Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It could be wonderful, but it's NOT!

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: The location
Cons: Some level of hospitality and care from the front desk staff. It is a tourist hotel I believe. Clean and renovate the rooms. CLEAN
Location: Central and very near attractions, shopping and dining.
This hotel has a fantastic location. Perfect really. Which is sadly the only thing it has going for it. The Joops could be wonderful but it is in such poor condition, so damaged and neglected that it borders on what I would consider a tear down property. Add to that the staff that could care less if you live or die and you have a very negative experience waiting for you. I based my reservation, via Expedia Mobile, on the other reviews. We must have stayed at different hotels! I don't ask for 5 star and my expectations at this price point are not grand. But I never went barefoot and was tempted to wear socks in the shower. Filthy! Mold is black and easy to see, that is the logical place to spray cleaner. I don't think they even wipe down the mirror. Drawers fell out of the bureau, the safe didn't operate, the bed was mismatched with exposed box springs covered in stains and unmentionable goo! Seriously...a little cleaning goes a long way. We had a 4th floor room with a very nice view (through the checkered security glass windows). It appears the 4th floor has yet to receive any renovation attempts. Other floors have newer vinyl in the hallways, faux wood. Our hallway was red carpet stained so many times it left at trail to each doorway. The smell directly corresponded to the appearance. I could really go on for some time but I hope you get the rather negative picture
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by The Gonzales'

Wonderful family vacation!!

Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is perfect location to be able to access everything in Haarlem by foot! We rented bikes for our stay and rode all over the western region... it was fabulous. The ONLY wish we had was that we were about 10 years younger...to be able to deal with the partying on Friday and Saturday that goes on in the streets until about 4am! ;) Otherwise we truly enjoyed the downtown atmosphere and experience! The hotel staff was terrific and the cleaning staff was wonderful!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted May 6, 2012
Cons: bathroom only shower but no division between shower and the rest of the toilet - all toilet got wet after shower
Great location. Although the hotel does not have a reception (check in is done at a different place), the services were OK. The only problem at the room was the toilet. The toilet had only a shower curtain that could not avoid the toilet to get all wet after taking a shower. The location was great. Near the major attractions.
2 out of 5
by Viv from London, UK

Disappointing Experience!!

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Unfriendly staff, Poor customer service,Health & Safety issues.
Location: Situated about 10 minutes walk from Haarlem Station. Nice walk through the town centre. Regular trains from Amsterdam Central Station to Haarlem.
Unfriendly staff,refused to speak English. Only on check-out male receptionist Derrick spoke English. Reception is nice,but entrance to our apartment was in an alleyway around the corner.Dirty,cracked glass on front door. Ongoing work inside,ladders in hallway,exposed electric cupboard,wire cuttings on floor. Room was spacious and clean. No safe. Bathroom/toilet/ wash basin just a flat room with small drainage hole in floor. The room needed to be cleaned everytime we used shower to prevent slipping when using wash basin or loo. Health and safety!! TV did not work,reception advised us to go to the movies instead. Hotel restaurant Cafe Colette-worst dining experience ever!! Awful waitress.Really bad attitude,did not have time to explain menu which is in french/dutch.She wanted to take drinks order soon as we sat down. I asked for drinks menu and she suggested i drink wine with bubbles instead. Food was served from behind me. I saw arms stretch out above my head and plate thrown down on table in front of me!! Never asked if we were ok for drinks or needed anything else-poor service. Dont eat here!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good quality hotel with no thrills included

Posted Apr 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was a good, clean hotel with friendly staff and a reasonable price. The location was quite convenient, in the middle of the very pretty city of Haarlem, five minutes from the train station and a 15 minute train ride to the centre of Amsterdam. I have no complaints about the hotel, but it does not have any thrills. The hotel feels like a university dorm, and does not include any amenities like tea or coffee in the rooms. This is a good, cheap place to stay without anything remotely fancy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Fine for the price

Posted Aug 9, 2011
For a 2* hotel, Joops is absolutely fine. It is very central, within walking distance of the station and all major attractions. The reception staff at the main Ambassador hotel were helpful and there are 2 computers in the lobby with internet access. Our 4 bedded room had a small kitchenette (with fridge, microwave, hob and coffee maker but no kettle), a large wet room (far more hygienic than having a shower curtain) with a bath and separate power shower, a small table with 4 chairs, a TV and 2 comfy chairs. Towels and toiletries were provided, and the room was cleaned every day. A few minor criticisms: the mattresses are rock hard; there is no telephone, so you have to walk to the main hotel to contact reception; it would have been nice to have 4 comfy chairs as it was a 4 person room. Overall Joops offers good value for money and we enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2011 on Hotels.com