Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Tony from California

Good location, BUT

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect. Step out of the hotel and the Jardin de la Union is right in your face.
Cons: This old hotel needs to be renovated for the current century.
Location: Perfect location just next to the jardin, San Diego church, Teatro Juarez, etc... Super great location, and one can't ask for anything more.
Our room 27 had issues with furnishings, but after mentioning them to the front desk employee Cesar, he apologized and immediately resolved the problems. He even gave us a fruit tray - a very nice gesture. Thank you Cesar for your efforts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from San Antonio, TX

En pleno Jardin

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location and music from the Jardin.
Location: Guanajuato!
I'd visited lovely Guanajuato many times over the past 30+ years but this was my first time to stay on the Jardin (the touristic center of town). It was a lot of fun but you must like the sound of round the clock music. We did and enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from calgary

Excellent location, great stay!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Proximity to local venues and restaurants.
Having travelled 8 hours to Guanajuato from Puerto Vallarta we were pleasantly suprised to find a hotel centrally located near the Jardin de la Union that blended into the local architecture. The room was large, clean and had an exceptional terrace for local views of the Juarez Theatre and Moumento al Pilia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CB from canada

Great location

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Great location. Clean, comfortable rooms. We were really happy with this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Estella

nice spot, but no AC

Posted Mar 29, 2014
It is clean, and it is at a small plaza. The view is beautiful, but the hotel doesn't have air conditioner,so it is a little bit hot and uncomfortable at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Overlooking a beautiful square with mariachis playing at night and nice restaurants below. We never felt unsafe walking around at night in this incredible city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In downtown

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Nice hotel but won't stay there more then 2 days.. Nice view but to unconfterble beds. Food was alright. Close to dowtomwn.. An to bars.. I will recommend this place
3 out of 5
by Nancy from Berkeley, California

Definitely in the center of things!!

Posted Feb 26, 2014
This is a charming historic hotel overlooking the central plaza in Guanajuato, which has both good and bad points. The good point is obviously the proximity to all the city life (we had a room overlooking the plaza). The bad part is that partying on the plaza extends to VERY late, EVERY night. till about 1:30 a.m. on both week-end and week-day nights, making it impossible to sleep, and the temperature was too warm to close the balcony doors. Potential guests should take note of this noise factor. If you are a late night-party type, this is a wonderful choice; but if you are looking for quiet, best to look elsewhere. I had no other complaints -- staff are very courteous and the hotel is charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Morrisons from Canada

Great spot. Center of the universe for Guanajuato.

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Location...nothing better.
Cons: Carpets need a good steam cleaning. Restaurant needs help. Rooms could use some painting. All is very clean!
Location: Take a city tour to see the highlights. Don't miss the pizza at the upstairs restaurant at the San Diego down the street.Wings at the Luna bar.
Perfect location. Crummy restaurant, but good ones surrounding the hotel. Every room is different...very Mexican. Would stay again in a minute. Rooms 21 and 15 look like the best, but check them out. Rooms on the back of the hotel are very quiet. Sleep in! Nothing happens in the area until 9;30 or 10 am. Easy bus reservations in the area if you're traveling that way. Dress warm if you're here in the winter months...Rooms are unheated. Long-sleeve shirts and jackets are a must. Be prepared for lots of up-hill walking and bring good shoes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014