Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Excellent location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Location: The open air night market has lots of options for for food. We also really enjoyed the lake boat tour which is best if you do the last tour at night.
We were pleasantly surprised by this place. The hotel is located right next to one of the few lakes in down town and near the Li River, it's also right next to the open air night market where there are a ton of places to eat and drink. We spent a lot of time walking next to the lakes and rivers which are beautiful during the day and had plenty of options for food and drink in the evening. The hotel itself is solid, the room was pretty big, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the staff spoke good english. If I were going back to Guilin, I would have no problem staying here again. The fact that this hotel also doubles as a waterfall everynight is kinda funny as well. Well worth checking out once even if your not staying here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel but commercial

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: I liked how clean the rooms were
Cons: information - staff should share things about happenings in and around the hotel - what time is the show? where is it? etc.
Location: the location is good, most tours will pick up from this hotel. Again, because it is so big it is hard to know which food to meet your tour at...
This hotel is nice but it is extremely large. You don't get a warm welcome or personal experience because of the size. There are probably a lot of great things going on in and around the hotel that you just don't get informed about because there are so many people coming through and the staff just can't take their time with you. They don't offer you direction to the various elevator options to get you closer to your room, so you could walk all the way around the place to get to where you stated. Nice but would probably stay someplace else if I go back to this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Emily

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ken lee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicolas from Berthet

excellent location and service

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
When I arrived my reservation in Hotels.com was not registered.As I had the receipts and copies they were very polite and gave me the room that I booked.The hotel had an excellent heated pool and fitness room. The room and bathroom were very adequate.I would return with pleasure to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by CCal01 from california

Convenient Location

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is centrrally located, close to Shuan lake and Elephant Trunk Hill. There is a walking street behind the hotel for shopping and street foods at nihgt. It's within walking distance to Elephant Trunk Hill. The room is small but clean. The staff at the front desk is no help at all. It's like "sorry, you are on your own". It appears that they are not there to help guests. They just want to sell you expensive tours. Also make sure that you bring cash. We were told that the credit card machine was broken and had to pay cash for our plane tickets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by eli from israel

nice hotel , good location .

Posted Jul 26, 2013
i stay in the hotel 2 nights , the room are very comfort, clean , the location of the hotel is pefrect very closed to the main street market, the lake ec.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pianoamit from London

Not a bad choice...

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for one night when touring China... We arrived just in tune to watch the waterfall on the outside of the hotel. The rooms were very well decorated and kept, and the staff were very eager to help. I'd greatly recommend this, as the value-for-money here is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Water what?

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: Great location
Cons: The hotel staff should be more protective about guests.Taxi driver's should be told to be modest by charging since locals knows the real price.
Location: Beautiful park and lake in front of the hotel.shopping and eating area half block away.
I was looking forward of the Guinness record holder "waterfall" hotel and it was disappointing when I found out this so called man made waterfall nothing but everyday 15 minutes water coming down from the top off hotel to the bottom washing through the whole wall of the hotel.Really?? Other that this the hotel is in great location,nice staff and over priced breakfast . We arranged a river cruise through the hotel which was wonderfull if I don't mention the time was from 8:20- 6 or 7 pm until the other couples in the minivan desided to watch the evening show starting at 8pm.So how we'll get back? Or how they 'll get back? The tourguide told us we can take the public bus back to the hotel.This is not excactly what we paid for around 900yuen pp.Then we learned that there is a cormorant fishing show beside the theatre and for our happiness it was great and we have arrived back to hotel close to midnight.The location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike R

Nice Hotel - Good Value

Posted Dec 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Guilin Waterfall Hotel is a very nice hotel. The rooms are fine and clean. The hotel has several restaurants, including one that serves Western food. The hotel has a nice bar as well as several shops. The breakfast buffet has plenty of options. The hotel is located in the heart of Guilin and right across the main lake with several pagodas which are beautifully lit at night. Additionally, there are some nice restaurants alongside the hotel (facing the lake), but beware as the menus are only in Chinese (with pictures of the food options). There are several very nice sights to see Guilin, but make sure to book the 1 day tour of the Li River to see the beautiful karst formations. This can be done when you get there.