Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from canada

Amazing restaurant. great spot for surfing

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Nice staff, clean rooms and facilites. The restaurant is amazing; great prices and quality. Lots of choices. Breakfast and Lunch; 8 to 13 dollars a nice big plate. A bit more expensive at night from 11 to 23$ us. happy hours from 4 to 6; 2 drinks for 6$ or 2 beers for 4$. Try the place next door for cheaper beer. - frijos locos surf shop is 5 min away; 30$ a 90 min to 2 hours lesson for beginners if not its 5$ to rent a surfboard the first hour and then 2$/hour. great store for bikinis, flip flops etc but a bit expensive . A must stay. avoid Tamarindo and go there at PLaya Grande. Its more relaxing and fun.. You can tan, surf, eat well, enjoy the pool and yoga.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

fantastic beach access; gourmet quality restaurant

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: access to the beach couldn't be better; smaller more personal size of resort
Cons: provide drinking glasses in the room; coffee replenishment for the coffee maker should be daily not just on the first day; more pool lounging chairs
Location: fantastic access to the beach
accommodated us to a better situated available room after we asked since we were not pleased with the location of the first room we were given. The restaurant staff was very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place with great staff

Posted Apr 5, 2014
We stayed two nights at Rip Jack. The women working at the front desk were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. For the price, this hotel is awesome. The yoga studio is beautiful. Very close to the beach.
5 out of 5
by Jim from Boston

RipJack was a great surprise!

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: It was just a great little place to stay with attractive little lodges and hammocks and 2 pools.
Cons: Some rooms do not have TV, including ours, which we actually appreciated. What is a vacation if you watch TV?
Location: Great beach steps away, lots of surfers and non-surfers
We booked it for location only, but turns out it was a neat little place to stay. Nice staff, great food, and just a very peaceful place to spend a few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sond from L

Great honeymoon

Posted Mar 22, 2014
My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We found rip jack inn to have all the basic comforts we wanted, good AC and clenliness. The rooms were clean and sufficient, the staff was incredible and they made us feel at home everyday. They were very attentive. Friendly and helpful. The reataurant has a wonderful menu and the food quality, plating and taste are excellent. And the staff there was excellent as well. This is as remote a country as you can get and still have all the basics... See ya soon rip jack.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rafe from Vancouver, WA

Quaint little place

Posted Mar 20, 2014
I had read a lot of reviews on the Ripjack before choosing it as an add on of two nights after staying at the Westin for six nights. I chose it because of how close it is to the beach and how people raved about the restaurant there. The restaurant didn't live up to the hype... The room was nice but did have some issues. The bathroom door wouldn't open all the way because the door didn't fit right and the view from the bathroom window from our deluxe pool room was of a lot full of junk... Blah. And they seemed to be doing some kind of construction on the roof, there was rebar sticking out of the room and black mesh around that, at night when the wind was blowing it made some annoying noise. Pros- quaint little place that's close to a great beach. Cons- restaurant staff slow and food is average. And the restaurant doesn't open till 8 am and closes at 9 pm. We went on a evening turtle expedition at 6 pm and got back at 9:30, the restaurant was closed and no other place close to eat at the was still open so we had to resort to eating a bag of M&M's for dinner, makes for a funny story but would be nice if the restaurant was open till 10 pm on a Friday night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M. from Costa Rica

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Delicious restaurant. Good service. Clean. Nice pool area.
Cons: This place really needs new curtains!!!
Location: Close to Tamarindo, Reserva Nacional Las Baulas.
I loved that the beach is just a short walk away! Restaurant is delicious but expensive. My first impression was not very good, the fridge was leaking and the AC didn't work, turns out the fridge was leaking cause it had been unplugged and the AC control had old batteries. The room was smaller than it looks in the pictures but was clean. The cable TV signal was poor and shower pressure was really low (I couldn't even wash my hair properly). For all this I payed a very reasonable price so I really can't complain. The deluxe rooms looked very nice (at least from the outside), they're in a new part of the building and I think next time I'll pay the extra dollars and stay there instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B and B from Minnesota

Good location, great food

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Location, restaurant, nearby restaurants.
Cons: Housekeeping was a tiny bit uneven (had to ask for toilet paper) ( We had just come from a flawlessly clean hotel in a different location.)
Location: It is an easy drive to Playa Conchal which is a great beach. Tamarindo is also nearby; very touristy but also has grocery stores, etc.
We stayed at Rip Jack three nights in March 2014 in one of the suites. We ate at the restaurant twice and had take out once. Rip Jack is in a great location with very easy access to the beach. The rstaurant is excellent, but best of all there is a good selection of other good food right next door. We loved being able to walk out the door of our suite right to a swimming pool. And the beach, with fabulous sunsets is just 2 minutes away. You can easily walk to the Tamarindo estuary. We encountered one minor maintenance issue (a door lock) but staff addressed it promptly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rip Jack

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Quiet, beautiful beach with great sunsets; enjoyed watching surfers. The restaurant, pool, and bar were really great. Rooms very spacious. Unique.
Cons: More specifics on getting to Tamarindo nearby. Have to backtrack to main road then journey south, despite seemingly being so close.
Location: Tamarindo a lot of fun; easy to do surf lesson off beach. Liked the Tamarindo Diria beachfront restaurant
Waves fabulous. Nice path to beach. Interestingly near a marine reserve for turtles. Delicious food at restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marina from San Jose, CR

Nice hotel close to the beach, great atmosphere

Posted Feb 18, 2014
I loved the feel of this hotel and had an overall very nice experience. The staff was extremely nice and accomodating, we got there lat and kept the kitchen open a while longer to serve us dinner. We arerally appreciated that! the grounds are really nice, food was excellent, as well as the 2 pools. We stayed at a standard room for one night. It was nice but the bed was uncomfortable. We then stayed at a larger deluxe room for another night and the bed was excellent. Breakfast was very good although it adds another $30 to the daily rate. It is a 2 min walk to the beach, our kids loved it. We would stay there again.