Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario Canada

Farcical booking on Expedia

Posted Mar 8, 2015
We booked this hotel on expedia from the Airport area in Guayquil ( search showed 4 rooms available) Drove 4 km to the hotel in crazy local traffic at 8pm. When we arrived about 30 mins later the hotel had the booking but said there were no rooms available and moved us to another hotel BACK AT THE AIRPORT!!! The other hotel was OK but the room didn't seem as nice as the one we booked from the pictures. Very frustrating after travelling all day. I work in a hotel (Westin) and understand this happens sometimes but not in 30 minutes. No apology, no compensation was offered. Very unhappy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Close to airport. Area not too safe. Unpleasant noises from other rooms. The staff had minimal English that was not very helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Huayacocotla

A las 2 de la mañana sin cuarto de hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: ????? Que puedo decir, si no me pude alojar en el?
Cons: La formalidad en las reservaciones.
Location: Tampoco puedo contar algo, puesto que no me pude alojar en este hotel.
Llegando a las 2 am a este hotel, me encuentro con la sorpresa, de que no respetaron mi reservación, realizado con 2 meses de anticipación y confirmado. Como premio de consolacion me ofrecen alojarme en un hotel compañero de características similares, pero debiendo liquidar primero el costo de la habitación en el hotel Corona Real, que esta anunciado como hotel de 4 estrellas. Pagando 2 noches de su tarifa, me alojan en un hotel, que no llega a las 3 estrellas. Pero que hacer a las 2:40 de la mañana? No conozco ni las instalaciones o las demás características del hotel, puesto que no pude alojarme en ello. Por lo tanto la evaluación del estado, de la limpieza y de la comodidad no reflejan la realidad. Pero si no pongo alguna evaluación, esta pagina no permite seguir adelante. La unica disculpa que recibí, fue por parte de la recepcionista.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by davenftlfrom Cuenca, Eucador

Do not use this hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
After getting two confirmation emails that my room had been booked, upon arriving at 7 PM, I was told that I had not made a reservation and, as a result, the hotel did not have a room for me. They then made me wait almost an hour and a half without telling me what was going on. After many complaints at the front desk, the finally told me they found another hotel for me. In that hotel, the power went out for the night and I slept in a pitch dark, hot, stuffy room. The next morning the hotel provided a private cab for my trip to the airport. On the way, the cab broke down. This was not a pleasant experience. I WOULD NEVER CHOOSE THE CORONA REAL HOTEL as a place to stay in Guayaquil ever again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Utah,USA

Over booked

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Friendliness of staff and newness of hotel,cleanliness.
Cons: Was there only one day,no recommendation
Location: same as above
Yes my hotel said they over booked and then sent a foreigner to another hotel.I thought they should have sent a native countrymen to the other. The hotel i was to sent was marginal less than Corona Real directly across the airport name of Garzota Inn. It is a good hotel i would stay their again.as for the comfort I would stay at either hotel again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Not a pleasant experience

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
First of all there stay does not understand any english which was a major problem with my stay there.Also the neighborhood is not safe.I stayed here for two nights and then later moved to Hotel Garzota Inn which is a 3 star hotel which is cheaper than Corona Real and better as it is more cleaner and safe.Staff at Hotel Garzota Inn understands english and were very helpful.I would not recommend Corona Real to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Rip Off

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: NOTHING!!!
Cons: Don't Steal!!!
When I got to this hotel, with confirmed reservations from Expedia, I was told there were no rooms available and they would have to put me in a different hotel pre=paid sight unseen. I watched them check someone in while I was standing there!!! I refused their offer and was told they would not charge my credit card, well 2 days later, they did, now I have to go thru the hassle of disputing the charge!!!!!!!! I've used Expedia quite a bit for my travels, but I think this was the last time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

IVA tax not included even though it says it is

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
They forgot to call me for a 3:30am wake-up call but luckily I woke up and didn't miss my plane. Taxes were all suppose to be included but they still tacked on the IVA tax.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Evaristofrom Colombia

Ecuador

Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was ok for business trip, but not for more than a couple of days. Bathroom was too small and it shouldn't be rating with 3.5 stars. Maybe 3 max.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christianfrom Los Angeles, CA, USA

One Night at the Corona Real

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: Clean, modern looking room and cable TV.
Cons: None.
Location: I didn't walk around the location. So, no comment.
I was only in the room for one night, but given the short time it was more than satisfactory. The hotel was clean and conveniently located less than 10 from the airport. The food was well priced and tasted good. The actual room was the perfect size and having cable was a plus. The price included breakfast and airport transportation. I couldn't comment on the surrounding area, because I was in my room the entire night. However, I recommend the hotel based off my experience.