Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Myra from Naples, FL

Wonderfully place to restore and rejuvenate

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Everything...view, rooms, Rick's metal art.
Location: So much history, museums, concerts, sitting in the parks, churches, silver mines, Mercado Hildalgo and more....
Rick and Carmen were wonderful hosts. I have stayed at BB's around the world and was most impressed by their personal attention and care. Rick is so knowledgable about the local history and his passion in sharing that was a highlight. The breakfasts were fantastic. Everyone made me feel as if I were a very special guest and I will remember Casa Zuniga and Guanajuato forever. Hopefully I will make my way back there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pati from Phoenix

Great place to stay. Great location, great host.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: --
I love, love, love this place! I can't wait to go back and take my kids with us. Rick and Carmen are amazing host! What can I say? Amazing place, amazing host, amazing breakfast, and amazing views. Casa Zuniga was the perfect place to stay. Rick and Carmen went out of their way to make us feel right at home. If ever we had a question, they were more than happy to help us out. Casa Zuniga is not only a great place to stay but it is full of beautiful art pieces created by our gracious host Rick...which adds so much of a personal touch and charm to the place. Really a wonderful experience staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Horst from Miami, FL

Outstanding Hospitality

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: A TV in the room is missing or at least a TV in a common área. Watching the news is something you shouldn´t be held up from.
Location: Monument of Pipila is a stonethrow away. With the "Funicular" (Little cable car) you are in 5 minutes at the main square.
It was an incredible experience. The owners are very lovely, the breakfast served on a community table is just a different experience, but in a good way. Some people might not like that, but I enjoyed being with Canadians, Germans and Mexican on one table. The views from the location are outstanding. The pool in the backyard is worth a swim in the morning or evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura

Great Stay!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Breakfast was so good! A great view from the house.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dani from Chicago, IL

Wonderful Bed & Breakfast overlooking Guanajuato

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast, good location, friendly staff, clean, spacious, cost-effective, beautiful house/decorations, free gondola passes, parking & WiFi
Cons: Darker window shades for the rooms (got very bright in the morning) and better sound insulation (got a bit loud in the morning)
Location: Downtown is a short gondola ride away, with many restaurants, shopping, museums and historic attractions. Mummies & mines are a short car ride away.
My husband and I stayed at Casa Zuniga for the weekend and had a wonderful experience. This Bed & Breakfast is beautiful, spacious and cost-effective. Breakfast was tasty, with a diverse array of foods. The owner, Rick, was very friendly and had many helpful suggestions. Our room was large, clean and well-decorated, with a balcony overlooking the city. We had trouble sleeping too late, however, as the room got very bright and a bit noisy in the late morning. Situated above the city, right next to El Pipila, the hotel location is perfect, with a free short gondola ride taking you directly to all the fun downtown. I highly recommend this establishment. Thanks Rick!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by I and B from Texas

Beautiful place, great host, delicious breakfast

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Rick is the best host we have had on our trip. We are spending 6 weeks in Mexico, one of which was at Zuniga. He was helpfull and friendly from the second we stepped through the door. The casa is his own personal vision, a microcosm of Guanajuato, meandering and serpentine, loaded with beautiful sculptures made by Rick and murals on the walls painted from his sketches. His wife, Carmen, and her staff make huge breakfasts that were the best we had on the whole trip. The tap water is purified, treated and softened so no worries about disentary. If you need a ride to the bus station or airport, they have a driver. Make sure you ask Rick about the history of the town and the story of Hidalgo and Pipila.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave from Toronto

Wow

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel, location, city, breakfast, host! Don't miss your chance to stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Your home in Guanajuato!

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Spectacular view, big rooms, home like experience
Location: Excellent location. It links to city center by furnicular which is next door.
I am hesitant to call it a hotel. It's rather a guest house where you feel like at home. You will hear your name often rather thant the "Sir" or "Mam´" treatment at any hotel. Rooms are huge with spectacular views from the city. No TV sets but you don't need one in a place like Guanajuato where there are a lot of things to see. Convenient location. Next door is the funicular which take you from up in the hills to the city center. ( Be aware service stops at 10PM but you can ride a cab back home for $40 pesos). Breakfast is provided by the host. This is a full breakfast not toast with jelly and butter and some coffee. You have scrambled eggs, mashed beans, fruits, bread, avocado, etc. You can also interact with other guest in the dining room. I have travelled the world and is the first time I have felt a home experience in terms of accomodation. The host (Rick) makes you feel like an old friend and cares you have a wonderful experience in Guanajuato.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarah & Graham from Newbury, England

Perfect hospitality in a perfect town

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Still can't believe the wonderful experience we had in Guanajuato - helped along by Rick's superb local knowledge - both of the history and what's there now - and the superb service throughout our stay. The plan was to explore San Miguel de Allende / Dolores Hidalgo from Casa Zuniga as a base - but Casa Zuniga / Guanajuato had so much to offer we never made it out of town (except on the local buses...) Thank You so much for such a memorable few days - we would recommend to anyone...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com