Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from texas

great hotel in Guanajuato,

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: walking distance to everything, restaurant next door: La tasca is great!
Cons: it is an old hotel so it does not have elevator or gym, but since you walk a lot here, you do not need it!
Location: centrally and convenient to everything
They were very helpful! food was delicious,breakfast has fresh fruit and eggs! the best coffee in GTO !!! l drove and helped me find parking, and took my suitcases there!!if you can, do not drive! it is very confusing! the owner is extremely nice! rooms very comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Cleveland Ohio

Nice hotel right in the heart of Guanajuato

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Staff, room size, cleanliness, character, location.
Cons: Rooms could be a bit brighter.
Location: Wonderful location, within walking distance of Don Quixote museum (wonderful), the Diego Rivera museum, many small shops, churches, restaurants,etc.
We spent two weekdays here, and enjoyed the room and the staff. First of all, the rooms (2 plus bath) were huge and quite clean, with plenty of bath towels and bedding as good as our any mid-priced chain in the states. Breakfasts were included, were hearty, and included lots of fresh tropical fruits, rolls, any a choice of egg dishes. Though we did not see a printed menu, I'm sure the staff would attempt whatever you asked for in the way of egg dishes. We had huevos rancheros, and ham and eggs.The coffee was exceptionally fresh and good. The room did not have air conditioning, but it was not needed. The weather (mid March) was in the 70's daytime and 60's and 50's at night, perfect for sleeping. Our only complaint was road noise. There was a manhole cover in the street in front of our room, and it clanked loudly every time a vehicle went over it. We quickly got used to it, but next time we will ask for a room off the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff were very helpful

Posted Feb 26, 2014
I have difficulty with stairs, and most of the rooms are up stairs. I first got a ground floor room but it had no heat, so I had to move upstairs. Staff helped with luggage. Also were great booking a taxi to the airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel in a perfect location.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Considering the Casona de Don Lucas is a 200 year old building, the hotel is just fine. The extremely positive benefit is the location, a block from the main plaza. If you stay at a more modern hotel you will usually be on the outskirts of town with terrible traffic jams to get back to where all the action is. And try a meal at a restaurant call Al Punto, about two blocks from the Casona de Don Lucas. The food and service is just great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elaine from Calgary Canada

Convenient, well appointed

Posted Feb 13, 2014
This is a lovely renovated home of one of the silver barons and is conveniently located to everything. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Everything worked to my satisfaction. The breakfast was very good. If you have some Spanish it will be helpful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Armando Naranjo from San Diego

Owner yelled at us.

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I just returned from Guanajuato and I would really like to give this hotel a great review because it was comfortable, very central, and the staff was helpful; however, we had some confusion with the booking process and were told by the receptionist that although there were issues with the booking process we could still stay in the room. We believed that this was te end of the confusion. The following day we were cornered and told that we owed extra money due to the confusion. We asked to speak with the owner who was very rude and ruined the whole experience by yelling at us and asking us to pay more, which we were willing to do if we wouldn't have thought everything was cleared as stated by the original receptionist. There are inconsistencies with the website and the hotel policies that should be cleared up to avoid this situation for others. It actually was a nice stay despite the rude owner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gaby from Mexico

very good location and service

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AMAZING LOCATION

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Perfect location
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Walking distance from everything....
Amazing location.... right in the heart of everything........ Nobody speaks English so get ready to learn Spanish!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Cons: The breakfast was not very good at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Manolo Ripoll from Zapopan,Jal

We Will come hacker

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Outstanding management and staff. Always ready to make your stay very pleasent. Food very good and well prepared.. I agree it IS a 3 plus*