Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sherry

Great experience!

Posted Aug 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great price, great quality. Food at the restaurant was delicious! It was unfortunate they were not open for breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turlock, CA

Nice location

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Loved the grounds and atmosphere, but our room was not ready at 4pm. When we did get into our chalet it smelled heavily of cleaning product. Enjoyed being within walking distance to the town and river. Perfect for reunions, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Anne

little cabin in the big redwoods

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very small cabins, very basic, but set nicely among some redwoods. Probably overpriced. Ok for one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Be aware

Posted Oct 24, 2011
While the hotel staff was great and the room was pretty clean, this is a bare bones cottage with nothing more than a bed and minimal bathroom. I would not recommend staying here after September as the small electric wall heater was just barley adequit for our mid October stay. We were traveling with another couple and were the only people staying there. They did provide a better than average continetal breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good For Price

Posted Oct 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
So if your reading the reviews, you already know that this place is pretty basic. Really cute cottages and awesome grounds, but the cottages are very basic. We had a poolside cottage. Bed and bathroom is what you are going to get, which was cool because thats what we were expecting :-) We had just gone up to the area for the night, so the room was perfect for what we were looking for...a place to sleep and shower :-) We did enjoy the walk down to the river, and the pool/picnic area, very nice. The restaurant was closed, so we did not get to experience that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CA

Perfect place to stay for Russian River Jazz/Blues Festival

Posted Sep 28, 2011
The fact that it is walking distance to Johnson's Beach, site of the annual Russian River Jazz and Blues Festival is enough to make us rate these accommodations excellent. Teeny-tiny would be a good description, but perfect if your primary reason for being in your room (individual cottage) is to sleep. Didn't use the pool but it looked great and the bar/restaurant were GREAT...friendly and the food was excellent. Note...no TV, no wireless (at least that we could pick up). Clean, friendly, comfy. We'll be back next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2011 on Hotels.com
Clean, cheap, nice people!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Bare Bones Oldie But Goodie

Posted Sep 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
I suspect you will either love or hate Dawn Ranch Lodge. I loved it. Here are the pros and cons... Let's atart with the cons: 1) the 'cabins: are basically 80+ year old one or two room shacks that have settled on their foundations to the point that they have rather unlevel floors and you may feel unsteady walking about...and there are gaps in the window and door frames; 2) Don't expect to be treated to "free" breakfast/coffee service as in most other hotels. They have a nice restaurant, but it's pay as you go. 3) The cabin is basically just a place to sleep in, with a bed (very comfortable) and bathroom facilities. There are no refrigerators or cooking facilities. Pros:1) they offer you a basic cabin to sleep in. 2) they really are pet friendly. Our Golden Retreiver loved the place! 3) Good central location in Guerneville. A good "base camp" from which you can explore the Russian River area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

1930s cabin and 2011 prices

Posted Sep 1, 2011
The single positive thing I can say about the place is the cabin was clean. Tiny tiny tiny room, with just enough space to get around the bed. No phone, tv, or internet. No ac and hotter than hell (no insulation), with a single small window that opened only part way. And no window screen, so no security if you wanted to try and cool the place down. Two crummy flea market bedside tables and a small chair, and nowhere but the floor for suitcase and clothes. The floor actually bounced when we walked on it. All that for way too much money. Left as soon as we found another place. A shame, as it could have been a great vintage motor court, if management made the investment and effort. As is, its a pit.