Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok, but can do better. loud.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Very comfortable beds, clean spacious rooms, but they skimped on the little things that would have made this a real luxury hotel and worth the money (for example the shamppo and conditioner all-in-one that left my hair in knots, and the tiny mini-bar fridge that they kept barely below room temperature- really you couldnĀ“t turn down the temperature on the tiny fridge?). Additionally, our room was right next to the very large pool/jacuzzi and I guess the motor that ran the jets shared a wall with us, so all day we heard an incredibly loud swooshing and humming noise until 9pm when the jacuzzi closed. At night it rained and they have it set up so all the rain from the roof is funneled into several pipes which then pour into the courtyards. It poured the night we were here, so they put huge buckets under each of the pipes and it sounded like we were in a waterfall (we both had ocean/tidal wave dreams). They were very flexible on check-out time (1pm which they allowed us to extend until 2:30 without a fuss) and the beds were really comfortable, but they really need to sound proof their rooms and stop skimping on the little things to compete with the other options available in Antigua in the price range.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romulus, MI

Picture Perfect Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel was like a hidden village. It was beautiful, quiet and clean.
Cons: Help with the internet. Everything is in Spanish & the staff didn't help enough. They told me what to do & walked away. I couldn't get a boarding pass
I went to visit my son who works in Guatemala teaching English. We found many interesting things to do and learned a lot of history about Guatemala. We visited the chocolate factory, went on a boat tour, visited the old churches and the hand weaving of garments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Very good for handicapped persons

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: All the hotel is beautiful and new
The food is good, the place is very nice, close to downtown. Antigua is not friendly for wheelchair users, but the hotel is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Vernly Gift from Trinidad and Tobago

It was close to the meeting centre I attended.

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although my stay was for two days, I was very comfortable and satisfy with the hospitality and accommodation at this Hotel. The Staff were all friendly and even though the only language I spoke was English, most of the staff was bi-lingual and were able to relate to me. This is commendable and the Management and staff of Hotel Camino Real Antigua is definitely worthy of praise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by J. Katnic from Riverside, Ca

Best hotel we've ever stayed at in Guatemala!!!

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved this place! We arrived three hours early and were able to check in immediately with parking included in the rate. All staff were friendly from check in down to the maids (always a greeting of some sort or a smile) and small requests such as extra soap and shampoo were handled in an expedient and courteous fashion: nothing was too much trouble. Room was by the jacuzzi and the patio chairs always had fresh towels (replaced within minutes of vacancy). What was nice is that the jacuzzi temperature is cooler in the day which allows for children to use it...by nightfall, the jacuzzi is hot and relaxing for adults. Room was clean and comfortable and room service cheap compared to being in the US. Also, the section we stayed in is reasonably secure and requires key card access. After many trips to Guatemala, this is the ONLY hotel I can say we have never encountered any problems with. I cannot find one bad thing to say about this place and would gladly stay here again in the future.
2 out of 5
by Leonel from Illinois USA

hotel location is 1 way street and driving is bad

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: room srvice is ok
Cons: the front desk
Location: nada
Out the 12 days 7 i have troble with the electronic keys the water and coffe should be free
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Debora

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Julio from Guatemala

Problem with a quick satisfactory resolution

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The night of my stay there was a wedding taking place at the hotel. They gave me a room right in front of where the celebration would take place. There was loud music all night. I call the front desk and they gave me a new room away from the noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb Hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Almost every aspect of this hotel is excellent. The rooms and restaurant are first class. The hotel staff is attentive and responsive to all request
Cons: The only complaint is that they still charge ($10USD/day) for internet access.
Location: Great location near the center of Antigua
Almost every aspect of this hotel is excellent. The rooms and restaurant are first class. The hotel staff is attentive and responsive to all requests. The only complaint is that they still charge ($10USD/day) for internet access. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fine hotel in Antigua

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: the rooms although on the darker side, very comfortable
Cons: free wifi
very good hotel, but a bit on the pricey side. Note that there are no volcano view rooms, although the hotel faces the volcano. Overall very satisfactory