Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Helpful Professional and Fun Staff.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Stayed a week and I'll be back someday to spend a week more.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom M

Horrible hotel.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
This hotel is misrepresented in their pictures online. It is common knowledge to the locals that this hotel is subpar and apparently mismanaged by ownership. Ice machines are nonfunctional relics from the 1970s. Wifi works only in sporadically and not it tooms. The staff has also given up. Don't stay here. Have you seen Revenge of the Nerds 2, the Hotel Coral Essex, this place is just like that. Thermostats don't work, railing falling apart and an odd smell of sewage throughout. I'm sure this place was great in the early 80's. Every pool is dirty with nonfunctional pumps. There are run down areas that were bars at the pools. This is the hotel forgotten in time. The view though, is beautiful and unbelievable. Everyone told me to go to Tamarindo and I wish I had.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Cons: Everything.
To begin with the toilet did not flush in the room,the room had poor lighting,and the shower was gross.It was just in general really bad and way overpriced for the quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great staff!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Great view, friendly staff, tour company in the lobby
Cons: Consistent hot water, more towels in the room (including towels for pool), very windy so the pools got leaves in them quickly
Location: Don't bother renting a car - short taxi ($6 each way) to Playas del Coco, tour company drives you where you need to go.
We stayed at Ocotal Beach Resort for a week and had a great time! The staff at reception and the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. We didn't have hot water and limited tv channels for the first couple of days, but the staff switched our room and we got both. The tour guides at Falcon tours in the lobby are fantastic. Show up there and they will set up everything for you at a reasonable cost. The tours were excellent - we ended up adding on a couple that we didn't plan on because of how wonderful they were. Highly recommend Falcon tours! As other reviewers have mentioned, there is a huge hill to climb to go between the reception/restaurant and the beach. We didn't have our 3 little kids with us (6 years old and younger) but they wouldn't have been able to make the climb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, ca

ok... Less than what we expected for the price.

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Overall, staff were helpful and curtious. Very steep walk to beach if you stay on upper levels...400 and 500 rooms. The beach is ok. The buildings are in a major need of repair and maintenance. Ice machine next to buildings are on but no ice! Accessibility to hotel is not the easiest, 3km away from main town. Breakfast included... The same everyday ... Wasn't too bad ... Views are incredible ! Kids enjoyed the pools and the raccoons... Yeah, there are racoons everywhere and they will come up to you and ask for food... The iguanas and birds will also ask for food. We are a family of four ... 5 yr. old boy and 10 yr. old girl.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice hotel on a hill.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
The room was modest, but clean. Hotel staff was friendly. Great views. I did try the restraint for dinner and the meal was very good. If you head down to the beach, be prepared to walk back up the hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Very comfortable accommodations, I like location

Posted Dec 20, 2014
I love the fact that the bungaloos are clean and spacious, with nature all around. The view of the ocean is magnificent. Friendly staff and they make your time at the hotel to be a good experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just stay somewhere else

Posted Dec 16, 2014
The staff is rude, the food is terrible, they don't wash your towels or coffee mugs in your room. The staff likes to price gouge you. Ask about renting snorkeling gear or going on a trip. You get a different price from everyone. There's nothing to do around this "town" anyway, you'll be forced to eat their pre-frozen food at the restaurant at the hotel. This place has gorgeous views, but it is run down and whoever manages this dump could care less that they are in the hospitality industry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk England

Nice hotel in beautiful setting and friendly staff

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Very clean, staff helpful and polite and I enjoyed the views of the ocean in peace.
Cons: Some more information about the hotel and the immediate area in the rooms so that you know where you are and how to get to what you wanted to do.
Location: The hotel resort is on top of the hill so you can go down to the beach or walk/take a taxi to Playa del Coco for plenty inc shopping, trips,food etc
I enjoyed my stay at Ocotal Beach Resort. My accomodation had all the comforts I expected and beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean which was only a few yards away. In general very quiet and peaceful and only a few minutes walk to the beach. The return trip involved steep stairs but I took it as good exercise. The only criticism was that there were no leaflets or rules and regulations in the accomodation and as I had arrived at night I had to ask other visitors where the reception was. The breakfast was enjoyable with at least three options and the serving staff very polite and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

hotel en Costa Rica con vista increíble

Posted Dec 8, 2014
El hotel tiene una vista preciosa ya que se encuentra en un peñasco , la comida es muy rica y tiene bellas instalaciones , pero el servicio del personal terrible además de que no tienen limpias las albercas y queda bastante alejado de todo es para quedarte en el hotel y no salir .