Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom falls church va

Nice beach and view

Posted Nov 18, 2014
In the hub of the beach so lots of surfers to watch. They upgraded me to ocen front which was good because nothing was open bar wise for the rooms across the street. I could hear the disco down the street but nit much uou can do. Food hiwever at bar was expensive and not well done. Went to pizza place which was giid but pricey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersy

GREAT PLACE TO RELAX

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The Hotel is kept spotless and so are the grounds. The staff is great and friendly. The breskfast is wonderful. Massages outside near the beach.
Cons: I like the hotel just the way it is.
Location: The location is on the beach and in the center of town. There is all sorts of activities. Fishing,boat rides on the ocean, Massage and on and on
I have stayed here three times. That should tell you something. There is a variety of rooms and a variety of prices. You can get a beautiful ocean front room or a garden view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vegas

Charm & Convenients

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Nice hotel and service was good, most staff had a good level of English and did their best to accommodate you.
Cons: If the Hotel could prevent trinket sellers and beach sellers from hanging-out at the garden wall & beach entrance.
Location: Ideal Location in the middle of a small resort town with the most fabulous beach garden assemble.
Pleasant experience overall, the option of over-looking the beach from the gardens and not been accosted by trinket sellers was priceless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Everything! Loved our room. Staff was very friendly & went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. Beautiful views. Well organized tours.
Cons: Did not have any issues. Hotel exceeded our expectations. We will highly recommend staying there! Food was wonderful. Hotel was very well maintained.
Location: Liked staying in town. Lots of interesting restaurants. Lots of fun tours to choose from. Plenty of shopping. Did not need a car.
My wife & I celebrated our 30th Anniversary in Costa Rica. We had a fantastic time. Very relaxing and plenty of adventures such as zip lines, horseback riding, tubing, etc. At the same time, it was very romantic and a lot of fun. We met lots of interesting people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach great location

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Great hotel beautiful & great location....................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: very helpful and pleasant staff
very pleasant stay..great location to enjoy the beach and the local flavor!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Ocean view room and balcony simple perfection

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful decor. Clean. Friendly staff (except for the Grandmas, but that was ok). Delicious food.
Location: Centrally located and walking distance to everything.
We had an ocean view hotel room and it was a little slice of heaven. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and it will not be our last. Tamarindo is a small surfer town and Hotel Tamarindo is right on the main drag. We were able to walk to restaurants, supermarkets, surf shops, bike rental shops, bank, and book store. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly, except for the Grandmas cooking up breakfast. You wait for the Grandmas to finish their conversation before you can get your eggs over easy. Had several fantastic massages in the garden. Perfect for an afternoon cat nap. Lounged in the garden and read. Ran on the beach and surfed every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tel Aviv

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Location, right on the beach. Great pool, ok food.
Cons: Room maintenance.
This is a nice hotel, the location is great right on the beach. The hotel has a great pool and good facilities, breakfast is decent. A/C was the main issue for us, we first checked in to a room in which the A/C didn't work (308) and after it was examined we were moved to a different room (309) in which the A/C partially worked, it got pretty hot at night. Overall, this is a good hotel. at $150/night, I would expect things to work perfectly...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

A great location!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: nearly everything - quality of room, location in town, staff, breakfast, beachfront
Cons: quality of soaps/shampoos provided!
Location: Drove from here to Monteverde (very difficult road) and Samara (take the paved route!) - easy to get around CR in our rental.
We just spent 5 days at the Tamarindo Diria and it was worth every penny. Some things to just share with you that might be helpful in your trip to CR. -Spring for the beachfront rooms here - it's worth the extra $20 a day or so. There's two parts to the hotel, 1/2 is across the main street; it is quiet and has a lovely private pool, but your there for the beach views, which are gorgeous. -The breakfast is full and filling - great selections, egg station, waffle station, lots of options that will please adults and kids alike; the fruit was incredibly fresh. -Staff is unbelievably kind and pleasant, but I wish they did more to dissuade the beach hawkers from constantly trying to sell to you, especially over the dividing wall from from the public beach and the hotel grounds. -Bring your own soap/shampoo - the only negative on the entire 5 days was the quality of the product they provide. -WiFi isn't great - walk 5 min down the beach to Eat at Joe's - they have the strongest WiFi in Tamarindo by my account :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com