Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SMHfrom New York

Good Value

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean and nice hotel in the very heart of Haarlem. Easy to get to from Schiphol by bus and close to the train station for venturing further afield. It's an old building, and the stairs are a bit tricky, but the room was clean and functional. Free wifi and breakfast were included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by voyageurfrom paris

emplacement exceptionnel

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mon amour et moi avions gardé un bon souvenir de l'hotel service impeccable avec un gros effort pour la communication en français,chambre propre et lit confortable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by bentefrom Skibby

har aldrig oplevet et dårliger hotel

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
kan ikke anbefales på nogen måder, vi gik mellem maler stiger bøtter m.m. der var lamper men ingen pære - strømmen på badet virkede ikke jeg kunne blive ved men beliggenheden var meget central, og det er det eneste positive der er at sige.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valettafrom Haarlem, Netherlands

Nice location

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location. The restaurant was also quite good.
Cons: When we entered our room, the toilet was not cleaned, and one of the night stand drawers had a bandage with dried wound drainage.
Location: The Carillon location is ideal - fun places to see all around making for very nice walking.
Hotel staff were fabulous - VERY helpful at every turn. We had booked for 3 persons, and the room could barely accommodate 3 of us.
3 out of 5
by Stevefrom Sacramento, CA

Good location on the central square in Haarlem

Posted Mar 28, 2014
This is a strange structure. Very steep stairway up (no life - steep even for Holland.) The room was cramped and strange. The hallway is rough. Otherwise quiet and safe.
2 out of 5
by neilfrom manchester

Great location ,rooms in need of a makeover

Posted Oct 5, 2013
location is excellent,right in the heart of haarlem . Staff friendly n helpful but unfortunately 100 euros per nite for a twin was way above what it was actually worth. Room in dire need of redecorating and facilities updating .
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom france

mauvais rapport qualité prix

Posted May 29, 2012
hotel bruyant en raison de sa situation,mal insonorisé chambre pour 2 avec le lavabo au dessus d'un lit!! j'avais compris dans le descriptif,qu'il y avait une cuisine:à l'arrivée,même pas de bouilloire!! le petit déjeuner est bien et haarlem est une jolie ville,agréable,proche d'amsterdam
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A disapointing hotel

Posted May 25, 2012
Hotel has no service to speak of, they simply take your money and give you a key and point you to the very very steep steps to your room. Our room had 3 mismatched beds tighty fitted into a room with one chair a tiny desk, no mirror and no wardrobe in room. I found items inder the beds from earlier guests, Shower was dirty with a large amount of scale build up. Breakfast was simple but no choice, ham, cheese, jam and bread. It had however good free wifi. This hotel is suitable only for students and backpackers.
1 out of 5
by Sharonfrom Seattle, WA, USA

Disappointing hotel in Haarlem

Posted May 10, 2012
Pros: They did provide a nice breakfast.
Cons: The room was small with a slanting floor and a bad bathroom.
Location: The location was great.
I was surprised that there was no elevator...just very steep stairs. A young man carried my bag up two flights on my arrival...in the morning when I checked out I was told there was no one available to help...it was very difficult and dangerous carrying my bag down two flights of these ladder like stairs. The floor of the room was "slanted". The bathroon was an addition that had awkard, tight spaces and a small mirror with bad lighting. It was a dingy place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LAdventurefrom US

A nice comfy spot right in the heart of Haarlem

Posted Jun 25, 2011
I really enjoyed my stay at Carillon. Yes, the stairs are extremely steep and narrow and make it difficult to schlep up a 50 lb. suitcase, but the hotel is sweet. You are not staying at a 5-star, so don't expect a posh hotel. But, it is also not a 1-star hotel either, so there are no fleas or grime on the walls. It is middle of the line--small rooms, but very clean. The breakfast is fabulous...fresh bread, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, cheese, meats, tea, and coffee, etc. The wireless is fabulous too...very good and fast connection. The location is fabulous, as the hotel is right in the center plaza. Also, the staff were wonderful...so helpful and nice.