Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by wendy and bill from canadad

Very good

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: convenience, security, cleanliness, friendly staff
Cons: To advise us they had a restaurant downstairs
Location: the most beautiful malecon we have ever seen, Las Peinas was close by and we found the Super Cine which had movies in Spanish and English. Also, love
for a budget hotel, we had an extra large room which we appreciated as often going budget gives you a cubby hole. We had hot showers and the room was cleaned and made every day. Impeccably clean with spacious lounging areas and kitchen access. Staff super helpful and very careful about security for their guests. They stored our bags, free of charge, while we went south for a few days. Can help with Galapagos bookings as well. So close to everything too. Highly recommended
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Yesenia from NYC

Don't bother

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Don't even bother coming to this place if you have to stay in Guayaquil. Though the room was okay and AC worked (thankfully), the owners were not very friendly. One of them even wanted to charge me extra for water (50 cents when I get in, the next day was 75 cents). One of them also smirked at me and my husband when I told him that we were sick and needed to get a taxi to go to the clinic. Won't ever come back here again, if I *have* to stay in Guayaquil.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian from Chicago

Decent place in a rough neighborhood

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very central location in the center. 2 blocks from 9 de Octubre and 5 blocks from the Malecon. Unfortunately the area becomes very seedy at night with many undesirables roaming about. Room was very clean and the housekeepers are very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean. Lots of stairs but staff carry bag

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Clean hotel. Central location. Take taxi's to and from for safety. Helpful Staff who carry heavy suitcase up many stairs to room. Very clean room and helpful staff. Central location. Good for young travellers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Very good hostel perfect for overnight

Posted Mar 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at this hostel as part of an overnight stay before an early morning flight into Cuenca. It was very clean, quite lovely with blue tile and custom wood decor throughout. The room was large & comfortable, very clean & had wifi & personal bathroom. There was a nice rooftop common area which provided views & respite from the hubub of the city. I got a wake up call as requested & taxi was called for early morning. Staff were friendly & accommodating. Would stay here again & recommend to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over priced!

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: Wifi, locations
Cons: Pillows and beds, PRICE!!!
Location: Good location
The staff is very helpful, but this hotel is way overpriced for what you get!! The pillows are hard as sand bags, beds are old and saggy. the hotel itself is old and tired. On the plus side, the staff are helpful and the wifi is great. Would be more inclined to recommend if the price was considerably lower. Restaurant around the corner is good. We did have breakfast delivered to our room, but it really should be included in the price!!! Another plus is that it is close to the malecon, and an easy walk around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeremy

Great place to stay in the city and friendly staff

Posted Jul 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had some time to kill on our trip back from the Galapagos so we decided to stay someplace within walking distance of downtown, so we didn't have to try and hail a cab from downtown back to our hotel late at night. The Hostal Suites Madrid fit the bill perfectly as it is located a short walk from the Malecon and the city center. We arrived in the afternoon and were greeted by the friendly staff who also took our bags upstairs. We were given the choice of two rooms: 1 on the 3rd floor with a window overlooking the street and one on the 2nd floor with no window. Since we had an early flight (7:00AM) to catch and we needed a good night sleep, we decided to take the room with no window due to the traffic noise outside. The room had an air conditioner so the lack of a window was not too big of a deal. We were able to walk downtown, check out the sites, and return to our room without feeling unsafe. The friendly gentleman at the front desk set up a taxi to pick us up at 4:00AM the next morning and also provided a wake up call for us as a backup to our alarms. I can't stress enough how helpful he was for us even though we were just staying such a short time. The bed itself was not the most comfortable bed in world, but it was pretty on par for hostel standards. Both the bedroom and private bathroom were clean if not sparse. I would recommend the Guayaquil Hostel Suites Madrid to anyone looking for a place to stay in the downtown area of Guayaquil.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Simple, Clean, Convenient & At The Right Price

Posted Oct 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed in Hostal Suites Madrid for two days en-route to the Galapagos. It’s a small, secure, scrupulously clean, budget hotel located in downtown Guyaquil. It’s within walking distance of two of the city’s main tourist attractions; 10 minutes (8 blocks) to the Malecon and 5 minutes (4 blocks) to the Central Park. The staff are friendly, helpful and accustomed to assisting with travel arrangements. The rooms are simple and clean. Most have on-suite bathrooms, air conditioning and large flat screen televisions. There was plenty of hot water for showers. Our room was in the front of the building and traffic noise was intrusive. The beds are typical of what you find in Ecuador - very very firm. So if you are noise sensitive or a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back of the building. The hotel is wired for WiFi and has a very nice open air terrace on the top floor. While the hotel doesn’t have a restaurant, there is a modestly priced café, in the same building, that serves breakfast and lunch. The hotel caters to tourists transiting to or from the Galapagos with short stays in Guayaquil. Location; security; cleanliness; helpful; friendly; English speaking desk staff and a very economical price are the strong points. For simple, clean, convenient accommodation, it was worth the money and we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from mansfield Ohio

nice place other than location

Posted Aug 4, 2011
the hotel was nice and the service was great. they do not accept credit cards. Must be cash. Location is in the downtown working area. We hac no problems and was able to walk to the river and many sites. Was warned not to go out at night unless in a large group.