Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CR

Good times

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Great place right by the beach to surf as much as you want, very friendly employees, good vibes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by LLTOURSfrom NYC

if you like nature, this will be perfect

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
you are just a minute walk from the national park...only draw back not much selection of food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Moirafrom British Columiba

Perfect for sun and surf in a quiet location

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We would come back here. We don't like big crowds and crowded streets. Playa Grande was very quiet and Rip Jack Inn was perfect for our needs. The room was clean, the pools were very nice and it only took just over one hour from Liberia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chelseafrom Florida

LOVE the Rip Jack Inn

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Playa Grande is one of my favorite areas of Costa Rica and the Rip Jack Inn is one of the best places to stay. The food is amazing, the rooms are beautiful and you have two pools, yoga and a minute walk to get to the beach. The staff is amazing as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Not what I was expecting

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: pretty healthy food choices in the restaurant.
Cons: Surfboard rentals, yoga classes even during a retreat, bike rentals, beach chairs and towels, Pave the road in front of the hotel.
Location: huge surf, 30 minutes from Tamarindo not close!
This is a perfect surfer/backpacker resort in the middle of nowhere! Not sure why it has the high rating it does, but maybe because there are very few hotels in Playa Grande or anything else for that matter. I booked this hotel based on all the great reviews, beach, surf, yoga and pictures. The taxi driver didn't even know where it was and you could not see the beach from it. It is surrounded by dirt and trees. A walk to the beach brings you to a deserted beach with HUGE unswimable waves and only for very good surfers! there are no beach chairs/towels available. It is not walking distance to anything, you need a car! The taxi to Tamarindo is 30 mintues and costs about $60! There was a yoga retreat so there were not any yoga classes available and they do not have surf boards or classes either! Again, you need a car to go get surfboards. We were traveling with teenagers who wanted to be around other people, surf and restaurants. The hotel was deserted! We called a taxi and booked a hotel in Tamarindo where there are people, surfboard rentals and an amazing beach. If you are looking for a quite place to get away from everything... then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sarafrom finland

We loved it

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was our first trip to Costa Rica, so didn't know where to go. We were thinking Tamarindo first, but when found this hotel, decided to stay in Playa Grande - and we did the best choice! What we wanted was peace and beautiful nature, and that's what we got. Playa Grande is amazing, so beautiful and quiet, only surfers there. It's a small village with several restaurants, shops and friendly people. We visited Tamarindo only when we needed something like ATM or shopping, and that was enough for us. In RipJack Inn we felt like home, food in the restaurant was so GOOD - we ate there a lot during our holiday and every single time we loved the food. Everyone is friendly. AND almost everyone is from US, too! (We are not) We had deluxe room next to the bigger pool, it was good, not too special but the bed was comfy. We recommend you to book this hotel! One tip if you travel to Playa Grande: rent a bike! It's a cheap way to explore this small village.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mr. Paulfrom Canada

Close enough, far enough!

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved everything about this visit. Exactly the pace I was looking for. Giving this all 5's doesn't mean that this is a 5 star hotel, filled with spa services and all inclusive North American pampering. Everything, from the courteous friendly staff (Nubia, well done!), the room, the on site restaurant, the yoga studio, the pool, the location, and few but wonderful local amenities was ideal. This place is laid back, and easy to wind down, and steps to one of the best surfing beaches I've ever visited; Playa Grande. Please Note, this is NOT like the touristy Tamarindo area, nor was I looking for the all night party vibe. This was close enough to be a launching point to any of the wonderful sites and pleasures the area has to offer, while offering a laid back relaxing place to rest and restore. Typical day here involves long walks on pristine unpopulated beaches, surfing, yoga, lovely breakfasts, and daytime trips to sight see the areas (Flamingo, Conchal, Potrero, Negra, Avenellas, and yes, if you want, Tamarindo too). Sunsets were breathtaking.. June is supposedly "rainy season".. yes it was more humid, but every day was mostly sunny, clear, clouding over a bit in the afternoon, scattered brief showers (of which I only saw twice, and it barely spit), and lovely evenings. Under these conditions, if you do anything physical, you will sweat, but there's plenty of opportunities to cool off. It's a lovely time of year there, as things green up nicely. I'll be back!