Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Excellent Value Overall - A Few Issues

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Public spaces: pool area, terrace, upstairs bar adjacent to terrace, and 2 specialty restaurants.
Cons: Fix the small issues with rooms. Spruce them up, and replace missing or broken items. Work on your air conditioning system -- rooms should be cooler/
Location: Rincon de la Viaja hiking & gorgeous beaches -- Hermosa is huge. Also, we booked 2 tours through hotel, snorkeling/fishing & adventure combo. Value!!
Overall rating "3" -- 4 stars for the public spaces, and 2 stars for room. A few areas rated almost a 5, such as the special Asian and Italian Restaurants and the upstairs bar adjacent to the terrace. The pool area was lovely and charming; and we did enjoy the terrace and the upstairs buffet. Breakfast was the best, with eggs to order, meats, cheeses, fruits, breads, and even a champagne/mimosa bar. Landscaping and architecture were beautiful. All the service related to food and drinks was excellent overall. We also booked two tours through the offices adjacent to the pool area, which both turned out to be well planned, enjoyable, and good deals. "Issues" -- Room too warm and a bit shabby -- nothing close to the proclaimed four-star rating. The safe was locked when we checked in, and it took over an hour and 2 phone calls to get it opened. Room never reached a temp lower than 79 degrees, though ceiling fan helped. White bedspread had a large brown stain when we checked in, lamps had no finials, lighting was dim, there was no coffee maker. We requested a coffee maker twice, but it was never provided, though they did bring us extra packs of coffee. Also, when we made the reservations, it wasn't made clear that we could only arrange 2 dinners in the restaurants. They were very nice, but we felt like it was a hassle/big deal to get in there.
3 out of 5
by Dana from New Jersey

Honeymoon Getaway!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The staff was very accommodating and nice. We especially loved our waiter at night in the buffet, Michael, and the drink server at the pool, Carlos.
Cons: The AC sensors are completely unnecessary! Nobody wants to lay in the sun all day and go back to a hot room! Also, they need new/better chefs!
Location: We went on an excursion into the rainforest which was very beautiful, knowledgeable, and fun. We also went to Coco Beach which was very beautiful.
As soon as my husband and I arrived at the Occidental Grand Papagayo, our experience was pretty close to awful. We were shuttled to our room (it was literally the LAST room on the resort property), walked in, and instead of noticing the beautiful view (which it was) we noticed how HOT the room was. The bellhop told us there were sensors on the doors and the AC wouldn't kick in until all the doors were shut and there were people in the room. We decided to go to lunch. We called for a shuttle, which took about ten minutes, and went to the buffet. There was a very small selection of food and most of it wasn't very good. My husband's a picky eater so he was left eating bread, cheese, and turkey breast. I'll eat almost anything and I was left with basically the same choices because the quality was just bad. After lunch, we went to the pool. It was beautiful; big and the temperature was absolutely perfect. The little strip of beach that the resort sat on was okay; the water was freezing! After a day in the sun, we went back to the room and it was still HOT! We shut all the doors, as requested by the bellhop, and took cold showers. After about an hour of being in the room it was still hot! We had to call the maintenance staff and since they couldn't fix it they changed out room. The second room was better, closer to the restaurants/pool area, but the AC still didn't work. After talking to a few other guests, we found out we weren't the only ones with this problem.
2 out of 5
by Kari from New York

disappointing, terrible food

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: - wildlife: lots of birds, howler monkey family passed through for 2 days of our 10 day stay - pool staff gets people moving
Cons: - The food is terrible - they don't even have butter for brad. They have a margarine substitute which is grainy in texture.
Location: the nearest town is 20 minutes away taxi to everything Rainforest is 4 hrs away
- they had a BBQ one night which closed all restaurants except for snack bar for dinner. Long wait- we waited over an hour for dinner. By the time we were seated, staff members were also eating and there was no good left ! There is no other restaurants around the occidental so we went hungry that night - bar near beach was closed. The closest bar to the beach is a 10 minute walk up hill. There is no bar service at all on the beach - restaurants were closed bc April was not peak season - though they only have three restaurants at the Occidental- 1-2 were closed every night. The tex mex was not open at all during our stay - the italian restaurant is subpar. Chicken parm has no red sauce and no cheese and was basically a fried piece of tough chicken with a white sauce topping. - food is sub par. Eating is a chore here, because the food is pretty bad. We don't eat great quantities of food but we enjoy good quality. You will not find that here. - the staff can be very inflexible- asked to get a banana 10 minutes before breakfast officially opened (bc our tour was leaving) and were told no. - few to no staff which walked around the pool area to take drink orders. On average, ~ 1 person asked what I would like to drink daily around the pool. The walk to the pool bar is short but you will be told to leave if you do not have a shirt on (males). -long walk to the beach and pool from hotel room. ~15-20 minute walk up & down steep hills
2 out of 5
by Tim from Wisconsin

Recent stay only 2 nights 3/31/14 to 4/1/14

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Animals on site
Cons: House keeping A/C in room Scheduling diner poor. Treat your guest like the ought to be treated and they will come back. ( golden rule) .
Location: Kayaking
The hotel is pushing their time shares we were told to attend a special breakfast and then turned into a 2 hour time share sales pich. We spent $250.00 in spa which was great experience, finished up at 3:00 pm walked to the area to book diner and was told that they were full. Then to late at 3:10 to book diner even when the hotel was at 30 percent capacity. 2 people were eating at the time we wanted! Nice The room had no A/C there idea was to turn the ceiling fan on high. And finally they would not let our transportation in to the complex without arguing. We are currently staying at the Weston it is like staying at Disney . Would highly recommend staying at the Weston you will have a much better experience. Tim
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adam from Bangor, PA

