Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location, Gorgeous View

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very short walk to the main square of SMA. The garden seems straight out of a fairy tale, it's lovely. Friendly service. I give Coqueta 2 thumbs up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by edna from philippines from Philippines

charming but no aircon

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room assigned to us had no aircon and facing a noisy street. The garden though is a nice respite.
2 out of 5
by Gene from Victoria, B.C.

Good location close to the centre of city..

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: location
Aside from the location the high price doesn't equate to quality... no place to put clothing so were living out of a suitcase for the week, poor bathrooms with weak water pressure, overall cleanliness is in question.... Will not stay here again...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Excellent Value: Lovely Hotel in a lovely city

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Kevin Delgado's book said anything under $115/night in San Miguel was to be considered inexpensive. Using Hotel.com, we reserved for less than that. It was our family favorite of the four hotels we stayed in on our trip to Queretaro, San Miguel & Guanajuato. It was best value of all our hotels on our trip. The room, El Valle, was spacious, light-filled, with a beautiful bathroom (plenty of hot water) and small balcony. The courtyard was gorgeous: nicely landscaped, places to sit and relax, the pool was clean and the kids loved it. It was plenty warm enough to swim in Feb. From the courtyard, you could see the top of La Parroquia. I am sure the 3rd floor balconies would have a broader view of the city. The staff was very helpful: they arranged a ride/tickets to the Hot Springs and even lent us towels from the hotel to use there. They were welcoming and sweet with the children. Asked about our day. The breakfast was a tasty continental breakfast: coffee, fresh-squeeze orange juice, fruit (banana, papaya, melon) and bread. We could hear the church bells at night. I was able to sleep through them. They did not bother my spouse or our children. I did use my eye-mask as there was a fair-amount of ambient light in the room; but that is just me. The location is great, just a block and a half from the main square. An easy walk to/from the market and other city sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bob N from Tustin, CA

Great Getaway

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The city of San Miguel de Allende is truly enchanted. The Hotel Villa Rivera is definitely the ideal place to stay. It has a location which is right in the middle of all the action basically a 5 minute walk to the central plaza. Really great service from the entire staff they were most accommodating to any request we had. Amenities were surprisingly good and the room was very clean. Overall the stay at San Miguel de Allende was most enjoyable and I don't think it would have so great if not for the beautiful Hotel Villa Rivera.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by RD from Toronto

Great location but horrible noise and light

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room really was nice, roomy and charming. The location is just perfect -- central, close to everything. The service was just OK -- the front desk folks are not very good with basic hotel-speak english (like the words safe, toilet, flush, etc) but you'll get over that. The one big problem I had with this place, however, is the noise and light. Our room has a skylight above the bed! So from sunrise to sundown, it's very bright in the room. As far as the noise goes, the church bells start ringing very loudly at maybe 5am. Each "ring" is about 40 bell strikes. Trust me, when it starts ringing, you're up. On top of that, the street noise (cars, trucks and motorcycles) can be heard very clearly in the room. It's a nice hotel but I wouldn't recommend it because I never had a good night's sleep with the noise and light.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by F kobeh from Mexico

Good hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice staff, excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M

Pretty Hotel!

Posted Oct 29, 2013
When we arrived at the hotel, they welcomed us warm and nice. The room was clean and comfortable. A window is facing to a street which allowed the sound of car engines come in the room but that's ok to us. The receptionists speak English, but not other staff. It's a little confusing when ordering your complimentary breakfast as they wait for you call a staff to bring the breakfast. Overall, nice stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rickie from Bay City, TX

Fantastic Hideout!

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Breakfast and a bar.
Location: Everything, shpping, dining all are walking distance. Bring comfortable shoes-steep cobblestone streets.
Great hotel, great location just two blocks from Plaza Principal. Wonderful staff, continental breakfast less than wonderful-fresh fruit, rolls & coffee. Would recommend staying here just bring earplugs, church bells-there are 4 churches within earshot ring all during the night every 15 minutes.