Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect hotel for the exhibition center

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Excellent hotel & facilities,but too far away from the city center!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel for the trade show!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
I've been staying at Shangri la for 6 years in a row. But service quality has decrease a lot and the buffet, food quality, pick up and drop off the trade show had decrease a lot. Before you used to get a better service overall. Now even if you are having a meeting in the business center that closes at 7 and you go to the horizon floor you will be kick out from the meeting room. For executives the service is not great. It is a shame that the hotel has change a lot. Plus the bills and expenses are huge,b we paid for an appetizer (4 people each 3 small burgers bigger almost than a cup of cocacola) 4 sodas... we paid 200 usd .... you can pay for comfort as In usually do and I'm not reluctant if paying a lot if the service perceive is good. But what I pay for what I get wasn't worth it. And I can compare the hotel with the Ritz Carlton, the park Hyatt, the Grand Hyatt, I can say I ve stayed in many luxury hotels to give this review. But Shangri la service for what you pay was not worth it this time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Coco from Malaysia

I love your services! :)

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The services n the workers there are really kind!:D And i love the gifts, like bookmarks, apples and even Macarroons on Xmas that r found in our room.
Cons: Everthing is perfect :)
Location: Pearl Night Cruise
The workers there helped us to plan our trip in Guangzhou and recomended a lot of instresting places to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Alice Springs, Australia

Very nice hotel but poor location

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: The staff were all very efficient, polite, courteous and helpful. The food was delicious in the different restaurants.
Cons: not much
Location: Unless the guest is connected to or attending some kind of Exhibition or the Canton Fair, there is nothing to do in the vicinity of the hotel
The hotel is relatively new and easily a 5-star hotel. With the heavy pollution, visibility is mostly poor, with a slight improvement on a Sunday. The location is in a concrete jungle. If the guest would like refreshments or a meal or do some shopping, a 20-minutes taxi ride each way is required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by simonT

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gia Marie from Australia

Wonderful experience

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is magnificent. Friendly staff who can speak all languages. When we checked in, they asked if we wanted to upgrade our room. For the upgrade we were able to enjoy happy hour from 5:00-7:00 and breakfast the next morning. So much food and unlimited drinks for happy hour and also breakfast in the morning was incredible. The upgrade is worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Daytona Beach, FL, USA

Beautiful hotel at Guangzhou Convention Centre

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: Liked everything
Cons: Nothing near the hotel except for the huge convention centre
Location: Within walking distance of the convention centre. but nothing else nearby
Shangri-la Guangzhou is beautiful, one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. And it's the nicest Shangri-la that I've seen. The hotel is surrounded by pretty gardens. I was upgraded to a river view, which is worth the extra dollars you would have to pay for. Also. the hotel contains both an indoor and outdoor pool. You can swim laps in the long indoor swimming pool, while the pretty outdoor pool is sort of a lagoon type. The health club is fully equipped Except for the huge Guangzhou International Convention Centre, there's nothing nearby the hotel. So if you don't attend a trade show at the centre, you are stuck eating all your meals at the hotel. The food is great, but not cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com