Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Nice hotel with historic significance

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Authentic Spanish architecture blended with lush gardens. Nice breakfast included.
Location: Easy walk to the most historic sites in the city. Also, located near to the city square and restaurants. Safe city to walk around.
Nicely renovated hotel that dates back to the 1500's. Nice clean rooms and friendly staff. In the midst of the historic part of town. Nearby restaurants and sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Deena from Colorado

Beautiful

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is amazingly beautiful. The beds were very comfortable and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for walking all around Antigua. I highly recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the town square

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, good service, beautiful courtyard, pleasant staff.
We stayed four nights. This is a small hotel with only 8 rooms. Its is located near the town center. The courtyard is beautiful, the staff very pleasant, the breakfast is nice. The room was clean & the service very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patty from California

Lovely retreat after Semana Santa

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nada.
Location: Perfect location for us. Lovely restaurants as well as very nice ones nearby. The cathedral was nearby as was the park.
Our first three nights in Antigua for Semana Santa were a bit hectic, but glorious. So when we returned the following week, we stayed at la Cathedral and LOVED it. What a lovely place, from the moment we walked into the garden area and then opened the door to our lovely room--bed made up beautifully, wood floor, very nice bathroom. Marco at the front desk remembered our son who had stayed there two years ago. Marco also helped us find a shop (foundry) that could make an iron wall piece that we had admired elsewhere and couldn't find in a regular shop. Will definitely stay here again. Also, great location-just one block from the central park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tasteful and convenient, but minor flaws

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, breakfast, comfort of the courtyard.
Cons: Reliability of hot water.
Location: Half block from Parque Central, convenient to shops, restaurants, the market.
We spent three days there the weekend after Semana Santa. Like everything in Antigua, there is not much to see from the street--just stucco walls and two barred windows. But once inside the courtyard, it is lush, with a gurgling foundation at one end of a small landscaped courtyard. The eight rooms are all accessed from the courtyard. The rooms are small but tastefully decorated. Our room had two double beds, but we had to squeeze by the foot of one to reach the armoire that serves as a closet or to the widow shutters. Although feet from the street, the soundproofing is excellent--so long as the window is closed. To get some air means also letting in the noise of motorcycles and cars rumbling slowly on the cobblestones feet away. A modern vertical van in the room helps solve the dilemma. The included breakfast is generous and you can select of a long list of both typico or American-style choices. The fresh fruit and yogurt with granola is a generous portion for anyone. The two down notes were the hot water in the shower, which did not always come through. One night we asked the always helpful front desk attendant and it soon flowed hot. The biggest problem was the pounding music that went until 4 am from a club adjacent to the hotel. It permeated the walls on Saturday night. Except for those hiccups, La Catedral is a wonderful value, especially for Antigua and a 1st class venue. We would stay again (but maybe not on a Saturday).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by AFM from Texas

Outstanding service & location.

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Outstanding assistance in arranging a car & guide for travels in Guatemala. Best location in Antigua for Semana Santa & getting around generally. Owner and personnel went above & beyond in every way. Downside, it is an authentic old home so room was small & very dark with heavy drapes, but clean and the central courtyard was lovely for a sitting area so compensated for the room. Room had all amenities needed, incl a hair dryer. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ramirez from california

Beautiful place

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel is located near major attractions
Cons: nothing all is just right
Location: near the central park and central market within walking distance
From the moment you arrived, you are treated gracefully. You sleep well, you don't hear any sounds. The scenery is so beautiful. the breakfast is waiting for you, completely delicious. The only complain not enough coffee. The car rental is well organized and very polite, very efficient in their service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Johnson

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JoEllen from San Diego

A super locatioon

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Cathedral is a small, cozy hotel. The interior garden is lovely. The rooms are a bit dark for my taste, so be sure to open your windows to bring in the lovely scents from the garden.The French Toast on the breakfast menu was wonderful. The coffee was very disappointing considering the wonderful coffee beans from the country.