Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Best Secret in Antigua!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Don't try to cheat Americans on the pricing. It's bad for business and not what we like or how WE do business.
Location: Walked to Central Park and a guide that spoke English walked up to us asking to hire him. Best decision. Roberto was awesome.
Wonderful time here. Private parking, security 24/7. Don't have to pay parking on the street. It was a little hard to find because its at the end of the town but its actually a great location and you can still walk to everything. The room was beautiful and clean, quiet and safe, two floors, hot shower, kitchen and we paid for breakfast. Fabulous woman cooks for you and brings it to you daily if that's what you paid for. Traditional style and coffee. Just be sure you bring printed internet receipts because the only negative thing was they tried to say it was not prepaid and included but I was prepared with my proof as someone else suggested about Guatemala in general. I will come back to El Marques and recommend it to everyone. It is a jewel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Antigua Guatemala

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Full Kitchen
It is a great place to stay, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would have wanted to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Elisabeth from Dallas, TX

Amazing Rooms! Lots of space!

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was really wonderful! I was in Antigua for a wedding. Friends were staying in various places in town, but mine was the best! I loved my place. For the price I got it on hotels.com, it was an amazing value! I had the Don Pedro, which is basically a one-bedroom loft apartment with full kitchen, laundry, living room, dining area, and a bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The bathroom only has a shower, in case that matters to you. There is no air conditioning, but there are well-placed windows that can be safely left open for ventilation. It's a little bit of a farther walk from the central park than some places. It also doesn't have lush landscaping like I saw in some other places. It has a cobblestone courtyard in the center, which provides great secure parking if you have a car. The bed was firm and comfortable. The Don Pedro has two queen size beds. Everything was clean. Security was very nice and I felt really safe with the gate system to enter, but it wasn't a hassle either because someone was always there to let me in, even late at night. I also looked at the smaller room type with just one queen bed when I was thinking of extending my stay. It's also very roomy. They both are 2-story rooms with the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. If you are disabled or have any trouble with stairs, you shouldn't stay here. I didn't ask if they had an accessible option, though. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angelica from LA, Ca

not the best customer service

Posted Apr 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had been enjoying my stay up to the point of me checking out because as your know this is a small suites hotel so they have a full kitchen and they provide all the utensils needed for cooking and as well as for eating like plates and silver wear well at check-out its not the usual process of just turning in your key but in reality they have you go back into the room with someone from the staff and they go into the room and count all the plates, cups, silverware, utensils and honestly I didn't even use any of those things because we were on vacation so I didn't even have time to cook but yet at check-out according to the one of the staff members one dinner plate was missing and I was like those items weren't even touched and I know housekeeping has access to the rooms so you might want to find out luckily the manager was there which was the person that had check me in told the woman checking me out to just drop it but I didn't get any type of apology for the moment of embarrassment both me and my mother went through honestly because of this bad check-out process I wouldn't recommend this Hotel to any one I know.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2013 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, we are very sorry that happened; please receive our apologies! It was a misunderstanding between our staff. The ocurrence of incidentals of the suite inventory is eventual, and always arranged, which was not your case. Hope we see you again soon. Best Regards, Administration and Service Team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chad from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Highly recommended

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Beautifully decorated and really clean
Location: The walk into the main attractions of the town got a bit repetitive by the third day.
A really nice self contained unit at the quiet end of town, but still just a short walk to the central park. Also has very secure parking.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by S.Bedell

Posted Dec 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was my second time at the hotel and I was traveling by myself. The overall atmosphere has changed greatly since August. Drugs and robbery are now the issues at hand. I was robbed in my hotel room while dinning. The managment was not not honest regarding their security procedures and they were fined by the local authority. Additionally the mangement charged my card for tarnsportation, when I clearly stated that I would pay in cash upon my arrival. Needless to say I was very disappointed and felt unsafe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2013 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, we are sorry that you didn´t use the safety security box there is in each suite for customer valuables, as in any other lodging place. Our video camera system showed that nobody went into your Suite when you were out; we have video cameras in all public áreas. We were glad you stayed even longer that you initially reserved, after you mentioned this incident. More cameras are installed now and security is definitely is a very important issue for us. "Drugs and fines", we don´t understand why you mention this issues, out of the blue. Regards, Administration
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Helpful friendly staff

Posted Dec 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very nice staff. 24 hour security and access. 4 blocks to central park. Very clean and maid service everyday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Awesome suite and awesome service. Walls are thin so got noisy at times with other residence and barking dogs.