Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Andrei from USA

The hotel refused to honor hotels.com reservation

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel refused to honor confirmed hotels.com reservation - they were overbooked. I spent 2 hours on the phone calling hotels.com till they found me a new room (there were no other hotels available in the area). When I was leaving the hotel, the receptionist was cursing me for not willing to spend the night at another town several kilometers away. Terrible experience with the hotel, and huge appreciation to hotels.com for finding me a replacement room close to the original location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel from very limited choice

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: Good location, very close to centre of city and just behind cathedral
Cons: most things
Rooms scruffy and poorly prepared - light bulbs not working, heater, not working, toilet door handle not working - rooms over-priced at over £100 per night. Allowed us to move rooms, but had to move ourselves - next room a bit better, but smaller, no sink plug, bath tap tied-up with rag
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from isle of wight

would very much like to stay there again

Posted Aug 20, 2009 on Hotels.com
the hotel is in a very nice location ,and the staff were very nice. the food was excellent ,and the week we went there was volley ball entertainment allday..we had a very good two days there, thankyou very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bruxelles

Comfortable hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 9, 2009 on Hotels.com
This hotel is ideally placed to visit the main attractions of Tournai. The room we stayed in was comfortable and a good size with tea/coffee making facilities provided. Would recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Windsor, Berkshire, UK.

In the heart of the city

Posted May 29, 2009
Very highly recommended for anyone wanting to stay in Tournai. Brilliant position between the cathedral and the river, bars and restaurants are nearby. Although modern, the hotel fits into the fabric of the town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Do not believe that it is suitable for disabled guests even if they say it is

Posted Aug 15, 2008 on Hotels.com
I travelled with 2 wheelchair users and was assured they had suitable facilities. They do not, the room was tiny and while the bathroom was huge there was no suitable shower only a bath and the toilet did not have all the necessary grab rails. Most disappointing and frustrating. We had booked and paid for 2 nights but only stayed one. The staff were reasonably friendly but did not seem to have a clue what is required for disabled guests and really did not care as they would get their money for the 2 nights
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southampton

not a 3 stars

Posted Jan 28, 2008
I have been twice in the Cathedral Hotel but not any more as it's not a 3 stars hotels at all. The room are not nice, the carpet has lots of staines, the smell wasn't nice. The people were friendly which is always nice but I think the hotel need a good clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Needs Improvement

Posted Mar 3, 2005
This hotel has got a great location, and the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful enough, unless one asked for an ashtray for the smoking room. The condition of the rooms, however, was "needs improvement". The carpet was dirty and frayed. The curtain rod was broken. The daily cleaning was sparse. Maintainance needs done on this property.