Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfax Station, VA

The best hotel near Liberia, Costa Rica

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Architecture and layout Beach Restaurants
Cons: The air conditioning is noisy
Location: It is a 25 minute drive from the airport. there are national parks nearby and zip lining activities
We really enjoyed our stay at Hilton. During our trip, we also stayed at JW Marriott and Westin and they both were ok but Hilton was much butter!! It is a very elegant and pleasant resort, with a relaxing atmosphere and direct beach access. The beach was nr 1 for us for two reasons: it is sandy (no rocks) and vendors do not bother you, like for example at Westin. The staff is very professional and friendly, and all restaurants we visited were great and food was delicious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marketing does not meet reality

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Not
Cons: Everything the hotel is dated needs to be renovated - not even close to a four stars as marketed
Services , food and activities need improvement The best thing about the hotel is that it has probably the best scenery than all of the surrounding hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY metro area

Wonderful vacation

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The food at all the restaurants are great with fresh ingredients. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel property is beautiful.
Cons: Not much needs improvement, maybe a little refresh here and there.
Location: The location of this property is somewhat isolated so unless you get a ride somewhere you are basically stuck. It is however "close" to tour locations
My wife and I just returned from a week's stay at the Papagayo and we both loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom san jose

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Friendly hotel.
Cons: Dairy free menú
Location: Papagayo beaches.
We enjoyed a lot. Nice beach, peole can rest and children can play at the Pool with security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom windsor,on

Papagayo All Inclusive

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: The food and service was excellent
Cons: Bathrooms need updating. Onsite theater was closed at the time of our stay.
Stayed here for 5 days following 4 days of touring other areas in Costa Rica
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great relaxed location, access to great excursions

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Dinners were not buffet-style. but all a-la-carte. Food quality was better than many other all-inclusive's. And kid's menu at all of them.
Cons: I think hotel was a bit more geared toward adults, with spa etc. Not many children there. But our kids still had a blast overall.
Location: While location a bit secluded, still access within resonable distance to many great excursions. Plenty of great adventures to choose from!
Hot weather, relaxing hotel. Enjoyed the beach, pool, tennis, kayak, willd life and good restaurants at the resort . Half our time, we spent on excursions: horse back riding, repelling, rock climing, zip lining, river run, hot springs, mud bath, tubing, water slide etc. Plenty of adventure to choose from in Costa Rica. Pura Vida! Very enjoyable experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

The hotel is "tired"....

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Cons: Everything
The facility is in need of a major overhaul in food quality, service and room quality. It appears that the Hilton's have milked this resort dry and have sold it to "Dreams". Add to that the forest fire caused by the locals burning the sugarcane and our subsequent evacuation this WAS NOT a relaxing vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Not a Hilton anymore

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Cons: The adult pool area should have pool service since there is no pool bar. Small drinks makes for lots of in and out of the pool.
We stayed at this resort a few years back and loved it! Upon arrival this time you could see that the up keep of the resort was not what it was when we first stayed. A day into our trip we received a letter stating that the property was no longer going to be a Hilton property and then it all made sense. The drinks were not what they use to be either. Hopefully the new owners will do what needs to be done to make it what we know it can be. Still a better resort then some, but disappointing to think you were going to get Hilton quality and then that not happen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton Alberta Canada

Wonderful stay

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Wonderful vacation ! Food is great and the service was excellent. The pool area really need updating as do most of the common areas. We stayed in a bungalow with a ocean view near the spa area. We loved the room and the peace and quiet The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. BR needs major update . Overall loved our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Had a great time

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Cons: Menu and service at the Peruvian restaurant. Each item on the menu was half in Spanish and half in English so hard to figure out.
Wonderful hotel, friendly staff, lots to do and decent food for all inclusive resort. My son and wife had a great time. My son especially did not want to leave. He made a lots of friends and played various beach and pool games with them. Good kids program and activity. Food was good at most of the restaurants but the Peruvian restaurant had slow service. There are two small hikes within the resort. One of them had great sunset views. Beach was good but don't expect the water to be blue like the Caribbean. We also took two 1/2 day trips with Swiss travel (located in the resort). Both trips were very well organized. Staff was friendly and the hotel shuttle within the grounds was there to pick you up in not time. Overall a great experience. We will stay here again if we come back to Costa Rica.