Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NS Canada

Great spot in Tamarindo.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds, pool, breakfasts, lovely patios overlooking the pool or beach (depending on your room)
Cons: Service
Location: Great beach nearby for surfing, swimming. Lots of nearby restaurants that are great. Shopping nearby. Catamaran day cruise with sunset ending fun!
Lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Tamarindo along the main strip. Hotel is very safe and private. Walk down a private path and across the road to the beautiful beach. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was very nice. Fresh and lots of yummy choices daily. The only complaint is that the service lacks. The front desk staff is friendly but overall, if you ask for assistance with something especially food and beverage, it was hit or miss. It was a bit disappointing but from what we experienced, there were service issues everywhere in town especially with dining. Overall an excellent location for a vacation. Would return again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros Very nicely landscaped.Great pool area.Great staff.Cons If arriving late or departing early it is poorly lighted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Great Hotel with private beach

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The hotel is great but all the people who work here really make you feel like there is nothing they won't do to make this a memorable vacation memory
Cons: The room is large but sterile feeling. Could use a small table with an extra chair. Right now there is only one chair for two people.
Location: You are within walking distance to all the bars and restaurants in Tamarindo plus shopping. Zip line companies are scheduled by the hotel.
Hotel is a block off the strip but has a private sidewalk to take you to the heart of the main drag in a short 3 or 4 minute walk. Across the street is a gate to your private beach. The hotel is just finishing up a large scale remodel. The bar and restaurant overlooking the two level pool and waterfall is beautiful. The restaurant is where you have your breakfast. The rooms are very large with a great bathroom with a large walk in shower, easily room enough for two. If your driving they lock your car in and have a guard at night. Never had to worry about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Beautiful hotel close to beach

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Design, room comfort, staff
We stayed in the hotel three days in January 2015. The property is beautifully decorated and has a modern feel to it. The breakfast was very good with a big variety of options. The beach is hundred yards away through a private walkway (the hotel is across the road from the beach), but certain rooms have ocean views. We stayed in room with a king-size bed and ocean view and I can't complain. It is so nice to wake up to a view of palm trees and ocean in the distance. The room was spacious, had a very large balcony, nice evening lighting, good firmness bed. The only thing missing was a mosquito mesh on the balcony door (we just used curtains, since we don't like AC), but the hotel is undergoing improvements and I hear many rooms already have the mesh installed. Right by the hotel lobby (street side) there was a family of Congo monkeys chillin on a tree every day. The hotel is located next to all the shops and restaurants (but you can't hear them on premises) so there is something to do after the sunset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was better then we could have imagined. It was small and didn't have a lot of people so we could really be by ourselves. Great staff, clean rooms, beautiful views, and sets back a bit from town so you don't hear people. I can't say enough good things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Very nice boutique hotel short walk to beach.Quiet

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The calm friendly feelings that came from it. The view from the lobby is spectacular.
Cons: I believe that the hotel recently went through an ownership transition. There are a few kinks to work out in the kitchen and dining room.
Location: Jardin is across the street and up a hill from the beach. Less of a walk than expected. Lots of good restaurants nearby on beach. Tours galore.
We only stayed one night so have limited information. Loved the ambiance, the friendly staff, and view. I believe they are under new ownership. The room was small but had a king bed and a superb view. The food was good (white fish and complimentary breakfast buffet: excellent). Though VERY friendly, the restaurant staff seemed inexperienced requiring some patience. (e.g., The bartender received on-the-spot instructions on how to make a margarita with one shot of tequila and quite a bit of mixer (or was it water?!) for 2 drinks. (If you want a drink, I'd recommend going to one of the many beach restaurants or having a bottle of beer. (Walters and The Hotel P___ (I unfortunately cannot remember the name...GREAT ceviche and very good fresh red snapper))).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Well maintained hotel with great beach access

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Property is well maintained. Private beach area was nice. Breakfast buffet was exceptional, the best we experienced in Costa Rica.
Cons: AC unit was noisy one night - cycling on and off every few minutes.
Location: Beach was close by. We arranged our scuba diving excursion right across the street.
Very helpful staff - even arranged for us to have a box breakfast since we were going scuba diving before the breakfast buffet opened.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Nice hotel, but Tamarindo's not ideal

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Nicely designed, access to a beach area. Special kudos to Diego, one of the most customer-focused staff members I've ever met.
Cons: No hot water for last two days. They give vouchers for "complementary welcome drinks at the bar." But they were good only for soft drinks. Huh?
Location: Tamarindo is best avoided altogether.
Hotel itself was lovely, if overpriced. Tamarindo was one of the least interesting places I've ever been. Lots of wannabe surfers walking around between their hostels and the beach, but very few of them in the water. That may be because a big wave came in at about one foot high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Excellent in every way!

Posted Jan 7, 2015
The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are comfortable. Above all the staff is wonderful,helpful, accomodating in every way and always with a smile on their face! I highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom grosseto

soggiorno da favola

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: il personale disponibile e cortese, la struttura accogliente, il giardino, la piscina da favola, spiaggia privata con accesso protetto verso il mare
Cons: la strada di accesso sterrata.
Location: posizione centrale, spiaggia bianca e mare adatto ai selfisti. parco nazionale marino Las Baulas
siamo arrivati in hotel con due giorni di anticipo, scappando dalla precedente sistemazione, ci hanno accolto subito cordialmente, sistemato in una camera con vista mare e ci hanno offerto un aperitivo di benvenuto. la colazione a buffet era abbondante e varia. per la cena lo chef ha soddisfatto tutte le nostre richieste preparando dei piatti non presenti nel menù.