Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Nice hotel with beach access

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Beach access and local wildlife on hotel grounds. Staff was quick to respond to guest needs. You can call a tram if you don't want to walk. Strict dress code for certain restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Got to go there!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: It's welcoming nature and the staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Had a hire car so visited different beaches in the area. You can organise most things from golf to fishing to day trip to Nicaurauga.
One of the best hotels i've ever stayed in and believe me i've stayed in a lot! I stayed in one of the Royal Club rooms, the room was a nice size with fantastic views. Small hotel but with great facilities for a hotel its size. The staff are fantastic, you get to be an first name terms with a lot of them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

apathetic front desk staff, non functioning room

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: chef for pasta night and the water sports instructor
Cons: everything else
Location: jump in the beach.
The front desk staff is the worst. We arrived at noon, and instead of helping us with the bags, they were too busy texting. After signing the documents, we asked for the wifi password, they pointed us to guest services. Guest Services was closed till 1, after which time the guy walked us back to the front desk to give us the password. Next, the Wifi is super slow (when it works), Occidental hotel is keen to upsell on premium internet. After we get to our room, there is power outage. The front desk tells us power should be restored soon, but after two hours, we go back to ask about the status. At this point, the story changes, that the power should be restored within two more hours. When we ask about the contingency, we are told that we can get a non ocean front room with AC, or sleep in our non airconditioned room that does not have power. The desk agent was dismissive of our concerns. Fortunately, the power returned when we got back to the room, but then the telephone stopped working. At this point we did not feel like making the trek back to the front desk to complain. The next day, the room was made, but the maid did not put any hand towels. Since the telephone did not work, we had to flag down a maid to request the towels. The night before, we told the front desk that we would be checking out early morning, and we were assured that someone would be there. Of course, the desk was un-manned when we went, and we had to wait ten minutes, delaying our departure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2015 by Lynda W, Hotel Management
Dear Axay, Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent vacation in Occidental Grand Papagayo. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve the amenities and services we offer to all our guests and we were concerned and surprised to read your comments regarding the way you were treated by staff. We pride ourselves on providing excellent, friendly service to all our guests as many reviews contest to and we take this matter very seriously. Unfortunately the hotel was victim to a power outage that was due to an external breakdown in the local area. After contacting the electricity company we were originally informed by them that this would be resolved within two hours. Unfortunately this was not the case and we were victim to a further two hours without main power relying on backup generators. My colleague in Reception offered you a room in another building that had a more powerful back up generator which allowed fully operational Air Conditioning in the rooms. Her intention was to make you more comfortable during the night when the view from the room was not so important. We were confident that the breakdown would be solved during that same night and you would be to return to an Ocean View Room in the morning. Unfortunately due to the power outage other facilities in the area were affected, for example telephone and internet communications. We had to await technicians from these providers to restore service. I can assure you that it was not her intention to be dismissive and we truly apologize if it seemed that way. We regret that you had to wait for ten minutes for our Night Receptionist while he was called to attend another guest`s room. We are very sorry that you experienced these issues during your two night stay with us and while we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We do hope that we may be granted another opportunity in the future to provide you with the vacation experience so many of our guests have come to enjoy. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not directly on the beach but just a short walk.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The hotel needs to be updated. The staff is awesome and very friendly. .They work very hard to make sure their guests are well taken care of. Great location but please update it... they need better variation for breakfast .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Lynda A, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is precisely from valuable feedback like yours that we learn where we can improve our facilities and services for our future guests. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming back in the future. Kind regards from all the team at Occidental Grand Papagayo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Nice hotel but to many outages

Posted Jun 5, 2015
When we first get here. To many people trying to sell you an excursion. Then when we finally get to our room it hot. The maintence people had to come and fix it which was not that great. Also the showers were not that clean mold is growing in the shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will investigate and take measures to rectify the areas you have mentioned. We do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with the vacation experience you deserve. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach FL

