Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Getaway

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 1 night while checking out the East side of the Big Island. Room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the ocean and sunset/sunrise. Owner was welcoming and helpful. A bit remote but great if you don't want to be in the middle of things. Definitely recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safe and Accommodating

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Booked a last minute reservation and was warmly greeted by the owner who gave me a tour of the grounds. The estate is beautiful like something out of a magazine. The bungalow I stayed in had everything I could have asked for and more! Only wish I could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin & John from Orlando,, FL

Tranquil Beauty

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Private
Cons: Bed is a bit squeeky ( not what you think!) wakes you up when your partner moves. Hot water to wash dishes.
Location: Garry can get you discounts to practically everything!
We were planning to stay at a hotel in the Volcano Natl Pk & we changed our plans on week before we left Fl! We were truly blessed to have found this private estate bungalow next to the ocean! The grounds are a flower lovers paradise! Quiet, gorgeous sunrises, & star-gazing in the hot tub (alone!) Garry the owner has some great rock & roll stories! He also knows everything about the island....snorkel @ Richardson Bch (black sand). Shopping & restaurants about 30 min drive!
3 out of 5
by Francois from FR

This is a bungalow rental, not a resort.

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Privacy. No crowds to deal with. Gas BBQ. Kitchen with refrigerator. Metal utensils.
Cons: For the price you pay, please stock the refrigerator and provide some fruit basket or something to munch. something should be there. A stove?
Location: Remote location, nice view. near some gardens but didn't visit.
Pros: Great view from 2 of the bungalows and you are up on a cliff. No beach on this side of the island. You have a pool and Jacuzzi. Great security in case stalkers or paparazzi are after you. Probably really good if you don't want to be seen or found. Cons: 1 bungalow is attached to a garage. The location is remote. No restaurant, no convenience store, no beach, refrigerator is empty. If you have no car then you are out of luck since you will not find anything within walking distance. 30 minutes to town. You won't find this place as there is no sign from the street/highway. You will have to call to get directions and the reception is not good. No stove. Plastic plates, cups, wine glasses.
2 out of 5
by John from California

La'i Nani Resort is NOT NOT NOT a resort.

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Pros: Quiet. Room was nicely appointed and clean. Internet and cable (nothing else to do!)
Cons: Advertise it for what it is and let the customer decide if the value is worth the price and the remote location.
Location: Nothing near by. Remote, hard to find. Not even a place to eat or a store closer than 16 miles back to Hilo. Some botanic gardens and falls nearby.
But it had a resort-size price at $300 a night. This is a Bed & Breakfast with no breakfast! Not even the ubiquitous "in-room coffee." Nothing on the booking page said anything about this being just a very nice guest house/studio. It was advertised as a "bungalow" at a "resort." ("Bungalow" implies a bedroom; this is a stand-alone studio with shower-bath and a very small fridge-microwave kitchenette area.) Not a resort - nor were there any resort-type facilities nearby (no beach, tennis, restaurant, convenience shop, entertainment). If we had known ahead of time that we had to bring everything with us (even bottled water) it would have been a very different experience. The photos are very misleading. One shows a stocked bar - there is no bar or food service available at all. The pool is a very nice family-size backyard pool - the photo makes it look like a resort-size facility. The nearest food of any kind is a 16 mile trek back to Hilo. Not even a convenience store or market closer. Not a good value for the price and misleading advertising.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john from maui

Beautiful secluded rooms.

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Grounds View Owner
Cons: Signage at highway
Location: Hawaiian ( not the "World") Botanical Garden
This is a case of being sure you know what you are getting. This is a beautiful, well maintained secluded estate. The owner is very nice and concerned for the well being of his guests. The view is superb. We watched rainbow and rain showers over the ocean for quite some time at sunset, following a dip in the pool and hot tub. Our room was large with a nice tv, sound system, ac, great bed and full kitchen. Very quiet. The grounds are beautiful. Things to consider. Carefully note the directions as there is very inconspicuous signage. It would be a challenge in the dark. Second, bring your own food and beverages. There is no where to go out to eat or buy groceries close by. When you stay here, get up early and go to the Hawaiian botanical gardens nearby. It is less crowded and particularly beautiful in the morning. This is a place to make memories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Klippfamily from Key West, FL

Studio apt with Amazing view

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was like staying at a friends house with your own studio apartment, gorgeous grounds set on a cliff with amazing view of the ocean. With only 3 bungalow's you have a great spence if privacy. Use of the pool and grounds, and private lanai area. Best if you want to relax and BBQ your dinners. We only went into Hilo for one breakfast and one dinner, breaches we really wanted to relax poolside. Your host Gary is around if you need anything. He treats you as if you are his friends or family visiting his home. Many nearby activities are available too Very nice place to relax or be as active as you want. Highly recommend BUT stop at the store on your way there for a few essentials because you won't want to leave for the 16 mile drive to the grocery store once you arrive. We immediately sat overlooking the ocean with a glass if wine. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marta from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Beautiful tranquility. Amazing hotel!

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: The room, furniture, grounds, and fantastic views of the Pacific Ocean, plus the convenient location off Highway 19 and proximity to the Hilo Airport.
Cons: The hotel sign on the highway, at the entrance of the hotel, should be bigger. Perhaps the sign is small due to zoning restrictions.
Location: The resort is just off Highway 19 and only 16 miles from Hilo Airport. Less than a15 minute drive from Downtown Hilo to quaint shops and restaurants.
Lai Nani Resort is truly magnificent and, it definitely has the "Wow" factor! The bungalows, pool and spa face the Pacific Ocean, The view is breathtaking. When I viewed pictrures of the hotel online, I found it to be beautiful. However when I experienced it in person, it was absolutely spectacular! The grounds are perfectly manicured and the tropical landscaping is out of this world. Just walking around the gardens, with the ocean in the background, is totally relaxing and peaceful. Each bungalow has its own grill, patio table, chairs and hammock. What a way to experience Hawaii! Inside the bungalolows are beautifully decorated in Polynesian style and have all the comforts of home. Ample parking right next to the bungalows. The resort manager goes above and beyond to make certain that everything is to your liking. Lai Nani Resort is conveniently located off Highway 19 and, is only 16 miles from the airport. It's a short drive from Downtown Hilo where you'll find quaint shops, restaurants and a shopping mall. Convenient location to drive to the volcano, many waterfalls in the area and SouthPoint (the southernmost place in the United States.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Alaska

Nice private rooms

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Windows into the room from all sides
Cons: Quite a ways (16 miles) to Hilo for food
Location: Much more sunny than in Hilo
Very pleasing private 8-sided room. Nice location outside Hilo and not quite as rainy as in town. Ocean (cliff) setting is nice and relaxing. I will come back when I am in this part of the Island.