Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, UK

Short Summer break

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms and excellent staff.
Cons: None that occur.....
Location: Close to the centre for shopping, other restayrants and the harbour.
From arrival, when our car was taken to safe parking, the staff are a key factor in justifying the hotel's 5 star rating. In every situation, be it in the restaurant, bar, patio or conservatory, the staff hit the right level of polite helpfulness and personal attention. The food in the Brasserie together with the service was excellent. The bedroom was very comfortable and linked to the hotel's close proximity to the town and harbour, the OGH is a very pleasing place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Lovely hotel. Very comfortable. Friendly staff. Delicious food. Short walk into the town centre and harbour. Plenty to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Short break @ OGH

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Service, food and amenities - all very good
Cons: Can't think of any improvements required
Location: Very near harbour and shops, eating places and bars.
Excellent hotel with staff that are very attentive - I would recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Brilliant hotel for special occasions

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The OGH was spotless. Very comfortable and the staff brilliant
Cons: Can't think of anything at the moment !
Location: The OGH is very central in st.peters port. Right on the harbour with easy access to buses and the ferries, and only about 10 mins from the airport.
We went to the old government hotel on Guernsey for our 45 the wedding anniversary, we had champagne and flowers sent to our room, and the staff could not have been more attentive to our every whim ! We would certainly go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in centre of St. Peter Port

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Good staff assistance, lovely food.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping nearby
Central, lovely hotel, excellent standard, no faults or complaints whatsoever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Helen from Cowes

Little Gem

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Ambience, centrality to St Peter Port, the service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central to St Peter Port - opportunities are endless.
This is my second visit. The facilities and standards just get better and better. The staff anticipate your every move and nothing was too much trouble. I ended up having to babysit my four month old grandchild and so I requested a travel cot. It came with laundered sheets, quilt and a baby towel. Nothing was too much trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town centre and Harbour

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of waiting staff 110%
Cons: Choice of bed linen heavy duvet just too hot.
Location: Idela for ferries and visit to Sark, very little to do except eat & drink.
Staff were excellent, rooms are small for a 5* hotel and very hot even with heating turned off and window open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Immaculate - And I'm fussy!

Posted Apr 30, 2014
So friendly and helpful. Room was great with a view of the harbour. Exceptional bed. Top quality food (try the local prawn cigarillos). Location so close to everything. Nothing too much trouble for the staff. A happy place. Will return soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vince from H

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014
This hotel is in a great location in walking distance of the centre of St Peter's port. Staff are very pleasant as you would expect for a five star hotel. Room was a little small but comfortable. Breakfast was very refined would recommend the full English. If you decide to go for afternoon tea be prepared to eat enough calories for several days, expensive but worth it, this is proper English afternoon tea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marty from Kent, United Kingdom

Perfect!

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
My wife and I have just returned home from a five day Christmas break at this hotel. The whole experience was just about perfect. The standard of the rooms and public areas exceeding our expectations by far. The hotel staff were extremely attentive and professional and saw to our every need. The food and service in both the Brasserie and Curry Room restaurants was exemplary as was the afternoon tea in the Sir John Coward Lounge. The spa, which has a well equipped gymnasium, steam room, sauna and chill out room, was outstanding. I cannot praise this establishment enough. A credit to the owners!