Excellent Resort

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The quality of the food and drink, both top notch. The staff is great from the general manager to the bus girls and guys. The room was perfect.
Cons: Some different entertainment in the evenings. Only had a great local singer one night, more local entertainment would be nice.
Location: Palo Verde National Park with river boat ride, see monkeys, iguanas, crocs (not shoes), birds, have lunch included. Coco Beach, sunset cruise.
The resort is close to a beach but you have to know the tides as high tide covers the beach, the resort gives you a tide schedule. Be in shape as the resort is on a hill side and there can be walking involved.They have a shuttle to take you where ever you want, we liked walking. The food was some of the best we have had at an all inclusive resort. The buffet was excellent, lots of choices and lots of Costa Rican food, which is very good. The other restaurants are Italian and Oriental. Both are very good. Remember you are in Costa Rica and their version of these types of restaurants might not be the same as yours, but the food is darn good! The staff are top notch, and will get you whatever you need or want, the drinks flow freely and you can snack as much as you want all day at the pool restaurant. The pool is nice, small but designed well. We relaxed, ate, drank, danced, loved! What else do you need!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and experienced and appreciated all the flora and fauna in our natural surroundings. We are grateful for your comments and for the information and great tips you have provided our future guests. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we hope to welcome you back here with us in the near future. Kind regards and best wishes from all the team here at Occidental Grand Papagayo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from puerto rico

relaxing resting place

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: nice and quiet
beach and pool are great .food and retaurants are great .staff pleases at all times far from everything but if u want to rest u can really do this here
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your vacation and that our staff contributed so much to your stay. The service we offer to guests is our main priority. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we have another opportunity in the future to welcome you both back here. Kind regards and best wishes from all the team,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA, USA

Not up to Par

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Staff was very accommodating.
Cons: Improve on description and amenities of hotel on line.
Location: Tour agent -Gray Line - was fabulous as were the tours........Took tour to Nicaragua, 1/2 day boat ride, adventure (included horse back riding, 10 zip
I stayed at 2 other Occidental hotels, Xtapa, Dom. Rep.............those were awesome. Food and variety was like staying at a budget resort......
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2015 by Lynda A, Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We do hope that we may be granted another opportunity in the future to provide you with the holiday experience you deserve. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Neenah, WI

Beautiful resort with amazing staff

Posted May 15, 2015
We loved this resort! We upgraded to a Royal Club room and it was amazing. The pool area is great and the beach is beautiful! Food was great, especially in the specialty restaurants - make sure to try the Italian! The best thing was the staff- everyone was super friendly, super helpful, willing to go above and beyond at all times. Bring bugspray- Mosquitos like this resort too.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2015 by Lynda A. Wright, Hotel Management
Dear Neenah, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your vacation and that our staff contributed so much to your stay. The service we offer to our guests is our main priority. It`s gerat that you enjoyed our culinary offer, Royal Club service and the pool and of course our naturally beautiful rugged beach. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we have another opportunity in the future to welcome you both back here. Kind regards and best wishes from all the team,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful hotel, not good food or beach.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The resort itself, and staff, people we met, fun activities at pool and evenings.
Cons: The food at the restaurants needs to include some nice grill meats -- and stop putting "sweet" dripping sauces on everything....
Location: There were fun activities at the pool, surrounding nature walks, and evening games and music.
The food at the restaurants was poor, real disappointment. They had Mexican, Oriental and Italian restaurants -- each of these were below standard. The plates were decorated and looked gourmet -- not much substance -- not much meat! No grilled meat options for steak, fish, chicken. The same ceviche. rather than a selection! Also, you had to make reservations in advance, and only eat at restaurant 4 times. (Which turned out fine since we cancelled our fourth dinner reservation after deciding that neither restaurant was worth going twice to.) The best option was the International Buffer for breakfast, lunch and dinner ....
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2015 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience in our a la carte restaurants, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We have taken on board your comments regarding our dining options and are currently working to improve this service to ensure they not only meet but exceed the expectations of all our guests. We do hope that we may be granted another opportunity in the future to provide you with the holiday experience you deserve. Kind regards