Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pueblo, CO

Nice place to stay overnight or several days.

Posted May 31, 2015
A nice two story motel with several small streams going through the property. Very quiet. Lots of parking for those with boats or RV's. A decent free breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Memories

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The friendly empolyee's who work there !!! Very helpful and a great continental breakfast.
Location: we where 5 min. outside of town .There is lots of great resturant,hiking,great stores on the main street, different river actives to do.
When I first saw the Inn my mind was going crazy with memories in my childhood .I would go back and stay there again . It is dog friendly for those who want to bring their dog . We all had fun !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the Water Wheel Inn

Posted Aug 6, 2013
This place is older, but that doesn't take away one bit from the beautiful surroundings and the cleanliness of the room. We had a fridge, microwave and excellent wifi. Great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Salt Lake City, Ut

Good stay and helpful Staff

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: Evertthing
Cons: None
Location: We went to WSC Graduation
Senic and wildlife running about Calm and collect, and peaceful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SkiBumsRUsfrom Greeley, CO

Good Location & Price

Posted Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Location & Price
Cons: Deadbolt "Do Not Disturb" sign & stained carpet.
Location: Easy drive to Blue Mesa, Gunnison & Crested Butte
The Water Wheel was a good location for us b/c we wanted to golf as well as fish at the Blue Mesa. The Dos Rios Golf Course runs right along the back of the hotel and you can get rooms overlooking it! It was a quick drive in to Gunnison as well as about 20-25 minutes to Blue Mesa. Having the Trough Restaurant right next to it has its perks too since you can walk to it... be prepared to pay a little for your meals, but it's really worth it! The Prime Rib was plentiful and delicious! Cleanliness of the rooms was a borderline for us. Carpets were stained, but overall cleanliness was ok for the price. Staff was very helpful and had a few discount vouchers for the golf course and The Trough. One thing we didn't notice on the tiny sticker on the rear door of the room was that if you lock the deadbolt it triggers a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door and you will not get maid service... so be leary of that if you like to have your bed made and new towels! Overall it was a good location/stay for the price!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, co

Old hotel that needs a good clean and updating!

Posted Jul 16, 2012
The hotel was not clean, it is old which is fine but dirty. We checked into our room which was a non smoking room. The balcony was dirty and cigarette butts on the floor and in a paper cup. Breakfast was OK, but just cold foods, pastries, fruit and drinks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So-so experience . . .

Posted Oct 7, 2010
The hotel was okay, but just so. It's reasonably well maintained, but I could feel it's age and duskiness. My room was clean, I have no complaint about that. Would I go back again? If I had no choice, yes; but I think I'd try another hotel in the area first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Akron, OH

Really great people

Posted Jul 7, 2010
The staff went 110% overboard to insure all was well with our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Waco, TX

Nice folks

Posted Mar 10, 2010
see above