Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york

OK Hotel was very clean rooms nice staff excellent

Posted Jul 28, 2014
grounds very nice ,but there is alot of walking due to the fact hotel is built on a hill,walk to the beach up and down hills Beach area is small ,The tours offered by hotel very expensive better off going to beach and find private venders or go to coco beach.Food is limited ,Mexican restaurant was terrible not only my opinion but everybody we talked to.Would not stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Room was dirty when we arrived.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Snack Restaurant near the pool. Friendly staff and great ambience.
Cons: Front desk service.
Location: Its far away from everything. you need to rent a car or take a taxi to go to the nearest store or restaurant. All scheduled tours will pick you up.
Room was dirty and too far away from the lobby. Operator didn't answer the majority of the time. Staff from the Snack restaurant were very nice and helpful the rest of the staff were ordinary. The view was not at all what we requested -- Ocean view. Food at the buffet restaurant not very appetizing. If it wasn't for the fresh fruit, I would have not have breakfast everyday. Overall not the greatest experience. I will definitely go back to Costa Rica but will chose a different Hotel. There are wonderful tours and Costa Ricans are welcoming to all tourist.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Worst all adult resort

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Booked this hotel because it was an all adult hotel. There is no swim up bar, no outside bar and the closest bar to pool closes at 3 pm. Resort is very spread out. They will come pick you up & bring you to main building but our phone did not work in room until the day we left. So we mostly walked up 74 steps. A/C turns on by motion so when you get in your room it is hot. It does cool off after awhile. Most of the staff were not friendly. Resort seems to have to many rules. Costa Rica is absolutely beautiful. Will definitely book another resort when we go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Adult only hotel had children

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The hotel w dirty, needed significant repairs and the food was very bland.
Location: The beach was scary and I did not get in the water.
I feel that I was misguided in getting this hotel. I was there with 8 other adults who thought we were going to an adult only hotel only to see several small children along with teenagers. This was very disappointing and well as fraudulent. I paid a premium to stay at an adult only hotel. I feel that if it was going to be children, we should have been told along with receiving the same rate as the Occidental Hotel that caters to families.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Average hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We just returned from Costa Rica where we stayed at the Occidental Papagayo. The staff was very friendly, the grounds were well kept and very pretty, and the best meal was breakfast. We ate at The Buffett all the time because they have certain rules on making reservations for the Oriental and Italian restaurant. Lunch at the Buffett was average to good with many of the same things being served every day. Dinner varied on theme nights. One night was Indian night and we ate very little. Quite honestly, most people didn't eat that night. The snack bar was good - filled w burgers, hot wings, and nachos. Lastly, but the most disappointing, was the room temperature. It was very warm regardless the time of day. We purposely slept toward the foot of the bed under the ceiling fan to survive. The room was clean though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from boston

Beautiful views and outgoing happy guests

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Views, beach, staff, food, and guests
Cons: Rooms could be updated but the hotel is doing this now, none issue because you are outside all the time, rooms are very clean.
Location: Snorkeling, swimming, bird and animal watching, great tours are offered by the hotel and the tour guides on the beach. Hotel
The hotel is on a great swimming beach with soft sand. There is a riff on the side which is good for snorkeling but does not prevent access to the water. Tropical forest around the hotel provides opportunities to enjoy the wild life every time you step outside your room. Common areas are nice and the rooms are in the process of being updated. My room was not updated but if you decide to stay in the room you are missing out on meeting really great people and having fun. Make it a point for yourself to meet tour guides at the beach and go up to the main deck every evening and you are guaranteed a perfect vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from tyler, Tx

Great week away

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the location, the spa, the beach, and the bar in the lounge.
Cons: Variety on buffet.
Location: We went to the beach one day and to Buena Vista on the Mega Combo excursion.
We had a great relaxing time. The resort is not very big, but we enjoyed it. The staff was extremely friendly and there was good food at the specialty restaurants. The buffet was good albeit a little more limited than I would have liked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average for an All-Inclusive Resort

Posted Jul 5, 2014
I would rate 2.5 - 3 ☆☆☆. We just returned July 4th from a 6 day stay. Bad first: Service was ok, some staff very good some need work. The "free" internet is awful in the rooms, we were given a few different passcodes for it to work. The food gets old fast. The same over cooked beef, chicken and fish in the buffet. The Oriental and Italian restaurants were ok, appetizers better than the entree. The snack bar by the pool closes at 5:30 and many were upset no service for drinks unless you went all the way up to the main lobby bar. The disco is open late but no air circulation in the very small area. For an Adults Only Resort it seems to have a "curfew" like a family resort. Don't stay in building #2, or stay on the far end, we were behind the snack bars air conditioning unit, very loud. Good.: Parrots, monkeys and iguanas on the resort. Shuttle service, nice beach with security. Its an older resort that needs updates. The bed was great! Pretty much double the prices of the colones for USD $.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ashley from new hampshire

Beautiful resort, not much beach

Posted Jun 15, 2014
First of all, the staff was amazing! They made your day a great experience every day! Very fun and extremely friendly! The food was great. Even with the restaurant included in our package, we chose to eat at the Buffett for all meals on the resort. The pool is great. Lots of activities. Coco beach is great for shopping, not for swimming. Visit hermosa beach to swim. We weren't impressed with the beach at the resort. Barter the prices for the excursions. We got them much cheaper than what was listed. Overall, we reccomend staying, if you're not looking for beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Adult Only Hotel on the Beach

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The staff were fabulous! The location was great. Only 30 minutes from the Liberia airport. Beautiful scenery.
Cons: The hotel needs some work. Leaking showers. Air conditioners shut off once you leave the room. So, you return to a warm room.
Location: Volcano tours, Rain forest canopy tour (Zipline), Horse riding in the rainforest, Waterfalls, Jet skiing, Kayaking, Snorkeling, Tennis, Archery, etc.
Had a fabulous time. While the quality of the hotel facilities left some to be desired, the staff more than made up for it. The variety of restaurants was great. Food in the buffet was average, but the quality of the food at the specialty restaurants (Oriental, Italian and Tex Mex) was excellent. Beautiful beachfront with lots to do (kayaking, snorkeling, jet skiing, sunset cruise, fishing, etc.). If you took a fishing tour, the fish you catch (Mahi Mahi) can be frozen and shipped back to your home or you can choose to have some or all of your catch cooked for you at the Oriental restaurant. The fresh Mahi Mahi sushi and grilled Mahi Mahi are excellent! When booking excursions, you can book through the hotel (more expensive) or through vendors on the beach. Beware of the vendors by the beach. There are some legit vendors (I recommend JD) in which you can book a great excursion for a great price and others that are out to take your money (Stay away from CoCo Beach "free lunch" sales pitch vendors) and will tell you anything they think you want to hear to get you to book (i.e."Oh, there is only one spot let for the tour. You must book now or you will miss your chance. There will not be any more tours for the week if you don't book now."). Two couples went to CoCo Beach with a vendor that promised a free transport, lunch and discounted jet ski rentals. The trip was a sales pitch for a time share, and when the couple said they were not interested, the vendors left them.