Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CR

Good times

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Great place right by the beach to surf as much as you want, very friendly employees, good vibes
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not what I was expecting

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: pretty healthy food choices in the restaurant.
Cons: Surfboard rentals, yoga classes even during a retreat, bike rentals, beach chairs and towels, Pave the road in front of the hotel.
Location: huge surf, 30 minutes from Tamarindo not close!
This is a perfect surfer/backpacker resort in the middle of nowhere! Not sure why it has the high rating it does, but maybe because there are very few hotels in Playa Grande or anything else for that matter. I booked this hotel based on all the great reviews, beach, surf, yoga and pictures. The taxi driver didn't even know where it was and you could not see the beach from it. It is surrounded by dirt and trees. A walk to the beach brings you to a deserted beach with HUGE unswimable waves and only for very good surfers! there are no beach chairs/towels available. It is not walking distance to anything, you need a car! The taxi to Tamarindo is 30 mintues and costs about $60! There was a yoga retreat so there were not any yoga classes available and they do not have surf boards or classes either! Again, you need a car to go get surfboards. We were traveling with teenagers who wanted to be around other people, surf and restaurants. The hotel was deserted! We called a taxi and booked a hotel in Tamarindo where there are people, surfboard rentals and an amazing beach. If you are looking for a quite place to get away from everything... then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mr. Paul from Canada

Close enough, far enough!

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved everything about this visit. Exactly the pace I was looking for. Giving this all 5's doesn't mean that this is a 5 star hotel, filled with spa services and all inclusive North American pampering. Everything, from the courteous friendly staff (Nubia, well done!), the room, the on site restaurant, the yoga studio, the pool, the location, and few but wonderful local amenities was ideal. This place is laid back, and easy to wind down, and steps to one of the best surfing beaches I've ever visited; Playa Grande. Please Note, this is NOT like the touristy Tamarindo area, nor was I looking for the all night party vibe. This was close enough to be a launching point to any of the wonderful sites and pleasures the area has to offer, while offering a laid back relaxing place to rest and restore. Typical day here involves long walks on pristine unpopulated beaches, surfing, yoga, lovely breakfasts, and daytime trips to sight see the areas (Flamingo, Conchal, Potrero, Negra, Avenellas, and yes, if you want, Tamarindo too). Sunsets were breathtaking.. June is supposedly "rainy season".. yes it was more humid, but every day was mostly sunny, clear, clouding over a bit in the afternoon, scattered brief showers (of which I only saw twice, and it barely spit), and lovely evenings. Under these conditions, if you do anything physical, you will sweat, but there's plenty of opportunities to cool off. It's a lovely time of year there, as things green up nicely. I'll be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by cindybert from Austin, Tx

Great beach hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a perfect hotel for a beach vacation. It's within a 2 min walk of the beach, and near several places to eat if you don't want to eat at the hotel restaurant, which is a bit pricey. Initially, the shower was unusable because the shower head was clogged or otherwise messed up, but the staff allowed us to swap it out with another one rather than switch rooms (we were already settled in and didn't want to move). The only real complaint is that the a/c unit had a leak/drip problem that we didn't notice until our son discovered his stuff was all wet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MATT K

Decent & Cheap option on Playa Grande

Posted May 25, 2014
A very decent and good budget option in Playa Grande! Food is expensive with a limited Menu! But there are some good options close by. Good Location and Staff!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice, close to the beach

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: calm area
Cons: nothing
Location: 30 minutes by walk to dancing
had very good sleep, good food, calm area, only a problem- in the middle of nowhere-4.5 hours from airport. but beach is excelent, people are friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Posey from RI

Really friendly staff and immaculately clean.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Location: Great location - close to beach and easy walk to the nearby restaurants and surf shop.
We used the RipJack for some overflow Easter guests, and they raved about how nice it was. The staff was incredibly friendly (and accommodating) and the place is so nice! I thought it would be a little lower-key but the place was spotless and spacious and, while not fancy, much nicer than expected. We would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mascha from Berlin

Right at Playa Grande

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Directly located at Playa Grande, excellent cuisine, rooms clean, staff helpful and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable room
Cons: Ants encountered
Location: Terrific restaurant, yoga next to the bungalow was incredible
Close to beach, great food, wonderful yoga. We enjoyed the food and found the location very relaxing