend this place to a friend.