Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Great Vacation

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: staff and service
Cons: maintenance and manager follow up
Location: Absolutely anything you want... it is there! The greatest variety of activities at any resort we have visited.
One of the best vacations we have experienced in recent years. Incredible staff... polite, helpful and genuine. The only item from keeping all 5 on my review is they could not fix the fan over the bed. Not a complex issue but could not seem to get it done!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice hotel, amenities and staff

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Good food options. Spa was nice. Very accommodating staff.
Cons: Customer service tip noted above.
We enjoyed our stay at the Westin. Unfortunately, there is a drought so the grounds were not as green and lush as we had hoped but a nice property. The pool is great as is the staff. Love the shuttle service. The Kids Club is excellent. Our daughter loved the teachers/care givers and the variety of activities. Something that would be great customer service would be that when guests arrive and are asked if this is their first time to Costa Rice (which the front desk did ask me) that they inform the guest about the departure tax. This would have been great information to have and I know other guests would appreciate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
My wife and I would definitely go back to the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati

Great vacation

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The hotel and staff were wonderful. The food was fantastic. The beach beautiful and the pool huge! I loved all the activities offered and the animals were so cool to see. I only have minor complaints and those would be knit picking and not worth mentioning because nothing is absolutely perfect! I will say one thing. Bring bug spray and plenty of sunscreen. You do not want to buy it there. Trust me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Terrible tour service desk.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The pool area and the staff were fantastic. Everyone that worked there seemed to really enjoy their jobs. Everything was extremely well taken care of.
Cons: Availability of dinner reservations.
Location: Not really that much nearby. Basically you would use this hotel more for relaxation than sightseeing.
The hotel was beautiful. The staff was extremely nice. Pool area in the club section was quiet and very relaxing. The beach is very small but adequate. We had two complaints. If you did not book your dinner reservations the first day you arrived you would be hard pressed to get one. We ended up ordering room service twice. In addition, the hotel uses Swiss Travel to book off site excursions. We had two horrible and I mean horrible experiences with them. We ended up getting a refund for half of one of the trips, but the other one which was extremely expensive we got nothing. We are working towards getting a refund there as well. They really should rethink their association with them. There are many complaints against that company.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Transportation Service within the Resort was great.
Cons: WiFi service expensive and unreliable.
A 4-5 hour drive from San Jose airport...be sure your car rental has GPS! Overall a very nice resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Totally relaxing experience

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Spacious, comfortable rooms, wonderful friendly staff, tropical ambiance, personal attention.
Cons: Expanded wine selection.
Location: Only took one tour to Monte Verde. Beautiful location and extremely competent driver and knowledgeable guide. No animal or bird sightings, however.
The Royal Club Suite was roomy, quiet, and convenient to pool and beach. Service for any request, room service, drinks, etc., was quick and very satisfactory. A dedicated concierge, Errol, took care of any questions or arrangements, including dinner reservations and special requests, as well as welcoming us on arrival, explaining all our options, and escorting us to our accommodations on arrival, and to our departure location. The availability of transportation to any area of the resort was amazing - a shuttle appeared within minutes on request from any location. We enjoyed dining at all of the restaurants. A totally relaxing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Lovely resort

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Lovely property, pools, excellent service and very friendly, helpful staff.
Location: Many excursions available. Depends what you want to spend.We did the trip to Monte Verde cloud/rain forest. Long day, but enjoyed it! Bring a jacket!
We just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Westin Playa Conchal. It's beautifully maintained and the service is outstanding in every respect. The property is huge, but getting around is no problem as there are always shuttles available to take you wherever you want to go..never more than a 5 minute wait. We rented a Royal Club Junior Suite, which was lovely, clean and comfortable..The Royal Club is more expensive, but worth the price as it includes advantages such use of a private pool, lounge and restaurant for breakfast and lunch - also free WiFi anywhere. The pools are large and gorgeous; however,if you're going there for the beach, you'll be disappointed. There are no oceanfront rooms and only one access point to get on the beach. Since all beaches in Costa Rica are public, other than having resort attendants to bring out a lounge chair for you, you're on your own. There is no service on the beach and no cabanas or umbrellas are available. That said, it's a very pretty setting to take a walk or sit and read/relax - just bring your drink with you. A few vendors do come around, but they're not annoying. The Italian restaurant was our favorite - very good! The others are fairly good as all-inclusives go, but not great. Forget the international buffet. Manglar is not among the all-inclusives,but if you're willing to pay a hefty upcharge, it's excellent. Overall, we had a great time...would definitely recommend the Westin to anyone going to Costa Rica
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grossly overpriced, overrated, flawed experience

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: If you are happy to throw money away in a haze of pina coladas and sun, this place is for you. Otherwise, it's scandalously overpriced and overrated.
Cons: See above. For a true all-inclusive experience (at half the cost), go to Mexico. I'm Writing this review only because the hotel has not responded
I am not in the business of writing negatives reviews just for the sake of it, but I feel compelled to in this case. Here is what you get for an exorbitant nightly rate at the Westin Playa Conchal: - No WiFi in any of the restaurants or bars. No WiFi in your room, unless you pay extra for it. - An inefficient concierge service that involves driving you around the resort dropping other guests off at their rooms and waiting for the concierge to explain the room to each guest. - No food or drink service to the pool lounge area, apart from a cart containing three soft drinks, which only passes by if you complain. - A default response of “No” or “Sorry, we can’t” to almost every request you make. This includes requesting something as simple as a sparkling water from room service. - Marauding coati (raccoon-like mammals) preventing you from eating in peace either at the pool or on your porch. - Excuses for everything (Why the food is served on paper plates, why the coati are on your porch, why you can’t have a smoothie, why the cart can’t collect you at the pool, etc. etc.). Solutions for nothing. - A poolside menu that aims as low as it can (burgers, pizzas, hot-dogs). No local cuisine or variety. - A sprawling but actually quite limited food selection at the breakfast buffet. Again, very little local cuisine. - (Not all, but some) restaurant and bar staff who act like moody teenagers when you ask them to do anything that goes slightly beyond their job description.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

A Great Escape

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The restaurant choices and their quality of food was spectacular. The beach and the pool were also marvelous. The wildlife was also a hit!
Cons: The scheduling of dining choices. Some choices were fully booked.
Location: The ocean front location was stunning. We took an ATV tour of the area which was very enlightening. We also took a day trip into Tamarindo.
My wife and I had a very relaxing vacation at the Westin. The people are wonderful, the food is outstanding and the setting is fabulous!