Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from E,g - New York

Its the best of the best. Excellent

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: ALL
Location: Swim, and faclities for play in the water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Wonderful Family Vacation!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The service and the people were amazing - the people made the difference! It was fantastic to see howler monkeys and coatis right out front!
Cons: The reservations for the restaurants and the towel system were frustrating and should be improved!
A great place to relax and unwind - the beach and the pool area are fantastic! The location is great - you don't have to travel too far for some great excursions. We used Eric Garcia for our tours and he and his team were wonderful. We were well looked after and had a blast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very nice!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms were large and clean, excellent customer service and the hotel offers a lot of fun activities for kids and adults.
Cons: There is only one pool and although it is huge, it was almost always too crowded. You can't see the ocean/beach from the property
We have stayed a various Westin hotels and this one did not disappoint. It is a very large resort with a great number of activities to keep you entertained, you don't need to go out of the property if you don't want to. You have everything inside the hotel. The food and beverages are delicious and the service was great! The gardens are very pretty so you're almost ok with the fact that you have to get out of the hotel to go to the beach. I scheduled a massage at the SPA and it was one of the best I've ever had, the SPA is beautiful too. My family loved the fitness activities and the kids club!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Family vacation

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Our family came in a group of 21 people and 3 additional friends for a total of 24 guests. We were all very happy with how the staff were always happy to serve our needs from the house keeping maids, the waiters, and the shuttle drivers. We know it's not easy to make sure that everybody is happy, and the hotel staff did an excellent job to accommodate us ALL! !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Awesome experience!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The resort experience was beyond my expectation. The facilities and ground are beautiful. The a la carte restaurants are delicious. The disco needs better club lighting though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with few minor issues

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The staff, food and wildlife
Cons: Quality of beers/cocktails at bar, and do something about the restaurant seats.
In general we loved this hotel. The staff were great, especially our concierge, as was the food (which was way above par for an all inclusive). The bar was limited in terms of drink options, and cocktails seemed to be on the weak side. The room was great, clean, but a little cramped for a family of four. It was great seeing the iguanas around the pool, the howler monkeys swinging by your room and the ever present coati (even if they did steal your food around the pool). I would of been nice to have a seat cushion in a restaurant that was clean and/or the fabric wasn't worn out. Seriously, when paying that sort of money, I would have liked the waiter to brush off the last persons crumbs and not see the foam padding of the seat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

I would go again

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: We liked the wildlife experience with the iguanas and monkeys right outside our room. The staff was very courteous. We loved our meals.Music at pool!
Cons: The shuttle service should be more consistent.
Location: We did a hiking tour of Rincon de La Vieja. We loved it! Flamingo beach is about 10 minutes which is really nice.
We had a great time! We loved the pool and that it was not too crowded; however, hard to find lounge chairs that were not already taken. The beach is nice, but we live in Cali very close to the beach. The concierge booked a different restaurant each night so we tried them all. We loved the Italian place the most. It was my son's birthday-the staff came out and sang with a cake and candle. The food was great. If there was something my 2 sons didn't like, they could always order pasta from the children's menu-which is the same at each restaurant. Ordering room service was great-especially when my teenage son wanted a cheeseburger at midnight. The breakfast from the menu to dine in is great as well. We did not like the buffet. Tasted like a cheap cafeteria. We ordered drinks from the buffet twice and never got them. Better to just go directly to the bar-even for soda or juice. We played ping pong and went to the tennis courts to play tennis. Nice that there's cold water at the courts. The shuttle was disappointing. Sometimes it was a 5 minute wait, sometimes 20 minutes. We scheduled a pickup to check out as we were leaving for the airport and the driver was 15 minutes late. The housekeeping varied. The first couple days we left the room early and stayed gone until late afternoon only to return to an uncleaned room. By day 3, we called to have it cleaned when we left. One day they did not clean the shower after we had all been to the beach, so that left the tub dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wa

Too pricey for nothing

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Too crowded, over priced, and alcohol drinks taste like smoothie. Our room had mold, broken shower door handle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great resort!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Staff was GREAT
Cons: A/C units need to be upgraded and they should put real refrigerators in your rooms.
Location: We booked our adventures through Tomato Adventures - - he was GREAT!!! Went zip lining, white water rafting, to the volcano and rode ATV's.
Overall, our experience was excellent. The staff is great - - very accommodating and friendly. The food was very good at most of the restaurants, we didn't have any issues getting reservations (we were able to eat at all 6 a la cart restaurants). Loved the fact that everything is resort casual ... you didn't have to worry about getting dressed up for dinner (great when you have kids). The only 2 downsides (related to room comfort): (1) the 'mini bar' is just that - it's not a refrigerator as such, none of the drinks stay cold nor got cold (2) the A/C was set to go down to 65 degrees, but never got lower than 74 and we're not sure it was even that cold. Some nights the room was way too warm. We are lucky our villa was shaded by many trees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Amazing quality of food.. Great service

Posted Jul 8, 2014
It was our first time in Costa Roca.. A travel agency refered us this spectacular hotel.. Since theomebt we arrived we had a great service.. Everyone that we got in contact with was very nice, pleasant and helpful..very impressed with the quality of food and restaurants.. Excellent costumer service!! Can't wait to go back!!