Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AY from Singapore

Simple and convience hotel for stopover.

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pro: Nice location Friendly staff Direct excess to express bus to HK. Free internet Con: Hotel is dated Expect some wear & tear in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teresa from Vancouver, BC

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Very clean, room is good size.
Cons: Wish they have Airport shuttle.
Location: This is a small town (night market everyone night). If you want to go to Guangzhou city you have to take a bus(not very far).
Very good experience.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ongze from Singapore

Huadu Guangzhou new century hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Supposedly centralized location was blocked off totally by construction of the new metro system. It will not be an another few years before the station open and perhaps bring some life back to this once grandest hotel in huadu. Big hotel was less than 20 rooms full, dark and isolated is what I would describe the place at this moment. Terrible service as the housekeeping serve me drinkable ice cube in a plastic bag, really? Plastic bag? Yes and she has the cheek to say it's clean n drinkable , I should give it a try. Will not stay here again until they have upgraded all their 80s room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Waveman7 from San Francisco

Poor Service and Location

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I would not recommend staying in this hotel unless you absolutely have to be in this area. I was surprised by the poor service at a hotel that was supposed to be four star Chinese Gov't rated. There is no way this hotel should have that rating. We asked a passing staff ember for directions to the business center and he didn't even stop. He just pointed to a direction and kept walking. At the restaurant, the waitress had no idea what half the items on the menu were. Plus, there was general staff apathy. We asked where to take the airport shuttle in the am. The front desk lady said just go outside on the right. She made no mention that the shuttle pickup spot had changed and we had to go all the way to the street and couldn't just stand by the hotel. This caused us to miss the first shuttle and delayed our arrival to the airport. Plus, the location is poor. There is not much to do around the hotel. Maybe in a few years when the metro is done but right there this area has little for hotel guests outside of a night street market. All in all, I will never stay at this hotel again. Poor service by an in attentive staff. I almost never give poor reviews and I have been in the service industry so I tend to give service people the benefit of the doubt. Here, the new Century staff has disappointed me on many levels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ted from Philly, PA

Best hotel for this part of Guangzhou city.

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: It was at a great location. Very close to tourest bus stations.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated. Time the updating with the completion of the subway system.
Location: There are many excellent KTV's in the area.
This hotel is in prime location when the new subway system is finished in 3 years. It will need major refurbishing at that time for the hotel rooms. The carpets are showing thier age. The bed was too hard. I folded the top blanket to give me padding on top of bed. Many fine Chinese resterants to eat at. Many interesting shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from Brisbane QLD, Australia

New Century Hotel, Guangzhou

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: The service and the decor.
Cons: Nil
Location: Suited us as an overnight stop on way back to Australia.Short trip back to the airport.Plenty of shops near the the hotel.
Excellent service in a most attractive, real value hotel.
2 out of 5
by Sotong from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Dissappointing

Posted Nov 1, 2012
Very old and tired hotel. The fittings in the room are very old and some are coming apart.Will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, reasonable price

Posted Jan 10, 2012
The staff is very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The only problem I had was the dance club next door playing the music so load. Not the hotels fault but it made sleeping difficult if you go to bed early. I was there in January so it was a little cool in the restaurant which is located on the second floor in the lobby. Shuttle service to airport is convenient, but recommend leaving early since they have other hotels to pick up from.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Nice hotel, wrong position at the moment

Posted Nov 9, 2011
Location: Any hotel with in close proximity to the new metro (which is so efficient and spotlessly clean) which continues to expand. The airport is on route, also most of the good shopping areas. Taxis are cheap and plentiful in all areas except at rush hours and late at night
The hotel and staff were excellent and the prices very good. The only problem was that it was half an hour by taxi from everywhere including the nearest metro station. It was easy getting a local taxi to the airport, central shopping etc. but almost none of the taxis, even from the airport, wanted to go there on the return journey. I expect because the likelihood of a return fare was almost non existent. A pity because for value for money it was great. After 3 days I was forced to move more central as I was always anticipating not finding a taxi to get back to the hotel. Probably the situation will improve soon as there seems to be a lot of new hotels opening in this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from USA

good value good internet

Posted Oct 23, 2011
Not perfect but overall very good value and good internet service!