Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Incredibly friendly helpful staff. Gorgeous location right on the beach. Scuba diving offered through the hotel- great guide- one day just the two of us )plus guide) other days only two other people, very personal safe efficient. Amazing views. Good location close to city (playa del coco) without the crowds of it. Falcon tours offered at hotel to set up transport/guide for other activities in the area. Would definitely recommend and go back!
1 out of 5
by Sue from Toronto

Not impressed...

Posted Mar 2, 2014
This place is NOT a resort. Their website grossly misrepresents their property. Restaurant has poor service and limited menu. Watch out for the aggressive birds which will soar in and grab food off your plate! Breakfast had some hot items but few cold. Front reception closes from 10pm-8am so if you need anything or have any problems outside those hours you are out of luck. Dive shop is not onsite but a ways down the beach. On my first day my bed was half made up (see picture) and bathroom & towels not touched. Walk down to the beach is treacherous and there was only one tattered lounger with no beach service. I saw many enjoying the water but I'm used to white sand and blue water- here apparently the volcanic soil makes for black sand and brown water. Happy to see many locals enjoying beach also, but they brought their dogs which pooped on the beach....they covered it with sand rather than picking it up so this made me walk carefully. Landscaping/grounds maintenance is not a priority here. Stayed in a bungalow but don't think extra cost was worth it. Very old and dated furnishings and bathroom. Main pool is not maintained nor inviting. Rigorous hike up a very steep hill to main building, although you can call reception for a van to pick you up. Isolated with no where to walk, other than the restaurant next door. Likely better if u have a car. Staff friendly enough but not attentive to details. Hotel needs major upgrade. Positive: scenic views from restaurant terrace
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Chicago

Greal Local Flavor

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Ambience of being in a 'local' place and not touristy. Friendliness of everyone on staff. Awesome sunsets!
Cons: See above--golf carts!
Location: Fairly remote--Cocoa Beach about 10 minutes away by taxi ($6) had plenty of restaurants/bars and souvenir shopping. All else--car needed
Ocatel was a great place to stay--if you want to be off the beaten track and away from touristy spots. We loved it! Everyone at the hotel was delightful and eager to help/please us during our stay--especially Veronica! The tour people, Maria and Carlos, (Falcon Co) were also great and fun! The howling monkeys really added to the experience and were fun to watch (even at 5:00 am)! We caught some mahi mahi deep sea fishing and the restaurant staff prepared it for us on 2 nights with no cost. Father Rooster restaurant/bar on the beach was great. My only word of warning is--for those not used to hills--be aware that the hotel is located on a mountainside and there is a lot of climbing involved if you stay in a bungalow. It was great exercise but took some getting use to! We suggested that they should have golf carts available to rent to get around and to go into Cocoa Beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was nice

Posted Feb 22, 2014
this must have been a beautifull resort a few years ago. The restaurant and swim up bar on the beach are no longer open and in general not much maintenance done lately. Beach is great for swimming/snorkelling .Father rooster restaurant on the beach had good food as did the restaurant at the resort.The resort was half empty probably because it's over priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by the kid from boston

Love

Posted Feb 16, 2014
The only regret I have is that i didn't stay longer there. I loved this place. Offered a different experience than the Riu resort that i previously stayed at.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modest at best

Posted Feb 10, 2014
This is clearly a hotel that at one time was much nicer than it is today. Clean but not well maintained. The views are great and the beach is fine, but the rooms and buildings are simply not maintained to a standard that we would personally prefer. If you have low expectations this place will be fine, but don't let the lovely pictures fool you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandi from Texas

Family Holiday Trip

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: The beauty of the soundings, the breakfast buffet and hotel staff. The staff work their tails off and are very dedicated to their job.
Cons: Ice machines need to work, bar at pools need to be open at least in late afternoon. Have an onsite spa.
Location: Beach in walking distance. Taxi into town is around $ 6 one way and takes about 5 min.
This resort has a beautiful view and is away from town so it is serene and restful. The staff is great, they do everything possible to make your stay pleasant. We had three rooms that were clean, although it may take a while to get your room cleaned and fresh towels. The hot tub closest to our room was not working. The pools (3) are great but there are not enough lounge chairs and although there is a bar near no one works it. Ice machines do not work so you have to get ice from the restaurant and at one time they were out and so nothing cold. The rooms do not have refrigerators. Breakfast in the morning was very good and we really enjoyed it. The restaurant itself is fair. I would suggest buying drinks and maybe a small cooler in town and having that in your room. The drinks from the hotel are expensive so cheaper to purchase in town anyway. Room service was left at the front desk to be picked up by the guest and we didn't know that so it sat there with other orders getting cold. There is no onsite spa although a spa service will come to you from town and it is a very good service at a great price. They really need to have a "spa" room that is all set up with everything a full service spa would need and then when someone comes from town it is all set up and ready to use. I don't like portable spa tables and that is what you get at the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lizzie from salmon arm bc, canada

Very nice pools, comfortable rooms but quite walk

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Quiet,(but this is off season) lovely breakfast, good coffee, great views, 3 lovely pools.
Location: Close to Coco beach which is good for shopping and busier. We went for a great sunset cruise with snorkelling.
Good snorkelling at far end of beach. Very warm water, with not to much surf, good for swimming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The views are spectacular. The beds were the best we had on an 8 day trip exploring the Northwestern part of the country ; we stayed at 3 other locations. We were too tired and road weary to go into town for dinner. That was a mistake, except for the views from the restaurant. The staff is very courteous and accommodating. We heard from our rental car guy that if you are friendly, they are friendly. If you are arrogant, they will follow suit. If in the area will definitely go back to this hotel. Great hotel for the price...oh , did I mention the views?
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com