Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not what I was expecting

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: pretty healthy food choices in the restaurant.
Cons: Surfboard rentals, yoga classes even during a retreat, bike rentals, beach chairs and towels, Pave the road in front of the hotel.
Location: huge surf, 30 minutes from Tamarindo not close!
This is a perfect surfer/backpacker resort in the middle of nowhere! Not sure why it has the high rating it does, but maybe because there are very few hotels in Playa Grande or anything else for that matter. I booked this hotel based on all the great reviews, beach, surf, yoga and pictures. The taxi driver didn't even know where it was and you could not see the beach from it. It is surrounded by dirt and trees. A walk to the beach brings you to a deserted beach with HUGE unswimable waves and only for very good surfers! there are no beach chairs/towels available. It is not walking distance to anything, you need a car! The taxi to Tamarindo is 30 mintues and costs about $60! There was a yoga retreat so there were not any yoga classes available and they do not have surf boards or classes either! Again, you need a car to go get surfboards. We were traveling with teenagers who wanted to be around other people, surf and restaurants. The hotel was deserted! We called a taxi and booked a hotel in Tamarindo where there are people, surfboard rentals and an amazing beach. If you are looking for a quite place to get away from everything... then this is the place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MATT K

Decent & Cheap option on Playa Grande

Posted May 25, 2014
A very decent and good budget option in Playa Grande! Food is expensive with a limited Menu! But there are some good options close by. Good Location and Staff!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice, close to the beach

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: calm area
Cons: nothing
Location: 30 minutes by walk to dancing
had very good sleep, good food, calm area, only a problem- in the middle of nowhere-4.5 hours from airport. but beach is excelent, people are friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Posey from RI

Really friendly staff and immaculately clean.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Location: Great location - close to beach and easy walk to the nearby restaurants and surf shop.
We used the RipJack for some overflow Easter guests, and they raved about how nice it was. The staff was incredibly friendly (and accommodating) and the place is so nice! I thought it would be a little lower-key but the place was spotless and spacious and, while not fancy, much nicer than expected. We would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mascha from Berlin

Right at Playa Grande

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Directly located at Playa Grande, excellent cuisine, rooms clean, staff helpful and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable room
Cons: Ants encountered
Location: Terrific restaurant, yoga next to the bungalow was incredible
Close to beach, great food, wonderful yoga. We enjoyed the food and found the location very relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from canada

Amazing restaurant. great spot for surfing

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Nice staff, clean rooms and facilites. The restaurant is amazing; great prices and quality. Lots of choices. Breakfast and Lunch; 8 to 13 dollars a nice big plate. A bit more expensive at night from 11 to 23$ us. happy hours from 4 to 6; 2 drinks for 6$ or 2 beers for 4$. Try the place next door for cheaper beer. - frijos locos surf shop is 5 min away; 30$ a 90 min to 2 hours lesson for beginners if not its 5$ to rent a surfboard the first hour and then 2$/hour. great store for bikinis, flip flops etc but a bit expensive . A must stay. avoid Tamarindo and go there at PLaya Grande. Its more relaxing and fun.. You can tan, surf, eat well, enjoy the pool and yoga.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

fantastic beach access; gourmet quality restaurant

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: access to the beach couldn't be better; smaller more personal size of resort
Cons: provide drinking glasses in the room; coffee replenishment for the coffee maker should be daily not just on the first day; more pool lounging chairs
Location: fantastic access to the beach
accommodated us to a better situated available room after we asked since we were not pleased with the location of the first room we were given. The restaurant staff was very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place with great staff

Posted Apr 5, 2014
We stayed two nights at Rip Jack. The women working at the front desk were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. For the price, this hotel is awesome. The yoga studio is beautiful. Very close to the beach.
5 out of 5
by Jim from Boston

RipJack was a great surprise!

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: It was just a great little place to stay with attractive little lodges and hammocks and 2 pools.
Cons: Some rooms do not have TV, including ours, which we actually appreciated. What is a vacation if you watch TV?
Location: Great beach steps away, lots of surfers and non-surfers
We booked it for location only, but turns out it was a neat little place to stay. Nice staff, great food, and just a very peaceful place to spend a few days.