Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a very pleasant stay.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: once inside the hotel it is quite pleasant. the staff were very accomodating.
Cons: need a frequent mini bus service.
Location: ok for local shopping
we had a nice room with city views. the restaurant was very good. the staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mohamed from s

Nice

Posted May 14, 2014
Poor english language Very clean polite staff
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Garf71 from UK

Maybe was 5* in the 80's

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
When you first approach the Zgrand Med, you do wonder where you are going, then you turn the corner up a backstreet and it looks reasonably impressive. When we arrived (my 17 year old daughter and I for canton fair) we had booked a twin room and were informed there were non available, and asked if a double will do, I adamantly said no, we were asked again and said no, then up graded to a penthouse suite with an extra bed in the lounge. The room was huge, great view, nice bathroom but smelt smoky and was dusty. The elevators take forever to come when called and the breakfast was, well, pretty poor. We were informed the swimming pool was closed which was disappointing, especially as there are pictures of it throughout the hotel. Surrounding area was not great, but the shuttle bus service to the canton fair was excellent. All in all not awful, but closer to 3 than 5 star! Danny the bell boy was a very courteous helpful & bright young man.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karl from Ireland

Business trip

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is under reconstruction, they don't tell you this, food poor at breakfast, based on this didn't try dinner but I overheard some guests saying it was poor. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by charm1234 from Philippines

Location near Taikoohui High end Malls

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff were courteous, room was spacious near Taikoohui and Computer Malls. A long walk from One link. Taxi ride to Teemall, Grandview, Grandbuy. For cheaper goods, go to Underground Tianhe Fashion walk near Grandbuy. Good For computer enthusiasts. Only complaint is breakfast selection is very limited (no waffles or dimsum)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ron from Bristol, UK

Ideal hotel if for business trips.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Huge rooms!
Cons: The Wifi. Although fast internet, if you leave it idle for more than 5-10 mins you will have to manually reconnect & enter username/password.
Location: Situated one block back from a bustling high street there is shops + food galore right outside the door.
It's probably not a 5-star hotel by American standards but it's definitely a good hotel. It's clean, quiet, comfortable and has HUGE rooms. About 10 minute taxi ride to Canton Fair complex and situated in the middle of a bustling, very safe feeling financial district. I was here on 3-day business trip and had no problems whatsoever. Would definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hiten

Nice hotel close to Computer shops good location

Posted Jan 9, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Sydney Australia

Good hotel near shops and subway

Posted Jan 9, 2014
The hotel condition is good. Staffs were able to speak some English. The main problem with us is to find the hotel. It's close to the subway exit however it is located in a small lane which hard to find. There was a sign of the hotel name (in Chinese with small English letters) at the gate but you can walk pass without noticed. In general the hotel is good and value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst price for what you get

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: NOthing
Cons: everything
Location: nothing
To be a "5 star hotel" the rooms are dirty, personel doesn´t speak good english food is terrible, service is terrible. I wouldn´t go back even for free...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013