Ratings based on 465 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Beach is lacking

Posted Jan 20, 2015
What you're paying for when you get this hotel is really a lawn next to the beach. They don't provide chairs/umbrellas on the beach. If you go out in the beach and sit in one of the chairs, some guy will come over and demand $12 for the privilege. Then someone else will come by every 5 minutes trying to sell you a stupid whistle or pot or whatever. It's incredibly annoying. The water in front of the hotel is crowded with sharp rocks, I was out there for maybe 15 minutes before cutting up my foot. This is easily the worst beach resort I've ever been to.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Nice looking Hotel on the beach - Lousy Service

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: The location and beach access was amazing.
Cons: The service was poor and staff was un-attentive, they were more concerned about clearing the tables than providing the coffee and milk.
Location: Near all required activities - Tamarindo he beatiful.
I arrived at the hotel at 11 pm the front desk clerk had me waiting 10 minutes before registering me in for a room, he had some important personal phone call on his cell phone to handle and that was only the start of our discomfort. He assigned us to poolside room and told us to park the car across the street and to proceed to room. Unknown to us that the hotel had more rooms that we could imagine without a map or directions to the room, we walked around for 45 minutes trying to find a room in a resort of that size. Bell hops to carry luggage was not offered we had just driven an hour and 30 minutes from Liberia International airport exhausted we carried our own luggage to room. I did leave a large suite case in car for later to pickup since I could not carry all of the luggage. Unable to find out room we went back to front gate and a nice security young man totally apologetically at the circumstances, was himself confused on the location of the room after going around for a few minutes he was able to find the room. Next day at breakfast we sit at a very nice table facing the beach, table utensil were missing, coffee and milk was not on table. We asked a very busy server for coffee and milk he disappeared for a few minutes and then delivered coffee without the milk had to ask another 3 times before we got milk. In the room the water pressure was non existing, the sink was was a trickle and the bathroom smelled, we open the bathroom window to alleviate the smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
amazing place-my third visit and it didn't disappoint!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Location wonderful town
Cons: They could let me stay there forever, other then that nope.
Location: Wonderful on the ocean and great town.
Wonderful location and staff. Has varying types of rooms, some across the street, very beautiful pool and area.the beach is public and wonderful, ocean with waves perfect for surfing. Don't expeat blue Caribbean water, water is clear but dark sand gives a different look, but trust me you can see your feet.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Staff are rude

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Superb location assuming you get a room overlooking the beach. But I found the staff to be rude and unhelpful. The bar staff and those at reception in particular were surly and appeared to regard any request as an imposition from checking in, to arranging the collection of my hire car, or just picking up towels. If you want to feel like a valued customer, choose a different hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Location, small room

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location, Pools
Cons: Re-model rooms
Location is great but no personal touch. Positive on the pools but rooms are small and show wear.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: already expressed in above comments Pools beautiful
Cons: already indicated in above comments
Location: very busy street runs through 2 sections, but employee is present to stop traffic Many restaurants and shops within walking distance
managed many tourists professionally and with ease. The included breakfast was superb, dinner a little skimpy. Tour desk very accommodating. Need to check fishing trips, though. Not too well equipped. Would definitely go again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Made several complaint s about bed but no action taken. Expensive. Hotel with bad service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom The Hamptons, NY

Romantic Hotel on The Beach

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: On the ocean, central location in town, clean rooms
Cons: Concierge needs to suggest other restaurants besides those connected to the hotel when asked...recommendations for travel and taxis would be great
Location: Easy to walk into town for shopping and meals....beaches north and south of the hotel to explore
Listening to the sound of the ocean when I woke was mesmerizing....delicious breakfast of fresh fruits and eggs and anything you could possibly imagine....pristine pools....pleasant feeling of hotel security from peddlers and others...friendly helpful staff...amazing sunsets that drew everyone to the beach to watch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New york

nice hotel right on the beach, amazing views

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: location,service,cleaniness
Location: surfing,swimming,beachcombing, turtle watching,volcano tour
beach, surfing vacation with my daughter. hotel was nice, excellent security, clean; friendly stuff.