Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, staff couldn't be more helpful

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Quirkiness of layout, separate rooms, giving a fell of privacy
Location: At top of hill overlooking St Peter Port
Stayed for the weekend, excellent hotel, staff very friendly, and food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Nice hotel short downhill walk to port.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Good food in brasserie, especially the flambeed steak.
Cons: Better communication between reception and restaurants, Food in Indian restaurant was a set menu so no choice - this wasn't advised when booked.
Location: Close to port although downhill there and uphill coming back.
Very good generally but a few niggles. On one occasion long wait for breakfast which appeared to have been sitting around in the kitchen. We booked dinners with reception but when we turned up at the reserved time the restaurants were unsure and had to recheck the booking. Sommelier was unable to find the bin end wines ordered and we were told it had run out although it did turn up eventually. However all-in-all a good hotel to stay in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Colonial style

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Old colonial style.
Location: It's very well located.
The cheapest rooms are very small. Surprising that a 5 star hotel would sell rooms of that size. We upgraded - an extra cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guernsey

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Hotel was excellent Location was good you could walk to most locations Would recommend to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Utterly gorgeous, as ever

Posted Sep 8, 2014
I stayed at the OGH 6/7 September and it was a perfect stay: beautiful hotel, lovely food, fantastic service. Even better than I remembered from my previous stay 4 years ago. I shall return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nr Bath

Luxurious 5 Star hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: In one word - quality.
Cons: A better lift and slightly less noisy bedroom air conditioning system.
Location: Brilliant central location handy for everything.
From the moment we arrived we were treated to great service from very attentive and helpful staff. We were made to feel very special at every stage and enjoyed our experience from beginning to end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

What 5 Star really means

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, facilities for both food and drink.
Cons: Nothing
Having stayed a numerous hotels around the world whilst on business this hotel exceeded anything I've had before. The staff are attentive without being intrusive and nothing is too much trouble from them. If you are going to Guernsey this is the only hotel to choose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northampton, UK

Short Summer break

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms and excellent staff.
Cons: None that occur.....
Location: Close to the centre for shopping, other restayrants and the harbour.
From arrival, when our car was taken to safe parking, the staff are a key factor in justifying the hotel's 5 star rating. In every situation, be it in the restaurant, bar, patio or conservatory, the staff hit the right level of polite helpfulness and personal attention. The food in the Brasserie together with the service was excellent. The bedroom was very comfortable and linked to the hotel's close proximity to the town and harbour, the OGH is a very pleasing place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Lovely hotel. Very comfortable. Friendly staff. Delicious food. Short walk into the town centre and harbour. Plenty to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Short break @ OGH

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Service, food and amenities - all very good
Cons: Can't think of any improvements required
Location: Very near harbour and shops, eating places and bars.
Excellent hotel with staff that are very attentive - I would recommend it