Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Ok hotel but terrible staff.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
The breakfast selections were minimal compared to other five star hotels. Since the choices at the hotel were small, we got a name of a local famous restaurant. However, the locals we talked to suggested we should make reservation. We asked our "concierge" to help. This is the reply we got. Please give me the name, number, and address of the restaurant and let me see what I can do. If I know the number and address , what do I need him for. Worthless conversation. The last day we were there, I gave to leave work early. My wife decided to have breakfast with her friend. We had already prepaid for two for breakfast. We also paid extra for their Club rooms. My wife were told she had to pay for her friend and they cannot use the Club lounge. Since I have the reservation with me, she could not reason with them. She was told to paid for her friend even though we had paid for two and I did not use breakfast that morning. Afterward, I called to inquire about the incident, the manager could not find anyone who would owe up to it. No apology was given by the manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bill from L.A.

Excellent Hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Great facilities: restaurants, pools, gardens, pub.
Location: Ideal for excursions to the Guilin Li River Cruises where one sees the most picturesque part of China.
This hotel is top notch with all the comforts and the staff are very well trained to make the visitors feel at home. All very polite and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Sydney

Luxury living

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Excellent all you can eat dim sum.
Cons: Greater tour options could be offered
Location: Li river cruises and day trips
Beautiful hotel with good facilities. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Swimmer from Parkville

Great pools

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel offers 2 pools the first in a garden setting but it appears to be closed for an extended period over the northern winter months. The second being a very bid indirect 25m pool which will please most swimmers Hotel is out of the central city but not too far. Nevertheless be prepared to pay a flat rate of 120 RMB from the airport which is reasonable given the distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by reza from FLL

Exquisite!!!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
One of the best hotel experiences in China! Beautiful view, friendly staff... And a great environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by D. J. from 桂林

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very good. a nice 5-star hotel. The only bad experience was that we were suggested to an eating place in the near-by village along the river but that was not very good experience (the walk to there was through very bad road and the restuarant was country style which was not very clean at all).
2 out of 5
by ARD from Denmark

Not five stars worth

Posted Oct 21, 2013
- Good limo service from airport - Unfriendly welcome at check in - Note: No river view for Expedia customers (what you get is ugly-houses-view) - Lounge has ok river view but quite disappointing food and drink selection - Hotel restaurants just ok - Gigantic hotel (the Shining) with cheap, plastic-like décor - Concierge very friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ally from Guangdong

Very Comfortable Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although not very close (easy walking distance) to the main sites or city center, I still have to say we were very glad to stay. The Shangri-La offered a comfortable place after all the hustle and bustle of touring Guilin. The room was quiet and the staff extremely attentive and helpful. Taxi rates aren't that bad getting to the main sites and most rides were less than 15 minutes. The Horizon club is completely worth it. The hotel concierge was great at recommendations and very helpful in getting us where we wanted to go.