Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Very nice all inclusive hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Got there in time for New Years eve gala.. Beautiful setup, great food and drinks, and the best fireworks display ever!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Very Disappointed

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Nothing - I would not stay at an Occidental Hotel in any country.
Cons: Better food selections. Who serves cold food especially at a resort. The staff was not that friendly or helpful. I felt they expected tips..
My first vacation in about 5 years and we decided to go to Costa Rica. The hotel was a total disappointment. I thought we had an ocean view room.....well that wasn't the case. We had a room on the first floor which is underground because the hotel is built on a mountain area. There was mold on the wall and when I asked if we could be moved to a higher floor, the staff was not accomodating at all. We went to the pool that day and when we returned to our room the mold spot was painted. There wasn't much of a beach area which was very disappointing. The food was the worse I've had at any resort. It was all inclusive and every day the buffet food was cold. All of it cold, the meats were tough and the variety of food was aweful as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tenby,uk

lovely 2 weeks

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: .The geographical position and wild life,and friendliness off staff.
Cons: as said in my experience
Location: Access to many tours,boat trips
I have no real problems with this hotel.We stayed here 5 years before. The staff could not be faulted.reviews are a person to person thing and expectations vary.On new years eve,one couple we met got agitated over the fact that they could not be put on the same table as another couple they had met.And I thought why not book together.not go on your own to reception.Maybe couple did not want them at their table.Anyway, we like it there.If I do have any little gripes,then it would be that I had to ask a couple of times for the mini bar to be topped upAnd that there could be an improvement in the selection of food.Fish is always a good alternative.But not enough of it, A cold meat selection to go with the excellent salads would be good.There was no bread to go with the snack restaurant at lunch..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom philadelphia

Christmas getaway

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The views were great. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. The scuba guys accommodated our stay and helped my husband get certified in time.
Cons: The language barrier with staff was difficult at times. Not enough wait staff at beach, pool, or deck area.
My husband and I got back last night from Costa Rica. We spent 5 nights and 6 days at the resort for our honeymoon. We were greeted with chamagne and fruit in our room. We also were able to schedule a romantic dinner and breakfast in our room as part of the honeymoon package. Breakfast was great, dinner was just at the Italian restaurant with the table decorated with rose petals. We were able to check in right away but had to wait a bit for the car to drive our bags. The evening was Christmas Eve, although there seemed to be open tables we had to wait to eat at the buffet. All meals were great especially breakfast. My husband spent two days getting his scuba certification, Alex and Rubin were great. I spent my time at the pool and felt totally safe being alone. We went on one trip to a rain forest and waterfall. Great experience, very bumpy drive. The last day we spent on the beach. Night entertainment was great! Along with the games on the porch. Monkeys, birds, lizards and coatis roam the grounds which was awesome to see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Great service! Snack area needs to have more variety and fresh, otherwise is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Westchester, NY

Wonderful hotel and great staff

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Beautiful hotel, excellent food and great staff
Location: Plenty of tours offered and hotel activities- water polo, volleyball, water aerobics, adventure hike and sunset walk
Plenty to do- lots of tours offered, food was excellent!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice views and staff, mediocre everything else

Posted Dec 25, 2014
The views and the majority staff were the only good things about this place. The food was mediocre at best--think bad banquet hall/cafeteria food, not fresh at all. If you have food allergies or preferences, you will be disappointed and left with little or no option. They charge extra if you prefer to not drink questionable draft beer and they have limited liquor options as well. The front desk staff, with the exception of Jason, were rude and did not make us feel welcome. The wait staff was always friendly and the views of the water are amazing though. Overall, we had a great time because we were on our honeymoon and we loved Costa Rica but I would not recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Loved the location and access to everything.

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Had a very nice family Christmas vacation here. Loved the surroundings and staff was excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2014 by Lynda, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again at Occidental Grand Papagayo in the near future. Kind regards and best wishes,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Torrance, CA

Pleasant stay, but avoid timeshare sales pitch.

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: The grounds were nice and there were a lot of activities. The food was very good at all meals and the staff was very friendly.
Cons: Guest who did not sign up for "Vacation Club" presentations should not be approached. It is very off-putting.
Location: Coco Beach is very close with a lot of shops and restaurants. Lots of other fun adventure activities close by as well.
At first everything was going very smoothly as we checked in to the resort. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. But after we were all checked in and ready to be shown to our room, one of the "Vacation Club" staff grabbed us and before we knew it we were scheduled for a time-share pitch the next morning. It is one thing when you know that is what you are getting into because you have booked a stay at a place where that is required to get a good deal, etc. However, we resented the fact that we had no idea that was in store for us and it really put a blemish on our visit. Apart from that, the stay was very pleasant and we would recommend the resort, but also recommend avoiding the "Vacation Club" sales pitch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2014 by Lynda, Hotel Management
Dear Heather, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. You have highlighted some very good points that I`m sure will be useful to our future guests. We are investigating the issue you mentioned regarding the "Vacation Club" staff and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back here with us in the future. Kind regards and best wishes,
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Nice for a first-time adventure

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: The beach, the pool and some of the staff.
Cons: The food. Some days were great and other days it was just horrible tasting.
We arrived and were welcomed with champagne, congratulated on our marriage and promptly shown to our room (129). We did have an encounter with Jeffry(timeshare) but brushed him off quickly. Our view overlooked the pool and had a nice view of the water and we had complimentary fruit and wine with our towel swans. Every night from 9-10 pm, we could hear the music from whatever events were happening in the lobby, but it was never enough to interrupt or annoy us. It was fun to hear all the people yelling or cheering at the pool (which closes around 7). Timeshare Jeffry did try to loop us back in on Monday, but whatever vibe I was throwing after a day of double rum mojitos made him buzz off for the rest of the week. We highly recommend the Oriental restaurant, but stay far away from the Italian option (hubby is still convinced the dessert was a Little Debbie cake). We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and generally liked the dinner buffets. We only ate lunch buffet once(the day before we left) and it just was not good. On Tuesday, Carlos in guest services REALLY came through for us. Hubby lost his glasses during a tubing/rapids tour (DO THAT, it's amazing) and couldn't see. We asked for the nearest eye doctor (it's in Playa Conchal) but he offered to let us go through the lost and found to see if something fit. Miraculously, a pair worked! Overall, we feel that the place was ok for our first foray into Costa Rica. Next time we'll probably stay at another resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2014 by Lynda, Hotel Management
Dear Paige, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience here at Occidental Grand Papagayo. We appreciate the feedback and you have highlighted some good points that I`m sure will be of great use to our future guests. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back here with us again in the future. Kind regards