Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Karen from newport

Lovely family feeling hotel near to kruger park!

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel a little dated but could not fault the service. staff bent over backwards to make us feel comfortable. Great value for money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Karen Thank you for your review. Your kind words and compliments are deeply appreciated and we hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Katse Lodge
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe McDaniel from Parker CO, USA

Little things needs attention

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels
There were several things in our room which needed repair. Check-in was a disaster. They couldn't find a reservation by reference to our name. We had to return to the car and pull out our Hotel.com conf. number to show we had booked. On check out, they billed our credit card again, so we had to produce proof we had already paid. Staff was friendly. Food was very good. Overall the hotel was very nice and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Joe Thank you for your honest review following your stay with us. Your kind words and compliments are deeply appreciated. We also acknowledge the points you have raised and we would like you to know that we are seeing to them immediately. Warm Regards Staff and Management Magoebaskloof Hotel
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by David Graham from Johannesburg

Amazing location, mediocre hotel

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels
Magoebaskloof Hotel has one of the greatest view of any hotel in South Africa. Sadly the service and food does not live up to the promise of the destination and we won't be returning. Dinner was uninteresting - breakfast diabolical!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David Thank you for your honest review following your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and we also acknowledge the pointers you have raised. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Magoebaskloof Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angie from Johannesburg

Beautiful location, so-so service

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels
My Dad and I were on a road trip, and decided to stay over at Magoebaskloof. The setting and grounds were beautiful, but the staff did not seem particularly interesting in helping us. Overall a good experience, with one amazing sunrise making it all worthwhile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your kind words and compliments are deeply appreciated. You have also raised some points which we have taken into consideration. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Magoebaskloof Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by amor from grotto bay, western cape

Great location, Fantastic service

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels
Very enjoyable!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Leon Kay from Centurion, South Africa

A gem of a hotel in a beautiful area.

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels
My wife and I had driven past this hotel many times on route to the Kruger National Park. This time we decided to make it a stop over, and also spend some time enjoying the scenic beauty of the Haenertsburg area. This turned out to be an excellent decision. As we approached the hotel reception, Moses came out to welcome us in a friendly way. He immediately called for a staff member to assist us with our luggage. Moses who was neatly dressed in his uniform completed our check-in fast and efficiently. We were quite impressed upon entering our room. It was found to be spacious, very clean and tidy, with a balcony overlooking the beautiful Magoebaskloof Valley. The room also had a nice spacious bathroom with all amenities provided and a full size bath. The hotel is beautifully and tastefully decorated and all staff members were very friendly and helpful. We decided to have their Saturday dinner buffet, which turned out a good choice. All the dishes provided, from the starters to the main course and desserts were very tasty and well presented. The hotel also has a nice and clean pool area with neatly set up loungers and umbrellas where one can relax and enjoy the beautiful view. Overall we experienced our stay as a most enjoyable one, and decided to stay over for a longer period next time to explore more of the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review. You compliments are deeply appreciated and its comments like yours that keep us pushing for excellence all the time. Please be sure to visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Magoebaskloof Hotel
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beuatiful spot, poor quality

Posted Feb 2, 2013 on Hotels
The Magoebaskloof hotel is situated in a beautiful spot overlooking the Kloof and well laid-out. However, the room was dirty (multiple stains on carpet, not dust free, etc). The area is known for mosquitoes but has no netting on the windows, which in combination with the absence of fan and airco make for either a very stuffy night or the nuisance of mosquitoes (in an area that is on the border of malaria territory). When I visited the resaurant was under reconstruction and dinner had to be taken in the café. Also, the single access road was under heavy constructions with long delays up to 30 minutes. Neither was mentioned on the hotel website. Personnel was efficient but not particularly friendly (as I am used to in South Africa). In short: a disappointment