Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Great value for money!

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Beautiful buildings and grounds that are well kept with enough shade at all the pools as well as on the beach.
Cons: In my opinion a 4 or 5 star should have robes in their rooms. The pillows were not very good. The towels were hard and seemed a bit threadbare
Location: We only went to Coco Beach once but didn't spend much time there. We also did an excursion to Blue River which was beautiful and fun.
We had a great time at Riu Guanancaste. The hotel and grounds are spectacular, the amenities great and the staff friendly in general. The food was good overall except (ironically) at the gourmet restaurant Tucan. The food look very pretty but just about everything was very bland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom from PR

Best Honeymoon week ever

Posted Dec 23, 2014
It was beautiful week. They gave us an upgrade in our room because it was our honeymoon. That was a nice surprise!! Food was very good, restaurants are excelents. Pool awsome!! Beach is beautiful, but kind of dangerous. Waves were high. What they really need is, to and from airport, transportation. Taxis are kind of expensive from airport to hotel. Maybe a shuttle bus will be all they need. We'll like to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Spectacular

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: everything..
Cons: updating everything each day... so that every one that visits could feel just like we did...
Location: well there is nothing near only the souvenir shops, but otherwise, just take the transportation they offer and it takes you around
Wonderful... every body so helpful, their kindness is something else... would visit again...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hartford, CT, USA

Great value and good quality for an all-inclusive.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Include wifi and local calls as part of the all-inclusive. People might not like the beach vendors walking up to them while they are trying to relax.
Location: Not a lot close by that we found, although there was a great zip-lining place about 10 minutes away. We had a great time with that, highly recommend.
We enjoyed our stay quite a bit. The food and drink selection was fresh and plentiful with good variety and good quality compared to other all-inclusives I've been to. The room itself was nice and faced the forest which was good because there wasn't any noise from the pool or the bars. There was nightly entertainment at an open air venue attached to one of the bars that did free dance and musical entertainment. We didn't sit through any of it, but we stopped a couple times as we were coming from dinner/walks to the beach to check it out and it seemed to be pretty good. My only real complaint was that some of the things that I had expected to be included at an all-inclusive were extra: you only get 90 minutes of wifi internet access in the lobby area per day if you don't pay extra. If you pay for it, you can get it in your room. We had to deal with a work situation while we were there, so we ended up paying for a 3 day wifi package which was 39USD. Also, we were charged for local calls to our rental car agency to come fix a flat tire. Most hotels in the US don't charge for wifi or for local calls so I was surprised by that. Also, while they have security people, they don't seem to discourage random people from trying to walk up to you on the beach (which I thought was private) to sell you stuff like clay pots and jewelry. Overall, a great resort and pretty reasonably priced, considering that there are a lot of other comparable hotels that aren't all-inclusive but cost more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

We will be back!!

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Cons: The food wasn't so great. We only liked the steakhouse. The entertainment could use some work.
Location: Location is great!! Lots of things to do and go!!
My fiance and i had a GREAT time!! The beach is beautiful! The sand is VERY hot.. the water is perfect once you get passed the rocks. Monkey bar was a great time! The pool was very clean and nice! Hotel grounds were very well maintained. Our room was ok.. bed was hard. The room kind of had a weird smell.. Hotel food was not so good. We only liked the steakhouse. We went on a couple excursions which were phenomenal! Tour guides are very nice and informative! Coco beach was a good time! All the locals are SO nice!! I think the alcohol at the hotel was watered down.. Overall amazing time!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pennsylvania

Wonderful trip to Costa Rica

Posted Dec 17, 2014
We will recomend this hotel to anyone, the staff was very nice and friendly, food was good. The only issue we had with the room was how tall the bathtub was, was very hard getting in and out of. It was very tall. We will return to the Riu again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Everything except the TV channels.
Cons: More beer and wine in the rooms refrigerator.
Location: The location was on a private stretch of beach a short drive from the airport.
The room was very good. The staff was friendly and the food and drinks were good. Only downside was the television stations. All were in spanish except CNN.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted Dec 12, 2014
It is a huge hotel so be ready to walk a lot. Pros: The beach is amazing and the rooms are comfortable. Cons: The staff was really disappointing, almost rude most of the time. Food is not very good and wi fi is free only 90 minutes per day at the lobby (big issue!!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Amazing beach side - no hassle resort

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The staff is amazingly courteous, friendly and accommodating. I will go back only for the treatment that I got from the staff at Riu.
Cons: Keep up the good job.
Location: We hardly ventured outside the resort. There is a lot to do like laze on the beach and play in the pool. You can take the shuttle to the town though.
Loved staying at this hotel. The staff is extremely helpful and goes above and beyond to make you comfortable/ enjoy your stay. I stayed in this resort for 6 days with 2 kids (a baby and a toddler). Memi (one of Riu's guest relationship staff) would play with my kids so that I could have my lunch in peace. She would do this during her afternoon personal time off. The food is awesome, the service is excellent and the beach is fabulous. There is black sand on the beach not the white sand that you find in Hawaii but you can go to some other beach if you want to visit it during the day. The pool games conducted by the staff were always fun. All in all I am hooked to this resort and would definitely go back next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lima, Peru

Do not go to this hotel!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
This hotel is definetely not a good one. Food was not good. Breakfast is the only decent meal of the day. Staff was unpolite (not all of them, but sufficient to make our stay not comfortable). The phone in my room did not work properly. The room was not clean properly. The same happened with other parts of the hotel. For example: someone left a glass of a mojito drink on a table in front of the elevators in the 5th floor where my room was. It stood there for 2 days before someone pick it up. Another issue is that you only get 90 minutes of free internet per day. In a nutshell: this hotel is not worth what you pay for. I definetely will not return to a Riu hotel ever again.