Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom falls church va

Nice beach and view

Posted Nov 18, 2014
In the hub of the beach so lots of surfers to watch. They upgraded me to ocen front which was good because nothing was open bar wise for the rooms across the street. I could hear the disco down the street but nit much uou can do. Food hiwever at bar was expensive and not well done. Went to pizza place which was giid but pricey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Everything! Loved our room. Staff was very friendly & went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. Beautiful views. Well organized tours.
Cons: Did not have any issues. Hotel exceeded our expectations. We will highly recommend staying there! Food was wonderful. Hotel was very well maintained.
Location: Liked staying in town. Lots of interesting restaurants. Lots of fun tours to choose from. Plenty of shopping. Did not need a car.
My wife & I celebrated our 30th Anniversary in Costa Rica. We had a fantastic time. Very relaxing and plenty of adventures such as zip lines, horseback riding, tubing, etc. At the same time, it was very romantic and a lot of fun. We met lots of interesting people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: very helpful and pleasant staff
very pleasant stay..great location to enjoy the beach and the local flavor!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Ocean view room and balcony simple perfection

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful decor. Clean. Friendly staff (except for the Grandmas, but that was ok). Delicious food.
Location: Centrally located and walking distance to everything.
We had an ocean view hotel room and it was a little slice of heaven. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and it will not be our last. Tamarindo is a small surfer town and Hotel Tamarindo is right on the main drag. We were able to walk to restaurants, supermarkets, surf shops, bike rental shops, bank, and book store. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly, except for the Grandmas cooking up breakfast. You wait for the Grandmas to finish their conversation before you can get your eggs over easy. Had several fantastic massages in the garden. Perfect for an afternoon cat nap. Lounged in the garden and read. Ran on the beach and surfed every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tel Aviv

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Location, right on the beach. Great pool, ok food.
Cons: Room maintenance.
This is a nice hotel, the location is great right on the beach. The hotel has a great pool and good facilities, breakfast is decent. A/C was the main issue for us, we first checked in to a room in which the A/C didn't work (308) and after it was examined we were moved to a different room (309) in which the A/C partially worked, it got pretty hot at night. Overall, this is a good hotel. at $150/night, I would expect things to work perfectly...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

A great location!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: nearly everything - quality of room, location in town, staff, breakfast, beachfront
Cons: quality of soaps/shampoos provided!
Location: Drove from here to Monteverde (very difficult road) and Samara (take the paved route!) - easy to get around CR in our rental.
We just spent 5 days at the Tamarindo Diria and it was worth every penny. Some things to just share with you that might be helpful in your trip to CR. -Spring for the beachfront rooms here - it's worth the extra $20 a day or so. There's two parts to the hotel, 1/2 is across the main street; it is quiet and has a lovely private pool, but your there for the beach views, which are gorgeous. -The breakfast is full and filling - great selections, egg station, waffle station, lots of options that will please adults and kids alike; the fruit was incredibly fresh. -Staff is unbelievably kind and pleasant, but I wish they did more to dissuade the beach hawkers from constantly trying to sell to you, especially over the dividing wall from from the public beach and the hotel grounds. -Bring your own soap/shampoo - the only negative on the entire 5 days was the quality of the product they provide. -WiFi isn't great - walk 5 min down the beach to Eat at Joe's - they have the strongest WiFi in Tamarindo by my account :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island

beautiful setting with wonderful people as staff

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: friendly accommodating staff
Cons: Bigger pool on beach side
Location: surf and sport fishing and catamaran
My daughter and I enjoyed our stay so very much! We will come back again and again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ronfrom Texas

Great location

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This Hotel is definitely the best location in Tamarindo. My only complaints are that the free wifi never did work and our room never really cooled down other than that this place was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the tropical atmosphere

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: I loved the pool areas. The lagoon pool had great surroundings of palm trees etc. The adult pool was tranquil.
Cons: The service during breakfast could have been a little better. The one time I ate a late breakfast, they had cleared a lot away before the ending time.
Location: Location is great for dining and shopping.
I very much enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Loved my ocean view and terrace. Loved being near the beach and town. Loved the ambiance of the hotel with the flavor of the culture. Not too fancy and not too plain. It was just right
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by MariaTDBR, Hotel Management
Dear Annita, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience during your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our property facilities and privileged location, which indeed is close to most Tamarindo’s major attractions. Thanks for mentioning our Resort's beautiful setting and your room's excellent ocean view and terrace. We appreciate your feedback on the Buffet breakfast service, it provides us with an opportunity to improve our costumer service. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back in the very near future. Warmest regards.