Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Superb hotel and staff.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
I want to thank all of the Westin staff for exceeding all of our expectations for a memorable Costan Rican wedding. From the time we arrived at the resort we were greeted with friendly smiles and staff that was very professional. Our concierge John at the royal beach club was unbelievable. He brought my wife specialty smoothies in the morning, found her sunglasses and was very attentive to all our needs for our entire stay. I also want to thank Yoel and Heidi for doing an awesome job organization our wedding. Every detail from the beach ceremony to the reception and dinner was perfect. The captain at the dinner and wait staff were excellent. Errol at the front lobby was very helpful and professional. He helped me contact my brother who lives outside of the hotel and always made sure we had transportation. Our room was always very clean and the food was at the Westin was superb along with all the servers and cooks. We had the best experience of our lives. Thank you to everyone at the Westin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Beautiful surrounding hotel with best service

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Basic quality level is higher than others. Breakfast , beach , golf, pool etc.
Cons: For first comer , the entrance gate could show the name "The Westin" .
We stayed three days and all most everything , foods ,restaurant ,services and playa, was excellent ! All staffs were very kind .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Nice place, but we expected more from a Westin

Posted Dec 1, 2014
The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds are very nice, it is a big place but the shuttles were always around if you didn't want to walk. Two adults and two boys (11yrs and 13yrs) stayed 3 nights. The beach is excellent, the pools nice. Plenty of activities for everyone. We snorkeled (at the far end of the beach is a small reef no need to rent a boat!) and used the boogie boards. Rented a jet ski and saw some giant sea turtles in the ocean ( 30 minutes is a long time when you are pounding across the waves in the ocean, so think twice about a longer rental unless you have a bigger group). Get to the beach early if you want chairs or an umbrella (not much shade and it gets warm!). The property is an hour drive from Liberia Airport which is farther than I thought so keep that in mind for travel time when booking tours. We have been to Costa Rica before and always use Avispas Adventures for our tours, so check their website for very personal tours. I thought this property would be nicer being a Westin and for the price they are asking. We had issues with the A/C keeping the room cool, even at night. Broken ceiling fan and clock radio. We had to wait for towels, which you have to sign for and can only get at the pool. Ridiculous! If you are a higher end beach resort you need to have enough towels. Overall nice place but bad A/C and no towels is really not acceptable for a place like this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Traverse City, MI

Worth the trip

Posted Nov 29, 2014
The staff at the Westin Playa Choncal could not have been nicer! We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the resort. Next time we will know to fly into Liberia rathere than San Jose...that was a LONG drive. We all want to make a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, N.Y.

Heaven

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Everything is perfect, all staff are cater to our need and fulfilled every single request we have. The only flaw is that the AC is not sufficient in all the restaurant during dinner time, too hot to anyone's comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing resort on the beach

Posted Nov 16, 2014
This was the 2nd all-inclusive resort my wife and I have visited. The Westin is by far a much better resort than our last one. The hotel staff, from the receptionist at the lobby to the servers at each restaurant, were extremely friendly. The one thing my wife and I were very impressed with was the quality of the food. We anticipated the food to be decent considering we were staying at a resort where you can eat all you want. Each restaurant surpassed our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom E,g - New York

Its the best of the best. Excellent

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: ALL
Location: Swim, and faclities for play in the water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Wonderful Family Vacation!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The service and the people were amazing - the people made the difference! It was fantastic to see howler monkeys and coatis right out front!
Cons: The reservations for the restaurants and the towel system were frustrating and should be improved!
A great place to relax and unwind - the beach and the pool area are fantastic! The location is great - you don't have to travel too far for some great excursions. We used Eric Garcia for our tours and he and his team were wonderful. We were well looked after and had a blast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very nice!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms were large and clean, excellent customer service and the hotel offers a lot of fun activities for kids and adults.
Cons: There is only one pool and although it is huge, it was almost always too crowded. You can't see the ocean/beach from the property
We have stayed a various Westin hotels and this one did not disappoint. It is a very large resort with a great number of activities to keep you entertained, you don't need to go out of the property if you don't want to. You have everything inside the hotel. The food and beverages are delicious and the service was great! The gardens are very pretty so you're almost ok with the fact that you have to get out of the hotel to go to the beach. I scheduled a massage at the SPA and it was one of the best I've ever had, the SPA is beautiful too. My family loved the fitness activities and the kids club!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA, CA

Family vacation

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Our family came in a group of 21 people and 3 additional friends for a total of 24 guests. We were all very happy with how the staff were always happy to serve our needs from the house keeping maids, the waiters, and the shuttle drivers. We know it's not easy to make sure that everybody is happy, and the hotel staff did an excellent job to accommodate us ALL! !