Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015
I would give the Westin 4 out of 5 stars. We didn't have any problem booking restaurants like others mentioned here (we stayed 1/3-1/10). The restaurants were good for All Inclusive with some dishes better than others. The new restaurant Manglar is excellent and well worth the money. The portions were huge, food and service were excellent. Most of the service at the other restaurants were decent as well except for the French restaurant. There is one male server there (won't say his name) that we had a horrible experience with both times we dined there. It was so bad that the second time he forget about us completely and we ended up having to order our dessert with another waitress having waited over thirty minutes for it. The pool is crowded and we woke up everyday early to reserve our chairs and never had a problem. We were surprised at how many families with young children stayed here and if we stayed here again we would definitely stay at the Beach Club for a more adult vacation. We used the tour company through the hotel for our excursions and they were great and their prices were the same as the guy that hung outside at the beach. Overall, this resort was nice with good food for all inclusive. The beach was nice and pool was beautiful. There were a few problems with the room but they came and fixed it each time we called.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Location and fantastic pool....service, not so muc

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The pool is fabulous...big and clean. We didn't have any trouble finding chairs, and loved the swim up bar!
Cons: Service, service, service....and the reservation system
Location: Beautiful beach, we booked activities with Eric Garcia outside the hotel. Be sure to zip line, jet ski and take a 4-wheeler ride
Our first all-inclusive...and I wouldn't do it again. The service was super inconsistent. Getting an order correct from any of the restaurants or room service was a crap shoot. Only about a 1/3 of the employees we interacted with seemed to genuinely care for our comfort and satisfaction...the others clearly did not care, and in some cases were just down right rude. A cattle drive mentality for sure. Upon arrival, I called the concierge to set reservations for dinner each night. I did after seeing on tripadvisor that reservations could be difficult. Well, I was told when I called that there were NO reservations to be had. At any of the 6 restaurants. For any of the next 5 nights of our stay. What!?!? After becoming pretty forceful, they magically came up with spits for us each night, though they were at an early 6pm....I didn't care. But to have to beg for them? The system obviously needs work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Superb hotel and staff.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
I want to thank all of the Westin staff for exceeding all of our expectations for a memorable Costan Rican wedding. From the time we arrived at the resort we were greeted with friendly smiles and staff that was very professional. Our concierge John at the royal beach club was unbelievable. He brought my wife specialty smoothies in the morning, found her sunglasses and was very attentive to all our needs for our entire stay. I also want to thank Yoel and Heidi for doing an awesome job organization our wedding. Every detail from the beach ceremony to the reception and dinner was perfect. The captain at the dinner and wait staff were excellent. Errol at the front lobby was very helpful and professional. He helped me contact my brother who lives outside of the hotel and always made sure we had transportation. Our room was always very clean and the food was at the Westin was superb along with all the servers and cooks. We had the best experience of our lives. Thank you to everyone at the Westin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Beautiful surrounding hotel with best service

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Basic quality level is higher than others. Breakfast , beach , golf, pool etc.
Cons: For first comer , the entrance gate could show the name "The Westin" .
We stayed three days and all most everything , foods ,restaurant ,services and playa, was excellent ! All staffs were very kind .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Nice place, but we expected more from a Westin

Posted Dec 1, 2014
The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds are very nice, it is a big place but the shuttles were always around if you didn't want to walk. Two adults and two boys (11yrs and 13yrs) stayed 3 nights. The beach is excellent, the pools nice. Plenty of activities for everyone. We snorkeled (at the far end of the beach is a small reef no need to rent a boat!) and used the boogie boards. Rented a jet ski and saw some giant sea turtles in the ocean ( 30 minutes is a long time when you are pounding across the waves in the ocean, so think twice about a longer rental unless you have a bigger group). Get to the beach early if you want chairs or an umbrella (not much shade and it gets warm!). The property is an hour drive from Liberia Airport which is farther than I thought so keep that in mind for travel time when booking tours. We have been to Costa Rica before and always use Avispas Adventures for our tours, so check their website for very personal tours. I thought this property would be nicer being a Westin and for the price they are asking. We had issues with the A/C keeping the room cool, even at night. Broken ceiling fan and clock radio. We had to wait for towels, which you have to sign for and can only get at the pool. Ridiculous! If you are a higher end beach resort you need to have enough towels. Overall nice place but bad A/C and no towels is really not acceptable for a place like this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Traverse City, MI

Worth the trip

Posted Nov 29, 2014
The staff at the Westin Playa Choncal could not have been nicer! We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the resort. Next time we will know to fly into Liberia rathere than San Jose...that was a LONG drive. We all want to make a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, N.Y.

Heaven

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Everything is perfect, all staff are cater to our need and fulfilled every single request we have. The only flaw is that the AC is not sufficient in all the restaurant during dinner time, too hot to anyone's comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing resort on the beach

Posted Nov 16, 2014
This was the 2nd all-inclusive resort my wife and I have visited. The Westin is by far a much better resort than our last one. The hotel staff, from the receptionist at the lobby to the servers at each restaurant, were extremely friendly. The one thing my wife and I were very impressed with was the quality of the food. We anticipated the food to be decent considering we were staying at a resort where you can eat all you want. Each restaurant surpassed our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jamesfrom USA

Nice

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was the second stay for me at Conchal. The first time at the condos and it was not as nice or convenient as staying at the westin. We liked the stay at the westin much more. However, the limited restaurants and process has much room for improvement. The workers were nice and helpful. The wait for drinks was long at times. Over all nice place and I would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom E,g - New York

Its the best of the best. Excellent

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: ALL
Location: Swim, and faclities for play in the water.