Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, New Zealand

Great Area

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Great hotel in a very peaceful area Staff helpful and friendly, room very comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by anthonyce from HK

Cosy hotel with good location

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel with friendly staff and good location. Room is spacious and well maintained. The Chinese restaurant below serves decent Dim Sum and hotel guests get 15% discount. Will consider this hotel if I pass by that way again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by sam from London

needs modernisation

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Second time I stayed at the GVH - first time in 2009 and 5 years later the hotel has deteriorated quite a lot. Service and overall guest experience is great. Staff are amongst some of the best in Guangzhou as I have stayed at the high end I.e. Hilton to the hustle and bussle at the Vienna in SanYuan Le. Just need to upgrade the rooms and it should be back to its former glory!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Max from USA

Clean hotel but awfully slow internet

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and comfortable, with a good service in english, however, their internet connexion was terrible, slow and stopping avery 5 min, making it impossible to work from this hotel. Regarding the standard of this hotel, I was hoping a better web connexion and business friendly environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Olde world charm

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Not your usual modern boxy building in excellent location.
Location: Wander around historic Shamian Island looking at extensive range of bronze sculptures set in amongst wonderfully restored buildings.
Lovely hotel with character, excellent english speaking staff, pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Generally very satisfied but evening meal in ground floor restaurant, "C'est la Vie" was really poor and overpriced. Meal in Chinese restaurant on 3rd floor was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location..

Posted Apr 27, 2014
....but bit of a joke hotel. Think Chinese faulty towers... If you go with the flow.. enjoy the experience of staying china circa 1975 you'll have a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

reasonable rate for travelers

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Hotel but very hard to get a taxi... and taxi drivers are not as welcoming to travel there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by GEORGE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Judy Lu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com