Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Charlesfrom Clinton Township, MI

Good value at a very affordable price.

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
Place needed some work (especially on the exterior, but all cosmetic and doesnt really affect stay). Family owned by very nice people. Nice little town. Kind of place you wouldnt necessarily recommend but would return to because of price/value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Motel in need of updates, CLEAN, friendly

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Family run business, staff was friendly and helpful. Was welcomed by a short note from the staff that was a very nice touch. Older furniture, although the bed was quite nice and comfortable. Bathroom could definitely use remodeling (probably original to the motel in the mid-century) but was clean, had new fixtures, but no heat. Did not like that the door did not have a chain lock - only key lock. Old TV, but was fine and had cable. Included microwave and fridge, and coffee pot. Biggest complaint was the heating and noise situation. I stayed in the dead of winter and there were basically only two options - blasting furnace - which made the room too hot after an hour - or turning it off - and the room being freezing again in an hour. The unit looked new, but it didn't run off a thermostat as far as I could tell. I had to keep getting up throughout the night to adjust the room temperature. All in all, now that I know what to expect, I might still stay here again as its in a good location on my trip back home and an affordable option. I'll just bring some heavy blankets with me next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Skeptical at First

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: The owners and the cleanliness.
Cons: Not much
Location: Small town but everyone I met was friendly.
When I pulled up and saw it looked like an old Motor Lodge I was very skeptical. After I checked in and looked at my room I was pleasantly surprised. Very clean and had all the amenities I needed. New microwave. New refrigerator , cable n Wi-Fi. Hand written note n candy on the bed. Coffee machine with regular n decaff. Well worth the money. Just don't be afraid of the knotty pine :) Positive experience!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by johnfrom Buffalo, NY

See Room First

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel recently taken over it seems, new owners are nice, and trying to update, but room 116 we stayed in is not "ready for prime time". Bed/sheets were clean, bathroom was pretty bad mold and unknown what else. Very dated overall, beds very uncomfortable. More of a zero or 1 star hotel, definitely not 2 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a bargin!

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Great value- comfortable bed with a down comforter, tasteful furniture, mini fridge, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker and pet friendly. I have stayed at the super 8 (about .5 mile away) before and got MUCH less for a few bucks more a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: It was available on a holiday weekend. The staff was very welcoming. The room had recently been painted and new curtains. The beds were comfortable
Cons: More time to make transition for new owners.
Location: Civil war battle fields, and antique shop and many local artists shops
The owner was on duty when we arrived.. The beds were clean and chocolates on the bed. Bath room was clean with new curtains and shower curtain. Breakfast was continental. Our six year old grandson loved the blueberry waffles for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Safe, clean, and friendly.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Everything is clean and neat. The hotel staffs are very friendly. It is a well managed place. The only negative point is that the building itself is very old. The room doors, shower heads, and air conditioner could be replaced with the new ones.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Idgitmanfrom Washington, DC

Great price and convenient for cyclist

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here with a few buddies on our Fall C&O tour. Hotel manager was extremely pleasant and accommodating. The room was as expected for the prices and as per some of the reviews regarding moldy smell and outdated furnishings. For our purposes it was fine. I do recommend dining at Buddy Lou's; Great food, great wait staff, and awesome owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Suzanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com