Great Honeymoon Experience

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Staff, drinks, beach, pool, room/view
Cons: AC in the room was not very good, buffet restaurant could be a little better for dinner, WiFi connection weak
Location: We booked a tour to Volcan Arenal which was very cool. On the way back we stopped at Tabacon Hot Springs which was truly amazing.
We went to this hotel for our honeymoon and it was wonderful. The staff really makes you feel like royalty. Everyone is very friendly and everyone on the staff speaks English well. The buffet restaurant was good on most days, but the first night it was not that great. The Italian restaurant was also just OK. The Oriental was excellent. The snack bar was also great. The beach is very nice and the vendors on the beach (of which there are only a couple) do not bug you. A waitor will serve you drinks on the beach. The pool is also very nice in case the ocean is not your thing, also drink service at the pool. The property is kept very clean, including the pool. There is a lot of wildlife around. We saw many birds and 2 very large iguanas. One night there were howler monkeys in the trees right on the hotel property. The best part of the hotel is that it is Adults Only, so no kids running around making noise. We booked the 'Deluxe Romance' package and received a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived, as well as an extra reservation at an a la carte restaurant, breakfast in bed and other little gifts in our room each day like chocolate covered strawberries and fruit. We had an amazing view right out of our balcony facing the ocean. The drinks are very good here, the bartenders poor them nice and strong. The hotel also sets up live entertainment at night. The resort is spread out so you can do a lot of walking or take the free shuttle around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marissa from New York

Satisfied overall, probably wouldn't return though

Posted Mar 29, 2014
The food was consistently decent, though the Italian restaurant was definitely the best cuisine on site. Great drinks, excellent wait staff, wonderful beach atmosphere complete with interesting driftwood, awesome shady spots, beautiful water, as well as unexpected wildlife (monkeys, iguanas, butterflies, exotic birds). Mexican restaurant was horrible. Multiple issues with the room and unsatisfactory responses to said issues (attitude from front desk). Overall I got my money's worth and the resort itself was breathtaking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Naperville, IL.

Adult - All-Inclusive - Resort --- Oceanside

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Excellent Staff - very helpful. Ocean Views were great. Nice pool area.
Cons: Certain buildings / rooms could use renovation.
Location: Oceanside on Playa Buena - between Playa Panama & Playa Del Coco. With a vehicle - plenty to do, see & explore.
Professional & Courteous Staff. Beautiful Grounds. Clean Rooms. Numerous Buildings - most with Ocean Views. Well-presented & fresh Meal Choices. Great Bar Staff. Full Schedule of Activities and/or Excursions - for those who want. Very pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from Red Deer, Alberta Canada

A Quiet Place to Stay, Occidental Grand, Papagayo

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: There are lots of different activities that this resort has; for instance it has archery, pool volleyball, sunset walks, it offers different tours.
Cons: Lots of the buildings are in dire need of repair; for eg., when I arrived in my room, my sliding door to my patio didn't work properly.
Location: The location is close to shopping at Cocoa Beach and to the airport.
I arrived late and was greeted by the hotel staff. I have stayed at this resort 2 years prior and knew that the staff were very nice. I did encounter on problem with my room. When I got to my room I tried to open my patio sliding door and it wouldn't open. As well, the handle to the sliding door broke; the screw that held it on was stripped so once a repairman came in and tightened it up, I thought it was fixed but it wasn't. The next day I told the concierge and they were right on the problem; my sliding door worked and they gave me a new patio chair to sit on. There is a nice pool where you can join in pool volleyball, water polo, water exercises, or just relax in. Other activities include archery, beach volleyball, sunset walk. If you are up to doing tours outside of the resort, these are also available. Since this is my second time staying at this resort, I knew what it offered so I went on 3 tours. The one tour I really enjoyed was a river boat tour in the Palo Verde region of Costa Rica where I saw lots of white faced capuchin monkeys, crockodiles, different birds, etc. The other tours I went on was a coffee / cocoa plantation tour that was quite informative. All the members in our tour got to taste fresh ground cocoa. The highlight of that tour was meeting Juan Valdez himself who is now 77 years old. You all remember those commercials with Juan Valdez. How neat is that? I also did a tour that included horseback riding, a water slide hotsprings and zip lining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Airport, cozy and very comfortable.

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: We did like the fact that it was a smaller resort. You could walk to everything easily, and if not there were always shuttles to transport you.
Cons: The rooms were a bit tired, and for some reason, one night all 3 al a carte restaurants were closed which was strange. Lots of climbing stairs.
Location: Location is good, close to airport, but there is absolutely nothing to do close by.
We enjoyed our stay at the Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort. We were in building 2, which needed updating, but was ok. The staff were very friendly. We were especially impressed with Victor and Patricia, as they seemed to really care about us, and enjoyed their jobs. They did a great job, and we appreciated it very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the Beach

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The Food was our favorite part!
Cons: The rooms were okay, not anything to write home about but they served just fine.
Location: perfectly located! not to far from town and right on the water
Excellent Food! the entire staff is very friendly and accommodating. There are animals EVERYWHERE so if you are really into nature this is the place for you