Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milford NJ

Good value

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Cons: More thorough housekeeping by housekeeping staff in making sure ALL room surfaces are routinely dusted.
Location: We were there on a trip to visit the Antietam National Battlefield Park near Sharpsburg Md and the surrounding areas.
Overall the hotel was easy to get to and our room was nice. There were some issues though. First, hotel staff was helpful but did not have any guide to the Valley Mall where the hotel was located (for nearby restaurants, gas, etc.); we found a directory to the Valley Mall down in Sharpsburg, Md of all places! There was a continual problem with the TV in our room... this is the first hotel we have stayed in where the Weather Channel would NOT come in (kept getting a No Signal on TV). Also the console top where the coffee maker and other items were was found to be rather dusty...housekeeping staff needs to be more thorough in their room cleaning. One last thing... we are not sure if this is the entire Country Inn and Suites chain, but the duvet on our bed was heavy and hot to sleep under. The free, hot breakfast room was nice and the breakfast choices were good. Overall we would recommend this hotel to others as a good value for the room we had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Ok place to stop for the night

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Proximity to I 81; relatively quiet and comfortable; decent breakfast included; courteous staff
Cons: Maintenance and repairs
Location: N/A
First room had black mold on the ceiling from a water leak that had not been repaired. The staff were apologetic and upgraded us to a suite where the bathroom sink plug was stuck closed. Minor irritants in an otherwise acceptable 1 night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Excellent place to stay for our three days. Very friendly staff and excellent facilities
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not comparable to other Country Inns

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location was good and common areas were nice.
Cons: Cleanliness, deal with mold.
Room had a modly ceiling and appeared to not have been cleaned properly. Apparent smoke holes on bed and carpet. Very blueish lighting created unpleasant ambience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson standards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WV

Convenient Location

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Make sure special requests noted at booking are fulfilled.
Location: mall, multiple eating choices, close to town
Overall stay was ok - special request made online when booking, but hotel was not able to accommodate. While the facilities were clean, there were areas in the room that were "run down". Phone in the room also didn't work. Staff was very nice and pleasing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted Oct 13, 2014
We had white crusty stuff all over our comforter. Tried to get blankets out of closet and they were stained. There was mold on the ceiling. Breakfast was good. The lady running the breakfast was a doll.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Physically it is a nice hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2014
As a woman traveling alone I needed to use my cell phone to contact my husband to let him know I had arrived safely after a nine hour drive. Imagine my surprise when I had no Verizon cell phone coverage, which the desk person reported as normal, but a new cell tower "should" be built soon! No one offered to allow me to use the hotel phone free of charge and I ended up driving round trip 30 miles before I could notify my husband I was safe for the night. I did apprise the morning desk person I would not stay in Hagerstown until this problem is corrected and Expedia should be aware of this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Would stay there again country inn and suites are all much the same
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Cons: Beds are not very comfortable
Location: Loved Greenbrier State Park and Schmankerl Stube restaurant
Lovely homey hotel in Hagerstown. A little hard to find but worth it for price and amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middletown, CT

Passing through.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Suite had separate flat-screen from one in bedroom. Refrigerator and microwave in room.
Location: Don't know.
A pleasant surprise. Very nice hotel. Suite was fine.