Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Tx

Amazing condo, wonderful staff & beautiful beach

Posted Feb 21, 2015
We traveled to many other beaches around the area and playa conchal was by far the prettiest. Clear water and snorkeling. The condo part of the hotel was extremely laid back and relaxing: just what we needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

too spread out and difficult to get around

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The size and comfort of the condo, the lush surroundings, pool, and beach.
Cons: The attitude and helpfulness of the Reception staff.
Location: rain forest, ziplining, national park.
The condo we stayed at was beautiful. One bedroom, bath and a half, full kitchen and dining area, and roomy terrace with appropriate furniture. The main problem is that you need to take a shuttle any place you go. Waiting for the shuttle ranged from five minutes to fifty minutes. Very inconsistent. Drivers were superb in helping you on and off the van. Knowledge of English is inconsistent among staff members. Pool and beach are superb. Restaurant run by the resort is less than adequate and the food mediocre at best. Reception area staff were not as friendly and helpful as they could have been. The resort states you have access to the restaurants at the Westin. But each time we tried to make reservations through them they said the restaurants were too busy that week. We went to the Westin ourselves and made reservations dialing 0 on the house phone. Reception staff never offered info like off premise restaurants sending cabs for you, or taking cabs on your own. They were hell bent on your using their restaurant night after night. Menu was the same every night.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Room thermostat broken so either freezing or off.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Enormous property requiring a drive to breakfast and beach. Property includes a Westin Hotel, condos and timeshares. Listing was confusing. We ended up in a one bedroom condo with a water view which was adequate. Condos have a separate check in process with minimal staff, not well informed about options and activities. Reported thermostat problem but no one came to fix it during our four day stay. Stingy with the coffee. Gave us a pod for one morning pot and would give no more, despite our request.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Condo

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: I think Imhave covered this above.
Cons: More shuttles for transporting guests would be much bretter. Also, some of the teenage guests without parents aboard were extremely unruly and rude.
Location: The location was at Reserva Conchal. There was a swimming pool, good lounging area, and of course, the beautiful beach.
The condo was very nice, large, with a beautiful view and well kept grounds. When booking, I thought we were reserving a room. So, the condo was a pleasant surprise. The only drawback were the 50 steps down to the entry which meant 50 steps back up to catch the shuttle for transport to breakfast, lunch, and dinner. For an eighty and seventy eight year old couple, this was a chore. The booking agent should really take into consideration the ages and health of their customers. The staff at check-in were accommodating and explained what to expect in the way of transportation and dining. We were fitted with bracelets and told not to remove them because they were our IDs. Also, we were told to NOT enter the Westin property ever. We soon discovered that this was untrue, but it was disconcerting. We did dine at some of the Westin restaurants and celebrated our 60th wedding anniversary at the Mangar which was an exceptional dining experience. All in all, it was a very enjoyable week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Orleans

Beautiful hotel, beautiful view

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Spacious, beautiful scenery,clean friendly staff
Cons: Security locks on doors
Location: Great location close to beach, on site restaurants.
Enjoyed stay. Very comfortable, wish I could have stayed longer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Heredia belen

Bad check in experience

Posted Nov 10, 2014
The Lady who is attending at this time,has a bad treat and a few information about services of the hotel,I personally recomend the hotel is a beautiful place to stay and rest
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great high class establishment

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Great hotel with beautiful pools and ocean. Food at restaurants in westin was cheap and superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JAMESfrom USA

READ CAREFULLY

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is important to understand this facility has two separate entities on this property. The first is the WESTIN & the second is the condos. Pros Nice condo. We had a one bedroom and one bath with small sitting area in the bedroom and near the kitchen. Those staying at the condos had their own swimming pool. The surrounding scenery was superb but you are very far from the beach. All condos are far and I mean more than a half a mile far. The common beach for those staying in the condo area was ok. It was small but clean. Restaurants were average on the food and above average on the prices, if you can get into the restaurant. Cons You definitely need a car to get around. It is too big to walk and the shuttle service requires waiting and I am not into that. You must have reservations to eat in nearly all restaurants except the bottom tier restaurants you can walk in and wait and then eat. It is WESTIN that has this stupid policy that reservations can be made only from 8- noon each morning. It sucks. You call at 8 and they tell you to call back as they are too busy to deal with you now. You call back twenty minutes later and the reservations are all taken. It is a horrible system. This was the worst part of our trip to Guanacaste. No service what so ever on the beach for food or drinks. Again, who ever is in charge of the restaurant system should be fired. We called four times to make reservations for four wheeling and no one answered the phone. We never went. We ate off property multiple times because we were tired of the reservations scene and the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Donna B

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Donnafrom Gilbert AZ

Definitely a 5 Star Resort

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a 2 BR 2 BA condo for the first 3 nights of our stay in Costa Rica and just loved it there. Clean unit, clean complex. Great condos, very well laid out. Enjoyed the Beach Club food. Free breakfast every day was great The service in the Beach Club was excellent. Only complaints were the beds were horribly hard and one night when we were trying to get a shuttle, they just passed us by not once, but twice. Definitely need a rental car as it's not walking distance to the restaurants or the beach. We did have difficulty finding the resort initially, but we came in at night, in the rain having never been here before so those factors hindered us. Booking through hotels.com saved us a significant amount. We will definitely stay there again.