Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Main areas good rooms tired

Posted Mar 26, 2015
The main parts of the hotel are good but the actual rooms and buildings are showing there age and are in need of a big revamp
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom south wales

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: not a lot
Cons: everything
wasn't what we expected, didnt explain what it said on the website
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Executive Offic e, Hotel Management
We were sorry to read that you felt disappointed with your recent stay and that the facilities were not as expected. We review and update our website on a regular basis and we apologoise if anything was misleading. We do hope that you may reconsider and that we can welcome you back to St Pierre when your travels next bring you to Chepstow
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent for golfers.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The setting and the ambience of the older parts of the building. We found the reception staff very friendly and extremely helpful.
Cons: See our comments on the dining room and prices. The look of the menu leaves a lot to be desired. It resembled a menu from a fast food outlet.
Location: Beautifully situated within the golf course. The reception staff were very helpful with suggestions on places of interest in the area.
It doesn't seem right to judge a hotel on a one night stay. For golfers I suppose it provides all facilities. For a couple taking a one night break it was the wrong choice of venue. The dining room menu, decor and furnishings were not of the standard we had expected from a hotel such as this. We did not feel that the price charged for the evening meal was good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cardiff

Relaxing stay prior to a day at Chepstow Races

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Excellent facilities Very relaxing experience Perfect getaway
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Hotel with golf and Spa

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Location/ backdrop
Cons: Restaurant only OK
Location: Golf and swim/ spa facilities on site. Near Chepstow races and Tintern Abbey
A lot of rooms are away from main building and require walking out in the elements to reach reception, bar, restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom swansea

Very nice hotel and great friendly staff

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Went away for the night and got exactly what we wanted. Chilled night great food with friendly and polite staff and a fantastic breakfast in the morning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: This hotel had a wonderful location, a long drive through it's golf course up to the historic hotel building.
Cons: The receptionists were not very helpful in locating our room, they could have directed us through the hotel instead of the cold, wet weather outside.
Location: The location is wonderful, but a short drive or long walk to get to any facilites outside the grounds, ie pubs, petrol, shops.
This was a short break after new year. Breakfast was adequate, although we have experienced better. We chose not to use their other dining facilites. Leisure facilies good, especially for children wanting to use the pool. Not luxurious but comfortable. We used the spa treatments which was good. Lots of walking from one part of hotel to another with lots of different levels which might not be suitable for those with walking difficulties as we didn't see any lifts apart from in the cafe, which was out of order at this particular time. There was a wedding so this made it quite busy. Not the place to go for a quiet weekend for two at busy times of the year we think.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom new malden

very convenient location

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: breakfast was very good quality.
Cons: we could not find very much about the facility. it would be nice to see wider choice for dinner.
Location: very good location for sightseeing.
the hotel was very convenient for traveling and breakfast was very good. helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedfordshire

Nice Hotel, room could of had a better view (116)

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Hotel is in lovely setting, didn't know main restaurant was closed on Saturday evening due to private party until we tried to book a table in the morning. Also no mini bar in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Liz Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review,. We are sorry that you did not have the opportunity to dine in Morgans due to private party and that you were not advised of this prior to your arrival. We do hope that we can welcome you back to St Pierre when your travels next bring you to Chepstow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Darrenfrom Tunbridge Wells

Great service

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel stayed in a room over looking the lake. Food in the restaurant is over priced. Had a pizza. About £16 and was just a cheap frozen supermarket type base, masses of cheap chewy mozzarella and little topping. Breakfast was lovely.